SBRS: Cleveland Qualifying Results

Brazilian Nilton Rossoni scored his first pole of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series season (5th career) with a near record setting lap of 1:14.191 sec. for an average speed of 102.190 mph around the 2.106-mile Cleveland-Burke Lakefront Airport ...

Brazilian Nilton Rossoni scored his first pole of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series season (5th career) with a near record setting lap of 1:14.191 sec. for an average speed of 102.190 mph around the 2.106-mile Cleveland-Burke Lakefront Airport circuit. His time was a mere 0.085 sec. off of the record established in 1999 by Todd Snyder. Starting alongside Rossoni on the front row for this afternoon's sixth round of the Barber Dodge Pro Series at the Marconi Grand Prix of Cleveland will be Swede Thed Bjork. A rookie, this marks Bjorks best qualifying performance, just 0.102 sec. off of Rossoni's time. Third on the grid is the winner of the last two rounds, Jon Fogarty.

The times in the second and final qualifying session did not start to tumble until Sepp Koster set the new time to beat at just before the midway point. From there the pole traded hands twice more between Bjork and finally Rossoni, who kept it for good with the lap he completed nine minutes before the end of the session.

"I think I'll be okay for the race later today," said Rossoni, the defending race champion. "My car feels really good and I'm very confident. I know the track well, but there's a lot room for passing here, so hopefully I'll be able to keep everyone else behind me."

Bjork captured the pole only minutes after it was reset by Koster. His next lap lowered the mark further still. Minutes later as he tried to improve on his time yet again, he pushed a bit too hard, catching the wall exiting turn-8 which put him out for the waning minutes of the session with a broken left rear suspension. Nevertheless the 19-year old karting champion was thrilled to start the race from the front row.

"I thought I could improve on my time at the end of the session, but I'm very satisfied to start on the front row," Bjork said. "I'm not worried about the car (as a result of the contact) since I'm not going to change it. I'm happy with the way it is."

Fogarty's pole streak ended at two, yet the Californian who currently leads the chase for the $300,000 Career Enhancement Award looks forward to the start of the race this afternoon.

"This is a great racetrack for racing. So many circuits lack the passing opportunities but here almost every corner is a passing zone," Fogarty, 25, said. "Obviously a win here would be great, but scoring points is good too. We'll see how the race works out."

Rounding out the Top-10 in the final qualifying order are Sepp Koster, currently second in the points, Roger Yasukawa, provisional polesitter Jamie Menninga, Michael Valiante, John McCaig, Alexandre Sperafico and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

<pre> ROUND 6 MARCONI GRAND PRIX OF CLEVELAND Presented by FIRSTAR Cleveland-Burke Lakefront Airport Cleveland, Ohio July 1, 2000 QUALIFYING RESULTS

Grid Car Pos # Driver/Hometown Session 1 Session 2 Best Time 1 36 Nilton Rossoni/Curitiba, Brazil 01:14.560 01:14.191 01:14.191 2 11 Thed Björk/Vretstorp, Sweden 01:15.331 01:14.293 01:14.293 3 52 Jon Fogarty/Wellington,Nevada. 01:14.578 01:14.299 01:14.299 4 5 Sepp Koster/The Netherlands 01:14.691 01:14.360 01:14.360 5 9 Roger Yasukawa/Santa Monica, Calif. 01:15.517 01:14.361 01:14.361 6 7 Jamie Menninga/Pella, Iowa 01:14.425 01:14.818 01:14.425 7 95 Michael Valiante/Vancouver,Canada 01:15.712 01:14.496 01:14.496 8 55 John McCaig/Victoria, B.C., Canada 01:15.151 01:14.543 01:14.543 9 20 Alexandre Sperafico/Brazil 01:15.720 01:14.686 01:14.686 10 31 Ryan Hunter-Reay/Boca Raton, Fla. 01:15.062 01:14.733 01:14.733 11 17 Matt Plumb/Unionville, Penn. 01:14.785 01:14.849 01:14.785 12 62 Andy Lally/Northport, NY 01:14.806 01:14.999 01:14.806 13 8 Peter Boss/Narragansett, R.I. 01:15.349 01:14.963 01:14.963 14 28 Andre Nicastro/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 01:15.893 01:15.057 01:15.057 15 23 Marc Breuers/Gladwyne, Penn. 01:15.986 01:15.461 01:15.461 16 25 Kip Gulseth/Manitowoc, Wisc. 01:15.982 01:15.765 01:15.765 17 46 Gilles Tinguely/Geneva, Switzerland 01:17.242 01:16.022 01:16.022 18 4 Brent Sherman/ North Barrington, Ill. 01:16.100 01:16.883 01:16.100 19 19 Sara Senske/Kennewick, Washington 01:16.110 01:16.479 01:16.110 20 21 Jon Vannini/Hillsborough, California 01:17.381 01:16.181 01:16.181 21 53 Tom Fogarty/Wellington,Neveda 01:17.704 01:17.192 01:17.192 22 73 Jeff Glenn/Oakland, Calif. 01:18.287 01:17.210 01:17.210 23 33 Milka Duno/Caracas, Venezuela 01:18.644 01:17.370 01:17.370 24 77 Scott Mayer/Franklin, Wisc. 01:18.209 01:17.747 01:17.747 25 22 Jay Ricci/Grosse Pointe, Michigan 01:19.821 01:17.863 01:17.863

-George Tamayo

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Milka Duno , Peter Boss , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Jay Ricci , Andy Lally , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Brent Sherman , Tom Fogarty , Marc Breuers , Roger Yasukawa , Jon Vannini , Nilton Rossoni , Thed Björk , Sepp Koster , Scott Mayer , Todd Snyder , Matt Plumb