CORR: Crandon June race report

Kincaid, Taylor and MacCachren sweep Rounds 5 and 6 at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway Crandon, Wis. (June 24, 2001)For the second time in Championship Off-Road Racing history, Pro-Lite driver Jeff Kincaid, Pro-2 driver Scott Taylor ...

Kincaid, Taylor and MacCachren sweep Rounds 5 and 6 at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway

Crandon, Wis. (June 24, 2001)For the second time in Championship Off-Road Racing history, Pro-Lite driver Jeff Kincaid, Pro-2 driver Scott Taylor and Pro-4 driver Rob MacCachren swept an event weekend in the CORR EXXON Superflo Series. They accomplished this historic feat at the legendary Crandon International Off-Road Raceway in Crandon, Wisconsin. Kincaid, Taylor and MacCachren swept Rounds 1 and 2 in Tour 2000 of the EXXON Superflo Series.

Rob MacCachren and his TrailMaster Ford increased his Pro-4 lead from eight to 29 points with his two victories in Rounds 5 and 6. His weekend also included his second consecutive Governor's Cup Trophy. The Governor's Cup is an invitational by CIORA. Although his lead is safe at the moment, several drivers are moving closer to challenge MacCachren's championship.

Johnny Greaves added to a successful weekend for the Forest County Potawatomi/Toyota team. He had a fourth-place finish in Round 5, and a season best second-place finish in Round 6. In Round 6, Scott Douglas' RANCHO Ford took the lead before a collision with Jason Baldwin knocked him off track. He fought back to third, giving him two third-place finishes for the weekend. In his second season in the CORR EXXON Superflo Pro series, Jason Baldwin holds second-place in the Pro-4 division with five top-five finishes in his Filger Manufacturing Ford F-150.

The Quick `n Brite GM Hydra-Matic/Chevrolet team of Kevin Probst and Larry Gourlie had a successful weekend in the Pro-2 division as they captured three top-four finishes. Rookie Larry Gourlie had a third-place finish in Round 5, followed closely by Probst's GM Hydra-Matic Chevrolet.

In Round 6, Taylor's EXXON Superflo Ford jumped to the lead, but Probst's Chevrolet was not far behind. Although Probst could not catch up with Taylor, in Rounds 5 and 6 he gained 28 points, and is now eleven points behind Carl Renezeder, who is in fourth place. Taylor's two wins increased his lead to 27 points over Evan Evans, 94 to 67. Evans had a second-place (Round 5) and a sixth-place finish (Round 6) in each round.

Jeff Kincaid's three-race winning streak brings him into first place for the first time this year. Kincaid's Forest County Potawatomi Toyota now leads Pro-Lite Rookie Steve Federico 73 to 65. Federico and his Ingle's Market Toyota finished third in Round 5. Art Schmitt's Nissan Frontier finished second in each round, and he overtook third place in the 2001 Pro-Lite standings, two points behind Federico.

In Round 6, the battle for second-place between Schmitt, Federico, and Mark Krueger highlighted the round. For the second-half of the race, they bumped and scraped each other while they were moving into position. At one point, all three drivers were grouped together heading into each turn, providing some of the best racing action of the day. Schmitt was able to hold off Krueger and Federico for second-place.

In the CORR EXXON Superflo Sportsman Series, three drivers swept their way to victory in Rounds 5 and 6. In the Super Buggy division, Scott Schwalbe picked up career wins six and seven, as he took over first place. Prior to Round 5, Schwalbe was 14 points behind leader Doug Hafner. Hafner had bad luck in Round 5 when his buggy rolled, causing him to finish 19th. He scratched in Round 6. With two wins, Schwalbe now leads the division by 17 over the team of Don and Scott Olson.

Mark Steinhardt and Michael Seefeldt lead the Single Buggy action for the weekend. After Round 4, Steinhardt was 22 points behind Steve Socha. Rounds 5 and 6 were identical as Steinhardt took the lead, with Seefeldt on his bumper. As was the case in Round 5, Seefeldt attempted to pass several times in Round 6, but could not get enough power to get by Steinhardt. Steinhardt's victories were his first since Round 11 in Tour 2000. Shayne Pagles finished third in Round 5, and now has four top-four finishes. Michael Notary finished third in Round 6, his best finish this year. Steinhardt's two victories give him eight for his career, which puts him three victories behind Seefeldt for the Single Buggy career win leader.

Paul Bort's second and third career victories came in succession in Rounds 5 and 6, when he swept both rounds in the Light Buggy division. Paul Bort continues to trail John Huven, who finished fourth in Round 5 and second in Round 6, to maintain a 13-point lead.

Mike Oberg continued to command the Sportsman 2 division in Round 5. Dan Baudoux took the lead from the front, and his Ford was undoubtedly the fastest truck on the track. Oberg was in second, a couple seconds behind Baudoux. When Baudoux's truck stalled, that gave Oberg his opportunity to take the checkered flag and four consecutive wins. Ben Wandahsega finished second, and Gordon Zima placed third.

In Round 6, Mike Oberg did not have a chance when Andy Morter bolted to the lead and streaked across the track. Morter, picking up his first Sportsman 2 victory, leaped on top of his Chevrolet after he crossed the finish line. Morter's victory moved him to third-place, two points behind second-place driver Mike Savage. Oberg's leads Savage 91 to 62.

In the Stock division, Ross Hoek won for the first time in 15 starts in Round 6. Not only was he able to hold off Don Williams and 2000 Champion Jerry Edgerton, Hoek placed third in Round 5. After Round 4, Hoek was in 14th place-last in the field. With a powerful weekend, he leaped into a tie for fifth with Mark Kleiman. Eric Dawson, competing in a new Ford, won for the first time in two years when he won in Round 5. Points leader Keith Steele had a second-place finish in Round 5 and a sixth-place finish in Round 6.

Following an unbelievable weekend of racing, the 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Series will head to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan for the BOSS Snowplow Off-Road Challenge in Bark River, Michigan July 14-15. For more information, visit or call 906-466-2778.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Evan Evans , Scott Taylor , Rob MacCachren , Art Schmitt , Kevin Probst , Jason Baldwin , Johnny Greaves , Steve Federico , Mark Stein , Jeff Kincaid
Teams Williams