WSORR: Crandon: Rounds three, four preview

WSORR VISITS OFF-ROAD RACING'S "BIG HOUSE" FOR ROUNDS III & IV CRANDON, Wisc., June 16, 2008 The Lucas Oil World Series of Off-Road Racing (WSORR) pays its first visit of Tour 2008 to famed Crandon International Off-Road Raceway for the Forest...


CRANDON, Wisc., June 16, 2008 The Lucas Oil World Series of Off-Road Racing (WSORR) pays its first visit of Tour 2008 to famed Crandon International Off-Road Raceway for the Forest County Potawatomi Brush Run Races June 21-22. The big weekend also features the 15th annual FCP Chairman's Cup Challenge, the longest running big money off-road Cup race in the country. Top off-road racers nationwide will descend on the small Wisconsin community with the big track and another record-setting crowd is expected to be on hand to watch the battles in 11 truck, SUV and buggy classes.

Much of the focus will be on the PRO World Series classes led by highly anticipated clashes in the PRO 2WD and PRO Light Pickup contests. Defending WSORR PRO 2WD champion Scott Taylor of Belvidere, Ill., in his Skyjacker BFG Ford will have his hands full with a talented field including veteran Dan "The Flying Dutchman" Vanden Heuvel in a Maxxis Chevy who was on the podium twice in the first two rounds of WSORR action in this, his 30th year of racing. Kevin Probst, also with three decades behind the off-road steering wheel in the Lucas Oil E3 Sparkplugs Toyo Chevy, had a wild crash in Round I action at the Lucas Oil Speedway in Missouri but put his truck back together to finish second in Round II.

PRO 2WD newcomer Dave Waldvogel landed on the podium in his first action in the class in his Bendix Toyo Chevy and was also the first to register for the 2008 Chairman's Cup Challenge which features the best of WSORR 2WD and 4x4 competitors in a the big dollar shootout-style race. A notable rookie stepping into the Crandon battleground for the first time is Mark Jenkins, Plano, Tex., in his Jenkins Bros. Racing Traxxas 800 HP race pickup.

Jeff Kincaid, of Argonne, Wisc., got his 2008 season off to a quick start by winning both of the first two rounds in the PRO Light Pickup class in his Traxxas Potawatomi BFG Toyota. Kincaid is particularly tough to beat at Crandon Raceway, his home track, as he won three of the four races at the high-speed track last year. Defending class champion Chad Hord will lead the field attempting to slow Kincaid down along with the two drivers trailing Kincaid in the points, Lee O'Donnell and Mark Oberg. Oberg is a native of nearby Eagle River, Wisc., and is another crowd favorite and looks strong this season.

The PRO 4x4 defending champion, Johnny Greaves, of Abrams, Wisc., will pilot his Monster Potawatomi BFG Toyota around a track he too has had great success at in the past. The Pride of the South, Kent Brascho, Pell City, Ala., will be in contention at Crandon in his Lucas Goodyear Chevy. Al Drew is third in the PRO 4x4 points standings but another Jenkins Bros. Racing newcomer Mike Jenkins will look to be the first rookie to ever win the FCP Chairman's Cup in his powerful and colorful high performance 900 HP Traxxas pickup.

The PRO Super Buggy points race is, as expected, already extremely tight as Tim Lemons of Harrison Twp., Mich., has just a two point lead over John Mason and defending class champion Gary Nierop. Nierop won Round I in his Goodyear buggy and Lemons took the Round II victory also on Goodyears. Mason was a solid second in both rounds in his Mendeola Goodyear Honda.

The WSORR SRT, or Sportsman Division, will feature a Stock Super Truck battle between defending class champion Ben Wandahsega, of Bark River, Mich., and current points leader Dan Baudoux. Baudoux took the opening round Super Truck win in his Mole Lake Casino BFG Ford with Wandahsega winning Round II in the FC Potawatomi Toyo Chevy. Plus, a record 2008 FCP Chairman's Cup purse for Super Truck racers looms large for drivers in this class.

For the first time in more than a year, there's a new leader on top the Stock Truck class points race. Defending champion Scott Beauchamp dominated the action in 2007 winning half of the races but is tied for fourth and it's Craig Metz of Rhinelander, Wisc., who drove his Able Distribution BFG Ford to the Round I win and the points lead. Dan Beauchamp in his Amsoil Goodyear Ford took the Round II victory and is tied for second in the points.

Only two points separate the top competitors in the 1600 Buggy class as Terry Fitzgerald took the Round I win in a Goodyear machine but trails Mark Steinhardt of Rhinelander, Wisc., who was the Round II victor in his BFG buggy. It's the same margin for Jeff Virnig of Oregon, Wisc., in the 1600 Buggy class points race thanks to his Round I victory. Greg Stingle sits second in the points and Round II winner Mike Vanden Heuvel is fourth.

In SRT Formula 4x4 action, Jim Ridderbush, of Appleton, Wisc., is two points ahead of defending class champ Dave DeMaegd as they split the first two rounds. The Forest County Potawatomi Brush Run Races also feature the 2008 WSORR kickoff of the Grassroots Division as both the Classix and Enduro classes will be in action.

Race action at Crandon Raceway begins Saturday morning and continues throughout the weekend concluding with the intense 15th Annual FCP Chairman's Cup Challenge race. The wide-open, high-speed World Series of Off-Road Racing features a $100,000 posted race purse at every 2008 event. Nationwide coverage of World Series events airs on SPEED TV. More information on WSORR is available on the web at

-credit: wsorr

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Taylor , Kevin Probst , Johnny Greaves , Jeff Kincaid , Chad Hord