CORR: Exxon Superflo Series Champion's Banquet preview

Championship Off-Road Racing celebrates 1.5 million dollar year at the 2001 Champion's Banquet Indianapolis, IN (November 21, 2001) -- The 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Series will culminate by honoring the 2001 Pro and Sportsman champions at ...

Championship Off-Road Racing celebrates 1.5 million dollar year at the 2001 Champion's Banquet

Indianapolis, IN (November 21, 2001) -- The 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Series will culminate by honoring the 2001 Pro and Sportsman champions at the annual Champions Banquet.  Putting aside the competitive atmosphere of racing for one night, the eight CORR champions, including three drivers who successfully defended their 2000 championships and five first time winners, will celebrate the evening with their sponsors and competitors.  The champion's checks will cap a year in which CORR paid out over $500,000 in cash with another 1 million dollars available in contingency awards.      

The banquet will take place in Indianapolis, Indiana at the Adam's Mark Hotel located at the Indianapolis Airport.  The 2001 CORR Champions Banquet will be in the Hall of Champions Banquet Room on Saturday, December 1, 2001, starting at 6:00 p.m.  ESPN's Marty Reid is the Master of Ceremonies for the event. 

"Everyone involved, the racers, officials and sponsors work so hard during the year, the banquet is the only moment that we can come together to celebrate not only the race season, but as September 11th showed us all, celebrate life," said CORR Director of Marketing Jamie Devney.   

During its fourth year, Championship Off-Road Racing continued a growing trend.  In the 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Series, 216 drivers competed in the eight divisions (53 Pro Drivers, 163 Sportsman), representing 21 different states and Canada. 

Three new sponsors joined the EXXON Superflo Series.  American Racing Custom Wheels returned in 2001 as an Associate and Contingency Sponsor, GM Hydra-Matic Transmission came forward as an Associate Sponsor and was showcased in the Pro-2 trucks of Evan Evans, Larry Gourlie, and Kevin Probst.  Kumho Tires sponsored the Rookie of the Year award as well as offering contingency money to the drivers running with Kumho Tires.  

For the second consecutive year, Rob MacCachren (Pro-4), Scott Taylor (Pro-2), and Jeff Kincaid (Pro-Lite) will hold the trophy as the top Pro drivers.  In 2001, MacCachren had nine wins and 14 top-five finishes.  In his four year CORR career, MacCachren has 22 wins in 66 starts, and is the leader in all-time Pro-4 wins.

Taylor's year included 7 wins and 14 finishes in the top-three in 16 starts.  Taylor, the reigning Pro-2 champion for three consecutive years from 1999 through 2001, now has 24 wins, which is one victory shy of John Greaves record of 25 wins in a CORR career. 

Kincaid's year did not mirror his record setting season of 2000, but he persevered through 4 wins in 16 starts, to win the Pro-Lite championship by seven points over Rick Huseman.  Kincaid moved closer to Greaves' record of 21 Pro-Lite wins.  Kincaid has 18 wins in 66 starts. 

Each division in the CORR EXXON Superflo Sportsman Series will crown new champions.  Mike Oberg (Sportsman 2), Mark Kleiman (Stock), Scott Schwalbe (Super Buggy), Mark Steinhardt (Single Buggy), and John Huven (Light Buggy) will represent their division as champions for the first time in 2002.

Five year-end awards will be announced during the CORR Champions banquet, including the Manufacturer Championship Awards, the Pro and Sportsman Kumho Tire Rookie of the Year, the GM Powertrain Mechanic of the Year award, the Pro and Sportsman Precision Gear Driver of the Year award, and the Michael Gaughan award. 

For the second year in a row, Ford, Chevrolet and Toyota earned the top Manufacturer Awards.  Ford won the Pro-4 division with 1052 points, Chevrolet claimed the Pro-2 championship with 1335 points, and Toyota had 877 points to win the Pro-Lite division.   

Steve Federico (Pro-Lite) and Scott Peterson (Super Buggy) earned the inaugural Kumho Tire Rookie of the Year honors.  Federico finished third in the Pro-Lite division with 1 win and 12 top-five finishes.  Peterson joined the Quick 'n Brite team as their Super Buggy driver.  He earned the Kumho Tire Rookie of the Year honor with two wins and five top-five finishes. 

Pro-2 champion Scott Taylor and Single Buggy driver Michael Seefeldt will take home checks from Precision Gear, who is honoring them as the top drivers in the Pro and Sportsman Series.  Taylor (2001 Pro-2 champion with 7 wins and 14 top-three finishes) edged out Rob MacCachren 442 to 436 to claim the award.  Seefeldt finished the year with one win and 13 top-three finishes, and placed second in the division.  The recipients of the GM Powertrain Mechanic of the Year as well as the esteemed Michael Gaughan Award will be announced at the banquet.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Evan Evans , Scott Taylor , Rick Huseman , Rob MacCachren , Steve Federico , Mark Stein , Jeff Kincaid