NA-F2000: 2000 U.S. F2000 Field Taking Shape

FAIRFIELD, N.J. (February 16, 2000) -- The U.S. F2000 National Championship presented by Speedvision will once again boast some of the best young drivers from around the world, and as the March 19 season-opener approaches, many of the teams are...

FAIRFIELD, N.J. (February 16, 2000) -- The U.S. F2000 National Championship presented by Speedvision will once again boast some of the best young drivers from around the world, and as the March 19 season-opener approaches, many of the teams are finalizing their driver lineups.

Two-time, defending champion Primus Racing returns with a five car team, up from three cars last year. Leading the way is returning sophomore, Daniel Muniz, of San Jose, Costa Rica. Last year, Muniz finished seventh in the overall standings, posting five top-five finishes, including a career high second at the season finale. Fellow veteran Tommy Constantine, of Scottsdale, Ariz., joins Primus Racing after racing with Transatlantic, Key Motorsports and Cape Motorsports in 1999. Joining the veterans -- Billy Asaro, James Eaton and Peter Walsh. Asaro, of Caledon, Ontario, raced in the Canadian Formula Ford Championship last year, where he won three races. This year, Asaro will receive backing from Forsythe Racing. Walsh, of Ireland, won the Benelux (Belgium/Luxembourg) FF1600 National Championship in 1999. Eaton, also a Canadian, enters U.S. F2000 with racing in his blood. His father, George Eaton, was a Can-Am driver in the late 60's and early 70's.

Cape Motorsports enters the new season with a three-car lineup in hopes of improving on last year's three wins. Returning to the team for his second tour of duty is Aaron Justus. Justus, of Vista, Calif., won two races and captured four poles while running a limited schedule with the team last year. This year, Justus will contest the entire season with sponsorship from Forsythe/Indeck Racing. Bryce Miller, of Bernardsville, N.J., returns to the team after running the last two races in 1999 with Cape Motorsports. Joining the two veterans at Cape is rookie James Hanson. Hanson, of Leeds, England, raced in SCCA Club Racing National events last year, where he won three races, and led the Formula Continental race at the Valvoline Runoffs until the last lap.

Pabst Racing Services and team owner Augie Pabst III will have Harold Primat in the driver's seat for 2000. The Frenchman, now residing in New York and Switzerland, enters his second season in U.S. F2000 having finishing 12th in the standings, and posting three top-10 finishes in 1999.

Operated by former driver Mike Johnson, Archangel Motorsport Services will once again contest both the National Championship and the American Continental Championship, for older cars. George Forgeois, of New York, N.Y., will challenge for the 2000 ACC title after finishing fourth last year, with two class wins. Entered in the National Championship with a 2000 Van Diemen Ford, is rookie Tony Buffomante, of Steamwood, Ill. Buffomante, who won the 1997 STAR Mazda Championship, returns to racing after a one year hiatus due to budget constraints.

Carbir Race Cars will run two new drivers in 2000. Sharing one car will be Tom Dyer, of San Rafael, Calif., and Michael Curtiss, of Alexandria, Va. Dyer will run the road courses, while Curtiss will run the ovals. Dyer, 24, makes the jump to cars after winning numerous races in karts. Curtiss, ran one race last year, at Atlanta Motor Speedway, in a Van Diemen Ford. The team's second driver will be named shortly.

Returning to the series in 2000, are Andrew Davis, of Lilburn, Ga., with Comprent Motorsports; Scott Dick, of Cincinnati, Ohio; Brett Harrison, of Everett, Wash.; Jacek Mucha, of Laval, Quebec, with Orion Racing; Joe Tesone, of Wildwood, Pa.; Greg Schings, of Lexington, Ky., with SR Racings; and Tom Wood, of Calgary, Alberta, with Round-Up Resource.

Another rookie to watch in the upcoming year has a name familiar to North American race fans -- Arie Luyendyk Jr., of Scottsdale, Ariz. Racing under the Luyendyk Enterprises banner, Luyendyk Jr., will compete in a 2000 Van Diemen Ford prepared by 1996 Championship-winning engineer Dan Campbell. Luyendyk Jr., 18, has run Formula Fords in the United States since graduating to cars from karts in 1998.

Other top rookies are Paul Lasko, of Roseville, Mich.; Paul Marciano Jr., of Glendale, Ariz., with Vector Formula Racing USA; Cliff Pickett Jr., of Jamestown, R.I., with Heritage Motorsports; and JW Urlin, of London, Ontario, with OTM Motorsports.

In addition to the drivers mentioned, race winners Key Motorsports and Richard Morgan Racing look set to compete in 2000, and are currently finalizing driver lineups.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Jacek Mucha , Aaron Justus , Tom Wood , Scott Dick , Andrew Davis , Mike Johnson , Tommy Constantine , Augie Pabst III , Bryce Miller , Billy Asaro , Tony Buffomante , Brett Harris , Tom Dyer , Arie Luyendyk Jr. , Michael Curtis
Teams Formula Racing