SBRS: Laguna Seca fasts, entries

WHAT: Round 10 of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series WHEN: Qualifying: Fri., Sept. 8, 4:45 p.m. (30 min.); Final Qualifying: Sat., Sept 9, 12:55 p.m. (30 min.); RACE START: Sun., Sept. 10 at 4:15 p.m. 40 MINUTES WHERE: Laguna Seca Raceway,...

WHAT: Round 10 of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series

WHEN: Qualifying: Fri., Sept. 8, 4:45 p.m. (30 min.); Final Qualifying: Sat., Sept 9, 12:55 p.m. (30 min.); RACE START: Sun., Sept. 10 at 4:15 p.m. 40 MINUTES

WHERE: Laguna Seca Raceway, Monterey, Calif. as part of the CART FedEx Honda Grand Prix of Monterey.

WHO: Twenty-eight drivers from six different countries

T.V: Sept. 14 at 6:00 p.m. EDT on ESPN2

Drivers who have used the Barber Pro Series as a steppingstone into the world of top level auto racing include: 1999 Indianapolis 500 winner and current CART driver Kenny Brack; 1999 CART PPG Cup Champion and 2000 Indy 500 winner Juan Montoya; seven of the drivers in the current CART Dayton Indy Lights Series field.

All drivers compete in identically prepared single-seat, open-wheel race cars which are owned, maintained and transported by the Barber Dodge Pro Series.

In 1998, world famous racecar manufacturer Reynard Motorsport, was called upon to design an all new carbon-fiber monocoque chassis exclusively for the series. That chassis is mated to an all aluminum 3.5 liter V6 Dodge engine tuned to deliver 265 peak horsepower driven through a six-speed sequential Hewland gearbox. The Reynard Dodge 98E is shod with Michelin Pilot SX racing slicks, marking the French tire giant's competitive North American open-wheel debut.

Races are 40 minutes in duration with points allocated to the top-15 finishers (20 to the winner, then 16-14-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1). A driver's ten best results count toward the championship total. An additional point is awarded to the fastest qualifier.

All 12 rounds of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series will again be televised on espn2 as well as ESPN International.

<pre> Round 10 Entry List as of Tuesday, July 11, 2000 The Barber Dodge Pro Series Race at The CART Honda Grand Prix of Monterey Laguna Seca Raceway, Monterey, California

September 10, 2000

Car# Driver/Hometown Sponsor(s) Color

4 Brent Sherman/ North Barrington, Ill. Serta Mattress Co. Dk. Blue

5 Sepp Koster/Heemskerk, The Netherlands Blue Bay Curacao Golf Resort; Stora-Drain; Uitert; IR Productions; Respons Black/Silver

7 Jamie Menninga/Pella, Iowa Event Marketing Enterprises, Inc.; Lee's Grinding White

8 Peter Boss/Narragansett, R.I. ITIS, Inc.;; Cross Pens; Lacoste Clothing; gadzoox; Hitachi Blue/Silver/Red

9 Roger Yasukawa/Santa Monica, Calif. "'99 BDPS Co-Rookie of the Year"; Tokyo Ueno Clinic; Kenwood Black

11 Thed Björk/Vretstorp, Sweden Corechange; Maskinflishing; Tenab; Ebcon; Etab Data; Svensk ; Nolato Black

16 Jeff Morton/Detroit, Mich. The Vitamin Outlet; Trans Tube Inc.; E-Mortgage Direct; Mark V Blasting Black/Silver

17 Matt Plumb/Unionville, Penn. Arnette; CAM 2; Mid-Atlantic Trading;; Bowlmore Lanes Red/White

19 Sara Senske/Kennewick, Washington Lynx Racing; Team Simpson Black/Aqua

20 Alexandre Sperafico/Toledo Parana(,Brazil Iveco Fiat; Sperafico Group White/Green

21 Jon Vannini/Hillsborough, California Copart, Inc; Conservation Partners Silver

22 Jay Ricci/Grosse Pointe, Michigan J.D. Byrider; Lupo & Koczkur P.C. Blue/Orange

23 Marc Breuers/Gladwyne, Penn. The Guard House; Penn Hospital; Dr. Detail White/Red

25 Kip Gulseth/Manitowoc, Wisc. Gulseth Construction; Total Control Racing; Racing For Kids Dk. Blue

26 Rhonda Trammell/Pittsboro, Ind. Klein Tools; REO Spine Line; Trammell Motorsports Medicine White

28 Andre Nicastro/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Coppertone White/Teal/Blue

31 Ryan Hunter-Reay/Boca Raton, Fla. "Big Scholarship Winner";; Simpson Red/Blue/Yellow

33 Milka Duno/Caracas, Venezuela MRW; MLP Productions; Pits 39 Blue/Silver

36 Nilton Rossoni/Curitiba, Brazil Foster Group; Humm!; Fox; Oil Extreme Blue/White

42 John Hall/Houston, Texas


52 Jon Fogarty/Portola Valley, Calif. Three Arch Partners; Thomas Fogarty Winery & Vineyards Copper/Grey

53 Tom Fogarty/Wellington, Nevada Copart Inc.; XYZ Clothing; ITAC; E-Racing Blue/Yellow

55 John McCaig/Victoria, B.C., Canada Presenting Italy; Anodizing, Inc.; Fine Art Framing White/Orange

62 Andy Lally/Northport, N.Y. T-One, Inc.; Oberto Beef Jerky; Oxy-Water White/Black

73 Jeff Glenn/Oakland, Calif. Boise Cascade Office Products; KJWL Radio; Bank of the West; Top Shelf Green/White/Black

77 Scott Mayer/Franklin, Wisc. Vision Group International; QPS Staffing Service Blue/Yellow/Green

82 Jonathon Macri/Gormley, Ontario, Canada Mopal Construction Ltd.; Cobra Power Inc.; Con Lawn White/Blue/Red

95 Michael Valiante/Vancouver, B.C.,Canada "'99 BDPS Co-Rookie of the Year"; Sguerzoni; Italian Motors; Oil Extreme Red

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Milka Duno , Peter Boss , Kenny Brack , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Jay Ricci , Andy Lally , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Brent Sherman , Tom Fogarty , John Hall , Marc Breuers , Roger Yasukawa , Jon Vannini , Nilton Rossoni , Thed Björk , Sepp Koster , Rhonda Trammell , Scott Mayer , Matt Plumb