CORR: Lake Odessa summary

Carl Renezeder takes control at the I-96 Speedway in the CORR Lucas Oil Series Lake Odessa, MI (May 22, 2005)-It has only been two rounds, but Carl Renezeder swept Rounds 1 and 2 in the Pro-4 division at the I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa,...

Carl Renezeder takes control at the I-96 Speedway in the CORR Lucas Oil Series

Lake Odessa, MI (May 22, 2005)-It has only been two rounds, but Carl Renezeder swept Rounds 1 and 2 in the Pro-4 division at the I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan to take an early 40-30 division lead over division rival Curt LeDuc. Warm, sunny weather for Round 1 brought a fast track, but the sun was replaced with rain and cool weather in Round 2, causing difficult track conditions for all eight divisions in the CORR Lucas Oil Series.

In Round 1, defending champion Jason Baldwin drew the pole position in a random draw, and easily took the lead in his Filger Manufacturing Ford. On the fourth lap, Renezeder passed Baldwin, and built a substantial lead to hold on for the win.

In Round 2, it was Johnny Greaves who bolted to the front, but on the first lap, he rolled over, giving Josh Baldwin an open door for the lead. Baldwin maintained the lead for several laps, but Renezeder was able to take the lead from Baldwin nearly half-way through the race. With two 2nd place finishes, Curt LeDuc solidified 2nd place after two rounds. Brothers Josh and Jason Baldwin are tied for third-place with 26 points.

Starting where he left off last season, 6-time defending Pro-2 champion Scott Taylor passed Kevin Probst with four laps remaining to claim his 39th career Pro-2 victory in Round 1. Josh Baldwin finished behind Taylor for 2nd place, and Scott Douglas, competing for the first time in the Pro-2 division finished 3rd.

In Round 2, Evan Evans bounced back from a 12th place finish in Round 1 to take the win. Steve Barlow held off Evans as long as he could, but Evans powered past Barlow on the third lap, never relinquishing the lead. After finishing 3rd in Round 1, Douglas finished 2nd in Round 2 with a solid performance. Taylor moved up to third place during the race, but he spun out, moving him back, eventually placing 5th. Brian Hinman had his best career finish in the division, placing 3rd in Round 2. In the Pro-2 standings after the first two rounds, Taylor has a 31-30 lead over Douglas, with Josh Baldwin in third with 25 points.

Chad Hord picked up his first Pro-Lite victory since 2002 with a win in Round 1. Hord led the first five laps before Jeff Kincaid took over first. Hord re-gained the number one position with three laps to go to hold off Steve Federico, who jumped from 4th place to 2nd on the final lap.

Kincaid would get his revenge in Round 2, taking the lead on Lap 1, holding that place the rest of the way. Kincaid, who was plagued with bad luck several times in 2004, earned his 32nd career Pro-Lite victory. Again, Federico fell back early in the Round, but recovered to finish 2nd for the second time in the first two rounds. Stacey Pike and Randy Eller both had career-best finishes in Round 2. Pike placed 3rd, and Eller 4th. In the standings following two rounds, Kincaid and Federico are tied for the lead with 32 points a piece. Hord is in third with 25, with Pike (24) and Eller (20) rounding out the top-five.

In the Sportsman 2 division, defending champion Dan Baudoux had a convincing win in Round 1 over Ben Wandahsega, but revenge was sweet for Wandahsega, who claimed his first Sportsman 2 win since 2003 with a victory in Round 2, over Baudoux. Wandahsega's win was the first for Toyo Tires in Championship Off Road Racing. Mike Savage had a 3rd place finish in each round. Baudoux & Wandahsega are tied with 36 points each in the division, with Savage in 3rd (28 points).

After winning the Sportsman Precision Gear Driver of the Year last season, Stock driver Scott Beauchamp won his first career CORR race in Round 1. Beauchamp followed his victory in Round 1 with a 2nd place finish in Round 2, placing behind Keith Steele, who took the checkered flag in Round 2. Don Demeny finished third in both rounds. Beauchamp leads the division after two rounds, 36 to 32 over Steele, the defending division champion.

Aided by a victory in Round 1 and a 2nd place finish in Round 2, Aaron Hawley has a 36-30 lead over Mike Geiser in the Super Buggy division. In Round 2, Scott Schwalbe bounced back from a 16th place finish to win for the 20th time in his CORR career. Geiser finished 2nd in Round 2 and 3rd in Round 3. Herman Barnum (22 points) is in third place after the first two rounds.

John Fitzgerald (Round 1) and Michael Seefeldt (Round 2) each picked up a victory in the Single Buggy division, but with a 4th place finish in Round 1 and a 3rd place finish in Round 2, Terry Fitzgerald has an early one- point lead over Mark Steinhardt (26-25) after the first two rounds. Seefeldt, Brad Erickson and John Fitzgerald are tied in 3rd with 23 points.

Tracy Peebles won for the first time in his CORR Light Buggy career in Round 2, when he held off defending champion Ben O'Connell. O'Connell won Round 1, with Steve Oman finishing 2nd. Oman's finish was his best career finish in the division. After the first two rounds, O'Connell has a 36 to 27 lead over Peebles, with Jeff Virnig in 3rd with 26 points.

Championship Off Road Racing will return to Antigo, Wisconsin on June 11-12 for Rounds 3 & 4 of the 2005 CORR Lucas Oil Series. For more information visit


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Curt LeDuc , Evan Evans , Scott Taylor , Kevin Probst , Jason Baldwin , Johnny Greaves , Steve Federico , Mark Stein , Jeff Kincaid , Chad Hord