Mahadik announces BRDC F4 season for 2016

Indian Krishnaraaj Mahadik will make his international racing debut in 2016, in the BRDC F4 championship, the organisers announced.

The Mumbaikar will drive for the race winning team Chris Dittmann Racing this year, as he steps up the ladder in junior formulae.

The 17-year-old will miss the first round at Snetterton due to school commitments and will make his BRDC F4 debut in the second round at Brands Hatch.

Upon the announcement, Mahadik said: "It feels great to sign up for the 2016 BRDC Formula 4 Championship."

"I was impressed with Chris Dittmann Racing’s performance in 2015 and that definitely attracted me to the team, so I am looking forward to a good season.

"Moving into BRDC F4 is definitely a good step in my career; the new Tatuus-Cosworth is an amazing machine, very quick and I’m excited to drive it," he added.

The Indian competed in the Indian Formula BMW championship [JK Tyre series] in 2015, finishing third, notching up a win and four podiums.

In his first year in a major single-seater racing in India, Mahadik impressed everyone with his race craft.

Team principal Chris Dittmann commented: "It’s fantastic to complete our line-up for 2016 and we’re really pleased to welcome Krishnaraaj to the team."

"We have been in discussions for a while now and it’s great to confirm him as our final driver for the season.

"With his previous race experience in India, I’m sure it won’t take long for him to get to grips with the car and UK circuits," he added.

Dittmann is confident that Mahadik will be up to speed despite missing the first race. “Unfortunately, Krishnaraaj is unable to take part in the first race meeting due to school exams back in India.

"However with a strong testing programme arranged I’m confident he will hit the ground running when he gets to Brands Hatch for the second round.

"It’s great to have all three drivers signed well before the start of the championship and I believe we have a very strong driver line-up.”

Mahadik's announcement means, for the first time, the championship will have three Indian racers competing at the same time.

He joins fellow countrymen Akhil Rabindra [Lanan Racing] and Ameya Vaidyanathan [Carlin].

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel , BF3
Article type Breaking news