CORR: MacCachren, Taylor, Kincaid claim Championships at Topeka

MacCachren, Taylor and Kincaid re-claim their championships Topeka, Kan. (September 23, 2001) - Pro-4 driver Rob MacCachren, Pro-2 driver Scott Taylor and Pro-Lite driver Jeff Kincaid successfully defended their championships in the 2001 CORR ...

MacCachren, Taylor and Kincaid re-claim their championships

Topeka, Kan. (September 23, 2001) - Pro-4 driver Rob MacCachren, Pro-2 driver Scott Taylor and Pro-Lite driver Jeff Kincaid successfully defended their championships in the 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Pro Series.  This was the first time in Championship Off-Road Racing history that all three Pro division champions defended their trophies in the same year.  For MacCachren and Taylor, their championships were decided following Round 15 at the O'Reilly Finals at Heartland Park Topeka.  It took Round 16 for Kincaid to finalize his 2001 Pro-Lite championship.

Taylor won his third consecutive Pro-2 championship (1999-2001) by winning seven rounds of racing this season.  The only flaw Taylor had in 2001 was in Round 15 when his transmission broke.  Other than that round, his EXXON Superflo Ford did not finish below third place in 14 of the 16 rounds. 

"I was focused and dedicated 100% to racing and the preparation of my EXXON Superflo Ford," said Taylor.

Taylor indicated that winning does not get old, and he will always race hard.  Taylor now has 24 wins in 66 career Championship Off-Road Racing starts.

"In the spirit and passion of racing, every race is the same.  Being a hard core racer, I like to race hard every race, at every moment," he said. 

In Round 15, Carl Renezeder's Lucas Oil Chevrolet took advantage when Taylor and Evan Evans' GM Hydra-Matic Chevrolet broke early.  In Round 16, Renezeder finished third behind Dan Vanden Heuvel and winner Kevin Probst.  In his final eight rounds, Renezeder had two wins and seven top-three finishes.  Probst's Quick 'n Brite/GM Hydra-Matic Chevrolet's win in Round 16 was his second in 2001. 

Rob MacCachren and his TrailMaster Ford solidified his 2001 championship when he won for the third time in a row in Round 15.  In 2000 and 2001, MacCachren never relinquished his first place position. He finished the year with 9 victories.

"We thought the best thing to do was to stay with what we had and make as little changes as possible (from 2000 to 2001) and work on our reliability," said MacCachren."

MacCachren's steady driving the last two years brought his career victory total to 22 in 66 starts.  He will be up for the task in 2002 when he will continue his defense of the Pro-4 championship.

"The consistency is there and we want to keep going with it, and keep the momentum," said MacCachren.  "That is what happened to us this year."

In Round 16 of the Pro-4 division, Johnny Greaves' Forest County Potawatomi took the checkered flag for the third time this season when he finished ahead of MacCachren and Jason Baldwin. 

Kincaid's 2001 championship was vastly different than his record year in 2000.  In Tour 2000, Kincaid won 12 out of 18 rounds and won the championship by 53 points.  Kincaid and his Forest County Potawatomi Team labored in 2001, but the final result was a championship.  He finished the year with four wins and 9 top-five finishes. 

"This is the first time I couldn't wait until the end of the season, just to get this cloud up from over us," said Kincaid.  The cream still came to the top and we held on to the championship, and we can display the #1 for one more year."

After Round 15 in the Pro-Lite division, Kincaid's lead was trimmed to three points over Rick Huseman, 191 to 188.  In Round 16, Kincaid and Huseman started side-by-side in the seventh and eighth positions.  Just 11 points behind Kincaid, Steve Federico also had a chance to catch Kincaid and Huseman in the final round with a good finish.      

When he was attempting to pass Kincaid on the first lap, Huseman slid off the track, which allowed Kincaid to increase his lead over Huseman.  Huseman was unable to catch up with Kincaid, who took third place behind Jimmie and Jason Crowder.  Jason Crowder swept Rounds 15 and 16.  On the year, Jason Crowder had four victories and placed fifth in the year end points.  Backed by a sponsorship with Fabtech Motorsports, Huseman competed for the entire season for the first time.  He finished the year with five victories and 10 top-five finishes.  Huseman ended the season six points behind Kincaid, 205 to 198. 

In the Sportsman 2 division, Mike Oberg and his Dynomax Chevrolet won his first Sportsman 2 championship.  Oberg, who was winless since Round 9, built a lead early in the season that propelled him to the championship.  He finished the year with 6 wins and 15 top-five finishes.  Dan Baudoux won for the fifth time in Round 15.  In his final seven rounds, Dan Baudoux and his Team Tech Ford picked up three victories and three second-place finishes, but could not catch Oberg, who won 246 to 210.  In Round 16, Michael Savage won for the first time in 25 career starts by holding off Baudoux and Ben Wandahsega. 

Although Mark Kleiman already claimed the Stock championship after Round 14 in Crandon, several drivers were competing for year-end positioning.  In Round 15, Jeff Lutzow won for the first time in his career.  He finished ahead of Don Williams and John Konitzer.  In Round 16, Ross Hoek received his second victory of the year by holding off Williams.  Kleiman's 2001 Stock championship included nine wins and 11 top-five finishes.  With his nine wins this year, Kleiman is now the all time victory leader in the division with 14 in 25 starts.  Williams finished second in the division, 23 points behind Kleiman, 218 to 195.   

Super Buggy champion Scott Schwalbe's victory in Round 15 was his sixth of the year.  Schwalbe now has 11 Super Buggy wins in 46 starts, and passed Chad Hord for the most Super Buggy wins in a career.  In Round 16, Corry Heynen placed first for the fourth time in 2001.  Heynen finished the year in second place.  Schwalbe's final margin of victory was 68 points, 230 to 162. 

In the Single Buggy division, Mark Steinhardt and Michael Seefeldt battled back and forth all year long.  Of Steinhardt's 10 wins in 2001, Seefeldt finished second in seven of those rounds.  After Round 15, Steinhardt and Seefeldt were tied with the lead at 220 points apiece.  The final round of the season (Round 16) ended like many of their epic battles in 2001.  Steinhardt would hold off Seefeldt for the win, and the 2001 Single Buggy championship.  The final margin of victory was four points, 240 to 236.  In Round 15, Steve Socha claimed his second win of the 2001 season when he finished ahead of John Svanda.  Steinhardt's championship was the first of his Championship Off-Road Racing career. 

Although he did not win until Round 15, John Huven finished with nine top-three finishes in 2001 to help him win the Light Buggy championship.  He beat Paul Bort 205 to 171 in the final point standings.  In Round 16, Curt Gerald took the checkered flag for the third time this year, just ahead of Paul Bort. 

In the Manufacturer Points results, Ford won the Pro-4 division with 1052 points, Chevrolet claimed the Pro-2 championship with 1335 points, and Toyota had 877 points to win the Pro-Lite division.  In the inaugural Kumho Tire Rookie of the Year award, Pro-Lite driver Steve Federico won in the Pro division with1 victory and a total of 191 points.  Super Buggy driver Scott Peterson won the Sportsman rookie of the year with two wins and 117 total points.  The Precision Gear driver of the Year award will be announced later this week.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Evan Evans , Scott Taylor , Jason Crowder , Rick Huseman , Rob MacCachren , Jason Baldwin , Johnny Greaves , Steve Federico , Mark Stein , Jeff Kincaid , Chad Hord
Teams Williams