SBRS: Detroit: Jon Fogarty Nails Second Straight Pole

Californian Jon Fogarty scored his second consecutive Barber Dodge Pro Series pole by the narrowest of margins over Jamie Menninga and Matt Plumb in his Sliderule Motorsports Dodge Reynard. Fogarty’s lap of 1:32.646 sec (91.160 mph) eclipsed the...

Californian Jon Fogarty scored his second consecutive Barber Dodge Pro Series pole by the narrowest of margins over Jamie Menninga and Matt Plumb in his Sliderule Motorsports Dodge Reynard. Fogarty’s lap of 1:32.646 sec (91.160 mph) eclipsed the standard set by Menninga in Friday’s qualifying by 0.009 sec around the 2.346-mile temporary circuit.

Fogarty set his lap midway through the session that was halted twice during the 30 minutes allotted. The abbreviated session caught out both Menninga and Plumb who each felt that they had more speed coming. Fogarty now extends his lead in the run for the championship and the $300,000 Career Enhancement Award by winning the point for pole. His advantage over second-place Sepp Koster is now 14 points.

“Again I knew there was the distinct possibility of a black flag during the session, so I went for it right out of the pits,” Fogarty, 25, commented. “I’m starting at the front and the people immediately behind me are not threatening for the championship at this point, so it’s a good situation.”

Menninga, 21, of Pella, Iowa, was disappointed to have lost the pole by such a slim margin, but still records the best starting position of his Barber Dodge career. However he is buoyed by starting next to Fogarty who his Sliderule Motorsports team mate.

“I’m going to have to take him out to dinner tonight and feed him lots of pasta, and see if he can gain a few pounds,” Menninga jabbed. “I wasn’t going as fast as yesterday early on the session. I found that I was rushing my entries (to the corner) yesterday, and I backed off a little too much today.”

Plumb, second yesterday, slips back to third for Sunday’s 3:45 start following the CART FedEx Tenneco Grand Prix of Detroit. Third may not be such a bad position rued Plumb afterwards as the narrow entry into turns 1 and 2 of the Raceway on Belle Isle may play into his hands at the start.

“I’m happy with it,” Plumb, 25, from Unionville, Pa said of his position. “These guys (Fogarty and Menninga) are talking about tucking in behind the other at the start, but I’m going to be right behind Jon, so I don’t think that’s going to happen.”

The first six on the Barber Dodge grid are separated by a scant three-tenths of a second while the top-15 are all within one second. Rounding out the Top-10 are Alexandre Sperafico with his best qualifying of the season, Andre Nicastro, Roger Yasukawa, also with his best performance of the season, Sepp Koster, Brent Sherman, Thed Bjork and Nilton Rossoni.

The start of round 5 of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series is set for 3:45 p.m. EDT.

<pre> ROUND 5 The Raceway on Belle Isle Detroit Michigan QUALIFYING RESULTS June 17, 2000 Pos Driver/Hometown /Session 1 /Session 2 /Best Time 1 Jon Fogarty/Portola Valley, Calif. 01:33.141 01:32.646 01:32.646 2 Jamie Menninga/Pella, Iowa 01:32.655 01:32.749 01:32.655 3 Matt Plumb/Unionville, Penn. 01:32.711 01:33.074 01:32.711 4 Alexandre Sperafico/Brazil 01:33.961 01:32.817 01:32.817 5 Andre Nicastro/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 01:33.576 01:32.892 01:32.892 6 Roger Yasukawa/Santa Monica, Calif. 01:33.616 01:32.941 01:32.941 7 Sepp Koster/The Netherlands 01:33.151 01:33.025 01:33.025 8 Brent Sherman/ North Barrington, Ill. 01:33.499 01:33.071 01:33.071 9 Thed Björk/Vretstorp, Sweden 01:33.156 01:33.557 01:33.156 10 Nilton Rossoni/Curitiba, Brazil 01:33.466 01:33.361 01:33.361 11 Andy Lally/Northport, NY 01:33.388 01:33.365 01:33.365 12 Michael Valiante/Vancouver,Canada 01:34.043 01:33.418 01:33.418 13 Sam Hancock/London, England 01:34.350 01:33.424 01:33.424 14 Kip Gulseth/Manitowoc, Wisc. 01:34.923 01:33.647 01:33.647 15 Ryan Hunter-Reay/Boca Raton, Fla. 01:33.849 01:33.728 01:33.728 16 Marc Breuers/Gladwyne, Penn. 01:34.073 01:36.161 01:34.073 17 Peter Boss/Narragansett, R.I. 01:34.339 01:34.431 01:34.339 18 John McCaig/Victoria, B.C., Canada 01:34.510 01:35.941 01:34.510 19 Tom Fogarty/Copco Lake, Calif 01:35.916 01:34.690 01:34.690 20 Sara Senske/Kennewick, Washington 01:35.276 01:37.420 01:35.276 21 Jon Vannini/Hillsborough, California 01:36.974 01:35.760 01:35.760 22 Jeff Glenn/Oakland, Calif. 01:37.076 01:36.390 01:36.390 23 Jay Ricci/Grosse Pointe, Michigan 01:38.826 01:37.687 01:37.687 24 Scott Mayer/Franklin, Wisc. 01:38.840 01:37.832 01:37.832 25 Jeff Morton/Detroit, Mich. 01:39.037 01:40.148 01:39.037 26 Milka Duno/Caracas, Venezuela 01:39.557 01:40.008 01:39.557

-George Tamayo

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Milka Duno , Peter Boss , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Jay Ricci , Andy Lally , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Brent Sherman , Tom Fogarty , Marc Breuers , Roger Yasukawa , Jon Vannini , Nilton Rossoni , Thed Björk , Sepp Koster , Scott Mayer , Matt Plumb , Sam Hancock