NA-F2000: Lacy graps pole at Mosport

BOWMANVILLE, Ont., Can. (August 4, 2000)-- Series veteran Ian Lacy, of North Las Vegas, Nev. captured the pole for the U.S. F2000 National Championship Presented by Speedvision Grand Prix of Mosport at Mosport. Completing the top-three...

BOWMANVILLE, Ont., Can. (August 4, 2000)-- Series veteran Ian Lacy, of North Las Vegas, Nev. captured the pole for the U.S. F2000 National Championship Presented by Speedvision Grand Prix of Mosport at Mosport. Completing the top-three is Canadian Marc-Antoine Camirand, of Trois-Rivieres, Que., Can. and rookie James Hanson, of Leeds, England. The top ACC qualifier is Tom Dyer, of San Rafael, Calif. Driving the No. 6 Van Diemen Ford, Lacy captured his first career pole after leading the majority of the session. Lacy, who currently lies third in the championship, won the pole after setting a new lap record of 1:21.094 (109.162 mph). "This pole has been a long time coming," said Lacy. "This has been an excellent day overall. We found a change which loosened up the car a bit and used the experiences we gained from being here earlier in the year. I'd love to checkout in the race, but know that will be unlikely with Marc [Camirand] and James [Hanson] starting up front with me." Camirand, driving the No. 96 Key Motorsport Van Diemen Ford, lost the early part of the session with a suspension problem. Late in the session he was able to run some clean laps to post the second fastest time of the day, 1:21.656 (108.411 mph). "The track caught us out, " said Camirand. "I just couldn't find the right setup for the track conditions. I'm not really concerned with starting second, it's a long race." Rookie sensation Hanson, driving the No. 21 DuPont Van Diemen Ford, captured the third spot on the grid with a time of 1:22.004 (107.951 mph). Hanson who captured his first career podium finish here in May, will be looking to improve on that tomorrow. "Qualifying didn't go as planned," said Hanson. "I was a little surprised after the session when they said I had to go to media center for interviews. " Driving the No. 2 CycleShack/Bell Helmets/Paladin Carbir Ford, Dyer was the fastest ACC qualifier posting the sixth quickest time overall. Completing the top-five is Memo Rojas Jr., of Mexico City, Mexico and points leader Aaron Justus, of Crestline, Calif.

BOWMANVILLE, Ont., Can.-- Qualifying times for Saturdays 20-lap, 49.18-mile U.S. F2000 National Championship Presented by Speedvision Round Eight Race, part of the Grand Prix Mosport Weekend at Mosport International Raceway, with qualifying position, car number in parenthesis, driver, hometown, car, time and speed in miles-per-hour.

1. (6),Ian Lacy, N. Las Vegas, Nev., F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:21.094, 109.162. 2. (96),Marc-Antoine Camirand, St. Leonard/Quebec, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:21.656, 108.410. 3. (21),James Hanson(R), Leeds/England, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.004, 107.950. 4. (15),Memo Rojas Jr.(R), Mexico City/Mexico, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.046, 107.895. 5. (32),Aaron Justus, Crestline, Calif., F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.177, 107.723. 6. (2),Tom Dyer(R), San Rafael, Calif., ACC, Carbir Ford, 1:22.463, 107.35. 7. (82),Jeff Harrison(R), Grapevine, Texas, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.537, 107.253. 8. (19),J.W. Urlin(R), London/Ontario, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.546, 107.242. 9. (33),Billy Asaro(R), Unionville/Ontario, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.559, 107.225. 10. (71),Andy Lally, Northport, N.Y., ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.578, 107.200. 11. (55),Piero Rodarte(R), Mexico City/Mexico, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.697, 107.046. 12. (4),Arie Luyendyk Jr.(R), Holland, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.809, 106.901. 13. (44),Peter Walsh(R), Cork/Ireland, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.845, 106.855. 14. (80),Martin Guimont(R), Laval/Quebec, ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.906, 106.776. 15. (9),Andrew Davis(R), Lilburn, Ga., F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:22.942, 106.73. 16. (5),Tommy Constantine, Scottsdale, Ariz., F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:23.061, 106.577. 17. (7),Daniel Muniz, San Jose/Costa Rica, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:23.342, 106.217. 18. (25),Arnold Brinkmann, Quito/Ecuador, F2A, Carbir Ford, 1:23.388, 106.159. 19. (30),Greg Schings, Lexington, Ky., ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:24.189, 105.149. 20. (13),James Eaton(R), Toronto/Ontario, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:24.927, 104.235. 21. (88),Adam Sodano(R), Boston, Mass., ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:25.544, 103.483. 22. (22),Georges Forgeois, New York, N.Y., ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:25.723, 103.267. 23. (34),Brett Harrison, Everett, Wash., ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:26.101, 102.814. 24. (37),Nick Fanelli(R), Sorrento, Fla., ACC, Van Diemen Ford, 1:26.439, 102.412. 25. (20),Joe Tesone, Wildwood, Pa., F2A, Van Diemen Ford, 1:31.192, 97.074. 26. (77),Harold Primat, France, F2A, Van Diemen Ford, no time.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Marc-Antoine Camirand , Andy Lally , Harold Primat , Memo Rojas , Piero Rodarte , Aaron Justus , Andrew Davis , Georges Forgeois , Nick Fanelli , Tommy Constantine , Ian Lacy , Billy Asaro , Brett Harris , Tom Dyer , Arie Luyendyk Jr.