Ruapuna TRS: Habsburg claims career-first win in opener

Ferdinand Habsburg passed poleman Lando Norris off the line to claim his first win in open-wheel racing in the opening race of the 2016 Toyota Racing Series campaign at Ruapuna.

Habsburg, contesting his second season in the championship, took over the lead after starting on the front row and held on to the spot until the end of the 15-lap race, despite a mid-race safety car period.

While he had taken six previous podiums in his car racing career, the victory is Habsburg's first in single-seaters.

GP2 racer Artem Markelov was Habsburg's nearest rival by the end of the race, although it was Norris who posed the biggest threat.

The Briton challenged Habsburg after losing the lead early on and was right on his tail at the safety car restart, which followed after Kami Laliberte went off on Lap 3.

However, Norris would eventually slip behind M2 teammate Markelov, allowing Habsburg to coast to victory unimpeded.

Top-placed local driver James Munro was best of the rest, having challenged for a podium early on. He lost two spots after the restart and re-passed compatriot Brendon Leitch, but had to settle for fourth.

Leitch ended up falling to sixth behind Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou, while Pedro Piquet, Jehan Daruvala, Taylor Cockerton and Timothe Buret completed the top 10 – the latter having started 16th.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1  Ferdinand Habsburg Giles 20:48.146
2  Artem Markelov M2 1.674
3 Lando Norris M2 1.98
4 James Munro Giles 5.342
5 Guan Yu Zhou M2 6.723
6 Brendon Leitch Victory 10.18
7 Pedro Piquet M2 11.564
8 Jehan Daruvala M2 13.092
9 Taylor Cockerton ETEC 13.701
10 Timothe Buret ETEC 17.742
11 Will Owen Giles 18.186
12 Nicolas Dapero Giles 18.882
13 Antoni Ptak Giles 20.502
14 Devlin DeFrancesco Giles 20.855
15 Julian Hanses Victory 21.527
16 Theo Bean ETEC 30.858
Ret Bruno Baptista Victory  
Ret Kami Laliberte M2  
Ret Rodrigo Baptista ETEC  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Event TRS: Ruapuna
Track Mike Pero Motorsport Park
Drivers Artem Markelov , Lando Norris , Ferdinand Habsburg
Article type Race report