New Australian Formula A series confirms 2017 calendar

The new-for-2017 Formula A Australia series has confirmed its split summer/winter calendar for its debut season.

As reported last week, Formula A will take over from the struggling Aussie Formula 3 series, with an all-encompassing Formula Libre-style series that will mainly cater for F3 cars, but also be open to other carbon-tub open-wheelers and even historic single-seaters.

With plans in the future to run a Southern Hemisphere summer series in the hope of attractig European talent, the category has now confirmed a split summer and winter cup calendar for next year.

As already confirmed, the three-round Summer Cup will kick off at the 10 Hours of Sydney in the middle of January. There will then be a second round at Wakefield Park in the middle of February, before the summer series concludes on the Shannons Nationals round at Sandown early April.

The Winter Cup will then fire up at the New South Wales State Championship race meeting at Sydney Motorsport Park at the beginning of July, followed by two more appearances on the Shannons Nationals schedule with rounds at Queensland Raceway and Phillip Island.

The exact race formats are yet to be confirmed.

2017 Formula A Australia Series

Summer Cup
Round Circuit  Date
1 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) 13-15 January
2 Wakefield Park (NSW) 18-19 February
3 Sandown Raceway (VIC) 7-9 April
Winter Cup    
Round Circuit Date
1 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) 1-2 July
2 Queensland Raceway (QLD) 4-6 August
3 Phillip Island (VIC) 8-10 September

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Article type Breaking news