CORR: Bark River event report

Federico, Probst, Greaves and Krueger pick up first victories in 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Pro Series Bark River, Mich. (July 15, 2001) - Steve Federico (Pro-Lite), Kevin Probst (Pro-2), Johnny Greaves (Pro-4), and Mark Krueger (Pro-Lite) won for...

Federico, Probst, Greaves and Krueger pick up first victories in 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Pro Series

Bark River, Mich. (July 15, 2001) - Steve Federico (Pro-Lite), Kevin Probst (Pro-2), Johnny Greaves (Pro-4), and Mark Krueger (Pro-Lite) won for the first time in 2001 with victories at the inaugural BOSS Snowplow Off-Road Challenge in Bark River, Michigan.

Rookie Steve Federico, in his Pro-Lite Ingles Market/Mountain Dew Toyota not only won for the first time in his Pro career in Round 8, he overtook Jeff Kincaid in the point standings, and now leads by ten points, 97 to 87 in the division. Federico came into Bark River with an injured back, and it took until race time each day for it to loosen. He was able to take the lead from the land-rush start, and held the lead throughout. In the Kumho Tire Rookie of the Year battle, Federico increased his lead to 21-points over Pro-2 driver Larry Gourlie.

Mark Krueger, who finished third in the 2000 EXXON Superflo Series, also received his first Pro victory in Round 7. His Nicolet Minerals Toyota held off Jimmie and Jason Crowder in their Wicked Willie's Ford's. Jimmie Crowder's two second-place finishes in Rounds 7 and 8 enabled him to move into seventh-place in the Pro-Lite division. Lee O'Donnell had a career best finish in Round 8, placing third.

Johnny Greaves' Pro-4 Forest County Potawatomi Toyota took advantage of two drivers rolling over and beat Rob MacCachren's TrailMaster/BF Goodrich Ford to the finish line for his first Pro-4 victory. Greaves was able to win with a broken left ankle, which he suffered while wake boarding during vacation.

MacCachren had payback in Round 8 by winning for the fifth time in 2001. From the start, MacCachren was held in fourth place behind Greaves, Scott Douglas and Curt LeDuc. When Douglas' RANCHO Ford took the lead, MacCachren began to work his magic. He moved around LeDuc, and it took him two laps before he took the lead from Douglas. MacCachren's lead now stands at 38-points over LeDuc, 130 to 92. Jason Baldwin is in third-place with 88-points, and Douglas moved into fourth place with 83-points.

The Quick `n Brite Pro-2 Chevrolet of Kevin Probst won for the first time since Round 10 of Tour 2000 in Bark River, and is quickly moving to the top of the division. Probst's fourth career Pro-2 victory, accompanied with a second-place finish in Round 8 moved him from eighth-place following Round 6 to third place following Round 8 in the year-end point standings.

Evan Evans' GM Hydra-Matic/Goodyear Chevrolet was fast both Rounds, and if it was not for a flat tire in Round 7, he would have swept the event weekend. Without bad luck in Round 8, Evans dominated and won for the second time in 2001, and now has 11 career victories. Scott Taylor's EXXON Superflo Ford battled from the back after recovering from collisions early in both rounds. He took home a second and third-place finish, and although his lead was cut, he leads Evans 124 to 98.

In the Sportsman 2 division, Dan Baudoux drove his TeamTech Ford to victory in Round 7 his first of 2001 and the fifth of his career. He finished ahead of Andy Morter and Ben Wandahsega. Mike Oberg returned to form in Round 8 by winning for the fifth time in 2001. Sam Konitzer finished second, and Michael Savage placed third. Oberg has a 32-point lead over Savage (119 to 87).

Mark Kleiman pleased many of his family and friends in Round 7. Kleiman, from nearby Wilson, Michigan, was victorious in Round 7. Eric Dawson, who took a year off in 2000, has returned to the Stock division where he left off in 1999. He won the 1999 championship, and is locked in battle with Keith Steele for this year's championship. Steele and Dawson are tied at 88 points apiece halfway through the 2001 season.

Dawson had a second-place finish in Round 7, and won in Round 8, his second of the year and seventh of his career. With a career best second-place finish in Round 8, Rhonda Konitzer moved into a tie for third-place with Ross Hoek with 70 points apiece.

With only four starts in his career, and a best finish of eighth place, Quick `n Brite Super Buggy Rookie Scott Peterson swept Rounds 7 and 8 for his first career CORR victories. Points leader Scott Schwalbe had two second-place finishes to increase his lead over Scott Powell, 100 to 64. Ryan Mulder had a third (Round 7) and fourth (Round 8) place finish and is now three points behind Powell with 61 points.

Single Buggy drivers Bob Blaney and Brad Erickson picked up their first CORR victories in Rounds 7 and 8 respectively. Blaney, who had 31 starts before he won in Round 7, held off Single Buggy point leader Michael Seefeldt, who finished second and Erickson, finishing third. Seefeldt received his fourth consecutive second-place finish in Round 8. With a fifth-place finish in Round 7 and a third-place finish in Round 8, Shayne Pagles moved to second-place in the point standings. However, Seefeldt maintains a sizable lead, 112 to 84.

In the Light Buggy division, Curt Gerald took the checkered flag for the first time in 28 starts in Round 7. He held off Paul Bort and John Huven, the top two drivers in the division. Paul Bort won for the third time in four starts in Round 8 by edging out Jeff Virnig. With two third-place finishes in Rounds 7 and 8, Huven leads Paul Bort by five points, 95 to 90.

The 2001 CORR EXXON Superflo Series will make a second visit to Fort Dodge, Iowa for Rounds 9 and 10, along with a make-up of the postponed Round 2 on July 27-29. For more information, visit, for call 515-573-8745.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Curt LeDuc , Evan Evans , Jason Crowder , Jimmie Crowder , Rob MacCachren , Kevin Probst , Jason Baldwin , Johnny Greaves , Steve Federico , Jeff Kincaid