SAFV: Round one summary

Hills dominates at Kyalami The 1999 SA National Formula Vee Champion Peter Hills (Vacuform Rhema 2), kicked off his 2006 season in the best possible way, starting both races from pole position and then proceeded to claim both race wins,...

Hills dominates at Kyalami

The 1999 SA National Formula Vee Champion Peter Hills (Vacuform Rhema 2), kicked off his 2006 season in the best possible way, starting both races from pole position and then proceeded to claim both race wins, on the day. By contrast, reigning Formula Vee National Champion Alan Holm (JBS Lasersprint Rhema 2) had to be content with seventh, in race one and a third place finish, in the second race. Driving Andre Van Der Merwe's ACC Airconditioning Rhema 2, Jody Robertson made a welcome return to the category, coming home in third place, in the first race and then going one better, to take second place in race two, as well as second overall, ahead of the 1997 and 1998 National Formula Vee Champion Anthony Taylor (Rigidek Rhema 2). Taylor had finished second in the first race but had to be content with a fourth place finish, in race two.

After numerous problems, Jannie Geyser (Vision) was destined to take no further part in the day's proceedings, after qualifying sixteenth. New comer Mike Hudson (Spike's Slot Cars and Hobbies Tasman) also failed to start the first race, stoping on the warm up lap, due to a pinched fuel line. Everyone else started but Bobby Nel (DK Office Furniture Lantis) and another newcomer Gert Van Den Berg, in the ex Trevor Bland Rhema, where not destined to go very far. Nel spun at Clubhouse and was T boned very hard by Van Den Berg, putting both cars out for the rest of the day, before they had completed the first lap of the race. Now driving the Rhema 2, in which Andre Van Der Merwe Jnr competed last year, Bland did not fare much better, retiring just on half distance, when the motor cut out on him.

Hills had no such problem and dominated the race from the start, followed by Jaco Schriks (JBS Laser Sprint Rhema 2), Taylor, Robertson, Holm and Ex Formula Vee National Champion Symm Grobler (Auto Mecca Rhema 2). As the race progressed, Schriks and Holm both lost ground, Holm due to a lose cover on the top of one of his carburetors and Schriks due to his tyres losing grip, as the race ran it's course. There was some good close racing, all the way down the field but none as fierce as the battle between John Lerm (Racing for Wildlife Sting), JP Nortje (Sting) and Jack Valadas (Racing for Jesus Rhema) who where trading places all around the circuit.

In the end, it was however Hills who took a deserved victory, ahead of Taylor, Robertson, Schriks, Grobler, Cape Town's Chris Danks (Fantastic Racing Rhema 2), Holm, Bradley Martin (Rhema 2), the other Andre Van Der Merwe (Atlas Dry Cleaners Lantis), Nortje, Lerm and Valadas.

The second race saw Hills out front again, with a good close battle involving Schriks, Taylor, Robertson and Holm, not far behind. This time Bland was not even able to complete the first lap of the race, before the engine cut out again! The following lap Gareth Jackson (JBS Lasersprint Rhema) retired, with no fourth gear and another lap into the race, it was Hudson who retired, when his oil pressure light came on. Then Nortje spun at Nashua and beached the car on the kerb, bring out the red flag, while a little further down the road, Valadas had made heavy contact with the tyre wall at Goodyear Bend after missing his turn in point. The stoppage came as a blessing in disguise for Schriks who was stuck in fourth gear, after the gear linkage came lose and had already slipped to eighth place, by the time the race was stopped. Some hasty repairs, during the stoppage, saw him make the restart from the pit lane.

The race was restarted and by the end of the first lap, Hills led from Holm, Robertson, Grobler, Taylor, Danks and Van Der Merwe. Robertson soon slipped past Holm, while in the closing stages of the race, Van Der Merwe spun at Nashua, when his car ran out of fuel midway through the corner. The finishing order, for the second half of heat two, saw Hills cross the line in first place, followed by Robertson, Holm, Grobler, Taylor, Schriks, Danks and Martin. When the two parts of the race where combined the finishing order did not change much, with Hills winning the Heat from Robertson, Holm, Taylor, Grobler, Danks, Schriks, Martin, Lerm and Van Der Merwe.

The second round of the Championship will be run, at the Zwartkops Raceway on the 25th March 2006 and includes Regional Championship races, for Supersaloons, Formula Ford, Porsche 924 and Porsche Unlimited, along with Club Championship races, for BMW Boxer Cup Africa, Michelin Thunder Bikes, Superhatch, Silvercup and Formula Libra / Formula M. With a good mix of Motor Cycle racing, Saloon Car racing, Single Seater racing and the very quick and exotic Porsches, the event should cater for all tastes.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Peter Champion