CORR: Fort Dodge day one report

CORR EXXON Superflo Series returns with a vengeance to Fort Dodge Fort Dodge, Iowa (May 20, 2001)The fans at the Midwest Off-Road Raceway in Fort Dodge, Iowa were ready for the rumble of 800 horsepower pick-up trucks soaring through the air and...

CORR EXXON Superflo Series returns with a vengeance to Fort Dodge

Fort Dodge, Iowa (May 20, 2001)The fans at the Midwest Off-Road Raceway in Fort Dodge, Iowa were ready for the rumble of 800 horsepower pick-up trucks soaring through the air and kicking up dirt when the 2001 season of the CORR EXXON Superflo Series made its season debut on May 19.

In the EXXON Superflo Pro Series, seven rookies started their professional racing career in Round 1, including five in the Pro-Lite division. Pro-Lite drivers Steve Federico (2000 Single Buggy Champion), Chad Hord (2000 Super Buggy Champion), along with racing veteran Jimmie Crowder, as well as Joe Price and Tom Hoppock experienced their first professional off-road race at perhaps the fastest track in Championship Off-Road Racing.

Sixteen Pro-Lite trucks started in Round 1, the largest field ever assembled in that division. Rick Huseman's Fabtech Ford raced to the early lead and was dominating the track, opening up a sizeable lead over the field. Heading into the straightaway on the back part of the track with full power, his truck immediately stalled. He lost his transmission, which allowed Jason Crowder and his Wicked Willies Ford to take the lead and win the first round.

Chris Brandt, the only Iowa driver competing in the CORR EXXON Superflo Series, finished second, but was penalized five points in the season point standings for an illegal front bumper. Brandt, from Council Bluffs, is competing in his third season. His Toyota Tacoma gained speed as the race went to the second half, showing that his truck will be strong in 2001. In 2000, he finished in second place with 18 starts and two victories, one at Fort Dodge (Round 7) and Indianapolis (Round 13). Rookie Steve Federico, in his Ingles Market Toyota, finished third, and Jimmie Crowder finished fourth. 2000 Pro-Lite champion Jeff Kincaid finished 12th.

In the Pro-2 division, Scott Taylor and Evan Evans are starting the season where it left off in 2000. Taylor blistered to the front, followed quickly by Carl Renezeder and Evans.

After Evans passed Renezeder's Lucas Oil Chevrolet, his GM Hydra-Matic Transmission Chevrolet was gaining ground quickly-heading right for Taylor's EXXON Superflo Ford.

The fans roared with anticipation when Evans was rubbing Taylor's back bumper, which was a familiar scene several times last season. Evans, one of the more popular drivers, is paralyzed from the chest down, and drives using hand controls.

With the race over half over, Evans took a few shots, but was unable to pass Taylor. When both drivers came down the straightaway side-by-side, Evans had the opportunity, and briefly took the lead when they made the first turn before Taylor relinquished the lead heading to the second turn. Entering the most dangerous part of Midwest Off-Road Raceway, Evans disappeared down into a steep banking, and re-appeared in the lead. As the crowd responded, what they did not realize was Evans passed Taylor in a yellow-flag zone, which is illegal. When Evans accepted his black-flag penalty, which is a five-second stop and go, his truck stalled during that time, which left Taylor in the lead. Taylor held on and picked up the victory, the 18th of his career.

Defending his 2000 Pro-4 championship Rob MacCachren and his TrailMaster Ford will not go away easy in 2001. He was able to hold off Jason Baldwin's Filger Manufacturing Ford, Curt LeDuc's NAPA Chassis Ford, and Adrian Cenni's Atrium Staffing Chevy to claim his 14th career victory.

Baldwin's second-place finish was the best of his career. Scott Douglas' RANCHO Ford looked strong starting the race, and was gaining ground before he hit a hole after coming out of turn two, which put his truck on its side. He was able to continue, and placed seventh. Rookie Kent Brascho from Pell City, Alabama started his Championship Off-Road Racing career with a fifth place finish.

The Sportsman Division saw familiar names in the winners circle in Round 1, as Ben O'Connell (Light Buggy), Michael Seefeldt (Single Buggy), Todd Wallace (Super Buggy), Mark Kleiman (Stock), and Mike Oberg (Sportsman 2) each claimed victory. Combined, these five drivers have 21 career victories. Seefeldt now has 11 wins in 32 starts, placing him first on the career wins list in the Single Buggy division.

Round 2 of the CORR EXXON Superflo Series was postponed due to inclement weather. As a result, three rounds will take place when the series returns to Fort Dodge on July 28 and 29. More information will be posted at a later date, so please stay tuned to the CORR website at

The CORR EXXON Superflo Series will head to Antigo, Wisconsin for the next event, which will take place at Langlade County Fairgrounds on June 9 and 10. For ticket information, please call 1-888-526-4523, or visit


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Curt LeDuc , Evan Evans , Scott Taylor , Jason Crowder , Jimmie Crowder , Rick Huseman , Rob MacCachren , Jason Baldwin , Steve Federico , Jeff Kincaid , Chad Hord