CORR: Dresser Spring event results

Johnny Greaves begins his Pro-4 defense by sweeping the first two rounds of the 2003 CORR Lucas Oil Series Dresser, WI (May 26, 2003)-Combining a short course with plenty of obstacles and huge differences in elevation gave the drivers of the ...

Johnny Greaves begins his Pro-4 defense by sweeping the first two rounds of the 2003 CORR Lucas Oil Series

Dresser, WI (May 26, 2003)-Combining a short course with plenty of obstacles and huge differences in elevation gave the drivers of the CORR Lucas Oil Series a perspective they have not seen in quite some time.

With as many as twenty vehicles on the half-mile off-road course at the Trollhaugen Ski Area in Dresser Wisconsin, the tricky course provided a frenzied pace and non-stop racing action as the CORR Lucas Oil Series began the 2003 campaign.

In the Pro-4 division, Johnny Greaves started his defense of the Pro-4 trophy by sweeping the first two rounds of the season. In both rounds, Greaves started from the back of the field, having to move in front of several trucks. Greaves' Forest County Potawatomi Toyota Tundra performed flawlessly in Round 1, where he started in the 7th position, eventually taking the checkers. In Round 2, Greaves had a slow start, but his Toyota meticulously moved toward the front of the pack.

Carl Renezeder's Lucas Oil Chevrolet had the best start in Round 2, benefiting from the number one starting position. Renezeder maintained a steady lead as the race reached the half-way mark. Renezeder's Lucas Oil Chevrolet was moving around the track uncontested until he lost a left front tire coming off a jump. While Renezeder's team fell prey to bad luck, Greaves had to work his magic again, taking the lead in the second- half of the race. After winning the checkered flag, the defending Pro-4 champion took home his second win of the season and his 30th career Championship Off Road Racing victory.

Scott Douglas' RANCHO Ford started the season with a third-place finish in Round 1 and after briefly losing his second-place position in Round 2, he gained it back and stands alone in second-place. Greaves' lead over Douglas in the Pro-4 division is ten points, 40 to 30.

Scott Taylor and Dan Vanden Heuvel used their skill and expertise on the short course, each taking home a win in the Pro-2 division. Taylor is seeking his fifth consecutive Pro-2 championship in his Mobil 1 Ford. For Vanden Heuvel, his win in Round 1 was his first since Round 17 in 2000. He also became the first Pro-2 truck on Kumho Tires to post a victory.

In Round 2, Taylor bolted to the front, never looking back on the rest of the field. After he finished third in Round 1, Taylor's 29th career Pro-2 win moved him into second-place following Round 2, two points behind Vanden Heuvel, 36 to 34. Carl Renezeder's Lucas Oil Chevrolet is currently third with 30 points, following a second-place (Round 1) and third-place (Round 2) finish.

After he narrowly lost the Pro-Lite championship to eventual champion Jeff Kincaid the last two years, Rick Huseman is in good position to contend for the title in 2003. Huseman won for the 13th time in his career in Round 2, and has a 31 to 28 lead over Chad Hord. In 2002, Pro-Lite driver Rodney Van Eperen had four starts and three top-four finishes during his short tenure. He started the 2003 season by holding off defending champion Jeff Kincaid to earn his first career Championship Off Road Racing win. He drew the second position on the grid, giving him a front row starting position. Hord's BOSS Snowplow Toyota had two third-place finishes in both rounds. Three-time defending Pro-Lite champion Jeff Kincaid finished second in Round 1, but struggled in Round 2, placing 11th. Kincaid is currently in a tie for fourth place (21 points) with Joe Wutke III, one of the newest members of Arts Schmitt's Nissan Frontier team.

With 2002 Sportsman 2 champion Tommy Bradley moving to the Pro-2 division, several drivers are looking to take home the 2003 Sportsman 2 championship. Michael Savage was the first driver to make a statement, winning Round 1. He started on the inside of Row 2, and his second career win was his first since Round 16 in 2001. Don Williams, a first-year driver in the division, finished second and Dan Baudoux finished third. Mike Oberg, the 2001 division champion, recovered from a disappointing 8th place finish in Round 1 to bring in his 10th career Sportsman 2 victory. After a second (Round 1) and a third (Round 2) place finish in the first two rounds, Don Williams maintains a two point lead over Oberg and Savage, 30 to 28.

Two-time defending champion Mark Kleiman drew the Pole Position for Round 1 in the Stock division. Using that spot, he grabbed an early lead and held on to win Round 1 and claim his 21st career Stock victory in 37 starts. In Round 2, Keith Steele started eleventh, but quickly moved up front, and went on to win for the 13th time in his career.

Aaron Hawley, who battled with champion Scott Schwalbe during the 2002 season, quickly moved to the top of the Super Buggy division by winning Round 1 and placing second in Round 2. Schwalbe, who was unable to compete in Round 1, started from the second position in Round 2, and took the lead, which he never relinquished. Schwalbe's win was the 17th of his career. Tim Lemons (second place) and Scott Peterson (currently in third-place) both had top-four finishes to round out the top-three.

In the Single Buggy division, defending champion and the 2002 Sportsman Precision Gear Driver of the Year, Michael Seefeldt, drew the second starting position on the grid for the start of Round 1. After trailing pole-sitter Adam Guberud for the first half of the race, Seefeldt eventually took the checkered flag and claimed his 18th career Single Buggy victory. In Round 2, Brad Erickson took the lead from the start and never relinquished it, taking home his second career win. With a pair of second- place finishes, Steve Socha currently leads the division 32 to 28 over Seefeldt. Mark Steinhardt is in third with 26 points.

In the Light Buggy division, Greg Stingle earned his fifth career Light Buggy victory in Round 1, beating Steve Schuch to the checkers. In Round 2, Dedicated Systems' Ben O'Connell bounced back from a 9th place finish in Round 1 to win in Round 2. His victory was the 7th in his career, placing him first among the Light Buggy division. Although he did not win, steady driving in the first two rounds gives Tracy Peebles the current Light Buggy lead, two point ahead of Stingle, 30 to 28.

Rounds 3 and 4 of the 2003 CORR Lucas Oil Series will take place June 7-8 at the Langlade County Fairgrounds in Antigo, Wisconsin.

The first of three airings on Speed Channel from Round 1 of the CORR Lucas Oil Pro Series will take place on Thursday, July 10, 2003 at 10:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time. For the latest CORR Lucas Oil Series television schedule, visit or


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Scott Taylor , Rick Huseman , Johnny Greaves , Mark Stein , Jeff Kincaid , Chad Hord
Teams Williams