FPAUDI: Snetterton: Round eight race notes

BRIDGMAN OVER TROUBLED WATER! Tim closes points gap to two with Round 8 win Tim Bridgman took his second successive win the the eighth round of the 2007 Visma Formula Palmer Audi Championship at Snetterton, conquering the field in torrential...

Tim closes points gap to two with Round 8 win

Tim Bridgman took his second successive win the the eighth round of the 2007 Visma Formula Palmer Audi Championship at Snetterton, conquering the field in torrential rain to close within two points of Luciano Bacheta at the top of the table.

Due to the conditions, the first three laps of 18 were run behind the safety car, with Tom Bradshaw leading off as the race got underway. Bridgman wasted little time taking the lead, making a robust move up the inside at Riches, which forced Bradshaw to take to the grass. The Lancashire hotshot was unhappy about the move, which led to him finishing 12th: "I gave him enough room, but as the saying goes, give an inch and he'll take a mile."

Bridgman kept in control throughout the race, leaving his spin while leading Round 6 behind him to take victory from Stefan Wilson by 10 seconds. "The spray was absolutely awful, and I did initially want the race to be stopped, but I made the best of what I had. I knew I'd have to get past Tom early, so I had to make the move straight away."

Wilson took second, putting him just five points of the championship lead, and was delighted at the result. "It's been the wettest conditions I've raced in in cars, so to get second and be right up at the top of the leaderboard is just fantastic."

Also, Stefan's former F1 driver and FPA Champion brother Justin, on hand to support him this weekend, was equally impressed at the 17-year-old's efforts. "He's put in some good controlled performances, which is great considering his lack of experience, and while he's got a lot to learn, he's doing a fantastic job."

Third and a first car racing podium went to Richard Kent, who kept a cool head throughout, but had a hairy moment late on when he was forced to take to the grass on the penultimate lap when lapping Derrick Collin. "There was about as much room as there was visibility, plus I locked up, so I got away with that one, but I'm happy to be on the podium this early in the season" he said.

Alex Brundle took an impressive fourth at his home track, but one of the stars of the race was Luciano Bacheta, who produced a scintillating drive from 19th on the grid to take fifth and hang on to his championship lead. "That was incredibly difficult, and the first few laps were a bit scary! I got past a lot of people, but it's still a little disappointing that I was in the position in the first place." said the teenager.

Dominik Jackson fought his way up through the field with Bacheta, taking sixth from 18th on the grid after passing Jason Moore on the final lap. Richard Plant came in eighth, with Ivan Lukashevich completing a successful debut FPA weekend in ninth and Jolyon Palmer rounding out the top 10.

Formula Palmer Audi - Round 8 Result <pre> 1. Tim Bridgman 18 laps in 26m20.590s 2. Stefan Wilson +8.845s 3. Richard Kent +20.010s 4. Alex Brundle +23.241s 5. Luciano Bacheta +27.134s 6. Dominik Jackson +31.662s 7. Jason Moore +35.399s 8. Richard Plant +40.786s 9. Ivan Lukashevich +42.636s 10. Jolyon Palmer +43.939s 11. Doros Loucaides +1m03.085s 12. Tom Bradshaw +1m05.620s 13. Jack Clarke +1m06.938s 14. Nik Iruwan +1m21.609s 15. Chris Chubb +1 Lap 16. Derrick Collin +1 Lap 17. Alan Kempson +1 Lap 18. Jeremy Preddy +2 Laps

Did Not Finish Mark Powell 5 Laps Completed Max Snegirev 4 Laps Completed Russell Small 4 Laps Completed Chris Bell 3 Laps Completed

Fastest Lap -- Tim Bridgman, Lap 7 -- 1m19.752s

FPA Points Standings after 8 of 20 Rounds 1. Luciano Bacheta 145 2. Tim Bridgman 143 3. Stefan Wilson 140 4. Jolyon Palmer 94 5. Richard Plant 89 6. Jason Moore 85 7. Jack Clarke 83 8. Richard Kent 80 9. Dominik Jackson 74 10. Tom Bradshaw 73 11. Chris Chubb 72 12. Alex Brundle 66 13. Chris Bell 59 14. Nik Iruwan 52 15. Giacomo Petrobelli 51 16. Derrick Collin 36 17. Russell Small 35 18. Mark Powell 30 19. Doros Loucaides 28 20Ivan Lukashevich 24 20Jeremy Preddy 24 20Matt Hamilton 24 23. Alan Kempson 15 24. Max Snegirev 14 25. Andy Demetriou 13 </pre> The next rounds of Formula Palmer Audi take place on 8/9/10 June at Brands Hatch, supporting the mighty DTM touring cars on the Indy circuit. Advance tickets are now available from £25 for adults, with children aged 12 and under being admitted free. For more information and to book, visit www.brandshatch.co.uk.

-credit: fpa

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Drivers Mark Powell , Jack Clarke , Giacomo Petrobelli , Stefan Wilson , Richard Kent , Luciano Bacheta , Max Snegirev , Alex Brundle , Jason Moore , Jolyon Palmer , Richard Plant , Ivan Lukashevich , Chris Bell