Taupo TRS: Norris holds off Piquet for fourth win

Toyota Racing Series championship leader Lando Norris took his fourth victory of the season in Race 1 at Taupo, extending his advantage in the points with five races to go.

The Briton, who brought his TRS pole position count to seven from eight attempts earlier on Saturday, led the way in a straightforward race, which saw barely any changes in the top 10 after the first lap.

However, it was not the easiest of drives for Norris, who was hounded throughout the 15-lap distance by closest points rival Pedro Piquet.

Piquet stayed within a second of Norris at all times and moved to within four tenths with four laps to go, but had to do with runner-up - with the Briton extending his advantage in the standings to 60 points.

The duo, both racing for M2 Competition, were in a league of their own throughout the race, with Giles driver James Munro finishing a lonely third, six seconds off.

Ferrari protege Guan Yu Zhou was fourth, while Jehan Daruvala held off Ferdinand Habsburg for fifth place.

Brendon Leitch, Devlin DeFrancesco, Taylor Cockerton and Bruno Baptista completed the top 10.

Regular frontrunner Artem Markelov, who had started the race in fourth, stalled off the line and dropped to the back - and would wound up recovering to 12th place.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1  Lando Norris M2 21:02.420
2 Pedro Piquet M2 0.731
3 James Munro Giles 6.750
4 Guan Yu Zhou M2 11.011
5 Jehan Daruvala M2 15.559
6 Ferdinand Habsburg Giles 15.917
7 Brendon Leitch Victory 16.218
8 Devlin DeFrancesco Giles 17.235
9 Taylor Cockerton ETEC 17.683
10 Bruno Baptista Victory 22.138
11 Kami Laliberte M2 25.437
12 Artem Markelov M2 26.275
13 Will Owen Giles 27.808
14 Nicolas Dapero Giles 28.209
15 Theo Bean ETEC 42.585
16 Timothe Buret ETEC 53.461
17 Rodrigo Baptista ETEC 1 Lap
Ret Julian Hanses Victory  
Ret Antoni Ptak Giles  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Event TRS: Taupo
Track Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park
Drivers James Munro , Pedro Piquet , Lando Norris
Article type Race report