Teretonga TRS: Daruvala snatches win from Norris amid two red flags

Force India protege Jehan Daruvala took a second consecutive win in the Toyota Racing Series, beating Lando Norris in a chaotic Race 1 at Teretonga.

The race, which kicked off the second round in the championship, was delayed by an hour and a half due to a truck crash obliterating the barrier on the start-finish straight - and then saw three separate safety car interruptions, two of them eventually turning into red flag stoppages.

Norris, who has remained unbeaten in all four qualifying sessions of TRS 2016 thus far, briefly gave up the lead to M2 teammate Daruvala at the start but retook the spot on the main straight at the end of the opening lap.

The first safety car period would swiftly follow, with Devlin DeFrancesco falling off the track at Turn 1 while running seventh.

The race got back underway on Lap 6, but was neutralised again right away for contact between Kami Laliberte and Bruno Baptista. Both retired on the spot and that eventually brought out the red flag.

A second red flag followed almost as soon as the race resumed as this time Julian Hanses went off at Turn 1.

The event ran uninterrupted for the final three laps and it was headed by Daruvala who pounced on Norris at that last restart. He held off the Brit by 0.3sec at the chequered flag.

In the fight for third place, Antoni Ptak and Pedro Piquet both passed Brendon Leitch late in the race, with Ptak picking up his first podium in single-seaters.

Artem Markelov was sixth behind Piquet and Leitch, with Ferdinand Habsburg, Timothe Buret, Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou and Nicolas Dapero completing the top 10.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1 Jehan Daruvala M2 18:23.526
2 Lando Norris M2 0.305
3 Antoni Ptak Giles 3.112
4 Pedro Piquet M2 3.295
5 Brendon Leitch Victory 3.412
6 Artem Markelov M2 3.807
7 Ferdinand Habsburg Giles 4.404
8 Timothe Buret ETEC 5.318
9 Guan Yu Zhou M2 5.651
10 Nicolas Dapero Giles 6.138
11 Rodrigo Baptista ETEC 8.960
12 Will Owen Giles 9.384
13 Taylor Cockerton ETEC 9.779
14 James Munro Giles 9.894
15 Theo Bean ETEC 11.151
Ret Julian Hanses Victory  
Ret Kami Laliberte M2  
Ret Bruno Baptista Victory  
Ret Devlin DeFrancesco Giles  


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Event TRS: Teretonga
Track Teretonga Park
Drivers Jehan Daruvala , Lando Norris , Antoni Ptak
Article type Race report