SBRS: Zimroth, Oliver claim Eastern titles

An idle Abraham Zimroth claimed the Formula Dodge Eastern Regional title in the season finale from Lime Rock Park. Zimroth, who was forced to sit out both races due to a bicycle injury, watched from pit row as series challenger Kevin Adams failed...

An idle Abraham Zimroth claimed the Formula Dodge Eastern Regional title in the season finale from Lime Rock Park. Zimroth, who was forced to sit out both races due to a bicycle injury, watched from pit row as series challenger Kevin Adams failed to capitalize on his absence. Adams finished his championship run in second ahead of Roland Isra in third. Chris Oliver, who placed fourth overall, continued his domination of the Masters class to claim the title in the 40-plus category. Tom Sands rounded out the top-5. Among the top-five in Eastern points, Adams also garnered Rookie-of-the-Year honors while Sands completed his season as the Most Improved Driver. Mike Wert was the Grand Master Champion for the new over-50 grouping.

In the group 1 opener, Gerardo Bonilla, preparing for the upcoming National Championship finale, made the most of his pole position to capture the win after 20 flawless laps. Todd Russo, who started second, finished there, ahead of Nick Jones, who promoted himself from fourth to finish third. Jason Martinelli started 12th but plucked through the field nicely to earn a top-7 result.

New York's Roland Isra only needed nine laps to overcome an 18th place start position and claim the lead en route to victory in group 2 competition. Isra was able to capitalize on an accident involving six cars in the uphill on the opening lap. He then went on to register a 21-second margin win over Kevin Adams, who started from pole. Tom Sands followed in third.

RJ Smith used consistently quick laps, including his fastest cycle of 1:02.818 sec., to pace group 3 and earn the win from third position. Randy Youngsma finished second in front of Dario Cioti, who improved from fifth to secure the final spot on the podium.

Polesitter Francois Chaillou became a first time Skip Barber Race Series winner when he scored a six-second margin victory over newcomer Steve Nelson and Steve Mayer in group 4. Chaillou, who led 19 of 20 laps, also set fastest lap of the group with a time of 1:03.631 sec. Mayer, by virtue of his ascension from 10th to third, earned Most Progressive Driver distinction.

In group 5, Martin Birkmann advanced from 13th to claim his first Race Series win over RJ Smith, who himself had advanced from 14th. Newcomer David Gionfriddo followed in third. Birkmann led 16 laps, taking the point from polesitter Bill Hammer on lap 3 and successfully keeping all challengers at bay.

Day two action started with polesitter Todd Russo putting on a clinic in the 11-car field. Russo led all 25 laps to pull out a 14-second margin win over Mexican driver Salvador Duran. Ken Cloonan promoted himself from a P8 start position to finish in third and claim Most Progressive Driver honors. Nick Jones was quickest of the group, setting a fastest laps of 0:59.310 sec. Jones was in second when he spun challenging for the lead, relegating him to a sixth place result.

Eighth place starter John Angelone wrestled the point from Antoine Bessette on lap 17 then led the remaining 12 trips to take the win in this group 2 rematch. Tom Sands secured his second podium result of the weekend with his second place finish. Steve Vadja showed impressive form by advancing from 12th to land in third. Bessette started 10th but moved up to fifth quickly. He was on a tear when he had contact with Kevin Adams and was forced to pit. He led briefly before relinquishing the lead back to Angelone who was in hot pursuit.

Dario Cioti scored his first career Skip Barber Race Series victory the hard way. He earned it. Cioti battled with and bested Mark Patterson over the final stages of the 27 lap contest to record the win by a half-second. Patterson ran a strong race, having started 13th and slotting in to third by lap 7 before eventually finished second. Polesitter Randy Youngsma joined the pair on the podium in third.

In group 4 race 2, Francois Chaillou scored a seemingly easy victory over Steve Nelson and Doug Harrison. Chaillou led all 27 laps. Nelson successfully defended his second place start position from Harrison and Dave Figurski, both of whom challenged mid-race for the runner-up spot. Figurski was the quickest in this group, setting a lap time of 0:59.404 sec.

Group 5 race saw Martin Birkmann storm away from the field en route to a 34-second margin victory. Birkmann was clearly operating on all cylinders and demonstrated consistent fast lap times, his best a 0:59.256 sec. Dan Badia improved from 10th to finish behind Birkmann in second. Japanese driver Mashashige Itoh followed in third place.

In the Masters Race, Chris Oliver put an exclamation point on his Championship season with his victory from pole. Scott Boissoneau and Mark Patterson followed in second and third. The race fielded 19 of the fleetest Masters competitors, including Grand Masters Champion Mike Wert, who finished sixth.

Congratulations on a great season to Abraham Zimroth, Chris Oliver, Mike Wert, Kevin Adams, Tom Sands and all competitors, family and friends. For those who can't wait to race, check out our Southern and Western Series schedules.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Roland Isra , Skip Barber , Salvador Duran , Jason Martinelli , Abraham Zimroth , Mark Patterson , Dario Cioti , Nick Jones , John Angelone , Gerardo Bonilla