SBRS: Series Millville rounds 9, 10 preview

Skip Barber National Preview New Jersey Motorsports Park Lakeville, Conn. (July 13) Much has happened in the world of Skip Barber in six weeks following Lime Rock Park, and as the drivers of the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by...

Skip Barber National Preview New Jersey Motorsports Park

Lakeville, Conn. (July 13) Much has happened in the world of Skip Barber in six weeks following Lime Rock Park, and as the drivers of the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda head to Millville, N.J. this weekend with the Rolex Sports Car Series for rounds nine and ten of the 2010 season. On and off track news is the order of the day, as two drivers have taken the next step in their racing while Skip Barber Racing School recently announced the addition of a contingency sponsor for both pole and most progressive driver awards for the balance of the National season.

MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development driver Spencer Pigot was just able to maintain his championship lead over a charging Isaac Lyons, who dominated Lime Rock Park with a two wire-to-wire wins over Memorial Day weekend. Not far behind is a tight battle for third between two-time race winner Dennis Trebing and fellow Floridian Nick Andries, with the series other MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development driver, Felix Serralles, tied with Summer Race Series point leader Ashley Freiberg for fifth.

California Scents, a producer of eco-friendly air fresheners for home and auto has partnered with Skip Barber Racing School to present both pole and most progressive driver awards for the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda. A separate announcement detailing the partnership and awards is forthcoming.

2009 Review

Last year's event was another example of 2009 National Champion Connor De Phillippi's domination of the season. Running as part of Mazda Formula X last year at New Jersey Motorsports Park, De Phillippi came from sixth on the grid in race one to beat Kyle Marcelli and polesitter Court Vernon for the win. Race two saw De Phillippi come from fifth on the grid to squeak past Sage Karam for the win with Brett Smrz rounding out the podium. The wins were number three and four in what would ultimately be a record tying seven win season for the San Clemente, Calif. driver.

Alumni News

There is nothing better for a developmental series like the Skip Barber National than to have its drivers move up in the racing world, even if it means a smaller field for our series. The big news since Lime Rock Park was the departures of VIR race winner Michael Dorrbecker and Sebring polesitter Daniel Lloyd.

After testing with the Facondini team at the Misano World Circuit, Dorrbecker will make his Italian Formula Renault 2.0 series debut this weekend at the central Italian track. For Lloyd the move meant a debut in the British Touring Car Championship for the legendary Triple 8 team at the Croft circuit in Yorkshire, England, where he earned seventh, 14th and eighth place finishes in his Vauxhall Vectra. Back in the states, 2008 National Champion Conor Daly continues his domination of the 2010 Star Mazda season, picking up wins at O'Reilly Raceway Park and Iowa Speedway, and now leads the Star Mazda standings by 41 points going into the next rounds at Autobahn Country Club at the end of July.

Last year's National Champion Connor De Phillippi is currently sixth in Star Mazda points and is the second highest ranked rookie in the points. Two-time National winner Sean Rayhall continues to impress in SCCA Pro Formula Enterprises, picking up his fourth win in a row at Miller Motorsports Park in Utah. Rayhall has also scored six poles in six races and leads the Pro Formula Enterprises standings. Another National race winner, Alexander Rossi, continues his climb through the European formula car ranks, having finished 5th and 2nd at the recent GP3 race at Silverstone. Rossi's impressive run in GP3 has him 2nd in points.

2004 Skip Barber National Champion Marco Andretti earned his season best finish of 3rd at Texas Motor Speedway, while 2003 National Champion Raphael Matos earned a career best 4th place at the IZOD IndyCar Series race at Watkins Glen. In the world of sports cars, Skip Barber drivers continue to leave their mark, particularly in Grand Am. The Memorial Day Classic at Lime Rock Park was a Skip Barber sweep as former National drivers Ricky Taylor (DP) and John Edwards (GT) picked up class wins. A week later it was the driving duo of former Skip Barber competitors and current instructors Andy Lally and Spencer Pumpelly picked up the GT class win at the Rolex Sports Car Series Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen, beating out the SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 co-driven by another Skip Barber alum and instructor, Jonathan Bomarito. At Mid-Ohio, Skip Barber success continued with the driving team of Oswaldo Negri and John Pew finishing 2nd in Daytona Prototypes ahead of the 3rd place car co-driven by Burt Frisselle and the 4th place duo of Brian Frisselle and Michael Valiante, while in GT it was another Pro Series driver, Joey Hand, taking the win over Edwards.

A surprise on the entry list at the recent NASCAR K&N Pro Series East race at Lime Rock Park was Julian Albarracin, making his stock car debut days after celebrating his 16th birthday. Albarracin qualified 10th and led laps before first a spin then an engine failure dropped him to 21st at the finish. Inaugural Skip Barber MAZDASPEED Challenge champ Justin Piscitell picked up his first career SCCA

Follow the races almost live on and look for the race weekend wrap-up on

-source: sbrs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Michael Valiante , Joey Hand , Andy Lally , Burt Frisselle , Skip Barber , Marco Andretti , Spencer Pumpelly , Oswaldo Negri Jr. , Jonathan Bomarito , Felix Serralles , John Pew , John Edwards , Alexander Rossi , Kyle Marcelli , Conor Daly , Court Vernon , Justin Piscitell , Julian Albarracin , Spencer Pigot , Sean Rayhall , Nick Andries , Sage Karam , Ashley Freiberg
Teams SpeedSource