Ruapuna TRS: Norris beats Piquet to win chaotic Race 2

Lando Norris overtook Pedro Piquet with three laps to go to win the second race of the 2016 Toyota Racing Series campaign at Ruapuna.

The Briton, having started sixth after the top eight from Race 1 was reversed, slowly but surely worked his way up the order on the wet track.

Jehan Daruvala had started the race from pole alongside Piquet, but was down to ninth by the end of the opening lap - while Timothe Buret moved up from tenth to second.

With Piquet and Buret at the helm, the race was neutralised under safety car on Lap 3 as Theo Bean went off - albeit the American managed to carry on.

At the restart, Piquet held on to the lead, while Buret was swamped by James Munro, Norris and Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou.

And teammates Noris and Zhou would then move up a place when Munro went into the tyrewall at the hairpin, prompting another stoppage.

The race resumed once again with six laps to go, and while Piquet initially kept Norris behind, the Briton eventually snuck past when the Brazilian ran wide.

The battle for victory was over then and there as Norris pulled away, establishing a four-second lead by the chequered flag.

Piquet took second, ahead of Zhou and Artem Markelov, who made it a 1-2-3-4 for the M2 squad.

Mazda Road to Indy racer Will Owen stayed out of trouble to finish fifth, ahead of Antoni Ptak, who recovered from an early off, and Buret.

Race 1 winner Ferdinand Habsburg, Bruno Baptista and Brendon Leitch completed the top 10.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1  Lando Norris M2 25:17.149
2  Pedro Piquet M2 4.066
3 Guan Yu Zhou M2 5.306
4 Artem Markelov M2 6.122
5 Will Owen Giles 12.426
6 Antoni Ptak Giles 14.046
7 Timothe Buret ETEC 15.459
8 Ferdinand Habsburg Giles 15.799
9 Bruno Baptista Victory 16.821
10 Brendon Leitch Victory 17.148
11 Devlin DeFrancesco Giles 17.978
12 Taylor Cockerton ETEC 21.417
13 Jehan Daruvala M2 22.611
14 Kami Laliberte M2 23.543
15 Julian Hanses Victory 25.162
16 Rodrigo Baptista ETEC 42.292
17 Nicolas Dapero Giles 1:12.472
18 Theo Bean ETEC 1 Lap
Ret James Munro Giles  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Event TRS: Ruapuna
Track Mike Pero Motorsport Park
Drivers Pedro Piquet , Lando Norris , Guan Yu Zhou
Article type Race report