CORR: Antigo: Race report

Taylor and Douglas move into championship hunt as division races stay close in the CORR Lucas Oil Series. Antigo, Wis. (June 9, 2002)With three rounds of competition in two days of hot, dry weather, the drivers in the CORR Lucas Oil Series ...

Taylor and Douglas move into championship hunt as division races stay close in the CORR Lucas Oil Series.

Antigo, Wis. (June 9, 2002)With three rounds of competition in two days of hot, dry weather, the drivers in the CORR Lucas Oil Series survived an intense weekend of racing at the Mole Lake Regency Casino Off Road Championships in Antigo, Wisconsin. As the Pro Series standings begin to take shape after five rounds, and the Sportsman began their 2002 season, the championship races are close in all eight divisions.

In each Pro division, there have been four different winners in the first five rounds. Pro-4 driver Scott Douglas and Pro-2 champion Scott Taylor each scored two wins out of three at the Mole Lake Regency Casino Off Road Championships.

Before the 2002 CORR Lucas Oil Series season, Scott Douglas and his RANCHO Ford had 3 career victories in 66 starts. Following two disappointing races in Rounds 1 and 2 in New York, Douglas' two wins in Rounds 3 and 5 moved him from last place to fourth in the division, merely two points behind third-place driver Carl Renezeder.

Starting from the pole position in Round 4, Douglas' RANCHO Ford screamed out front, and did not let up, winning for the first time this season, and his fourth career CORR win. Douglas' lead in Round 4 was as big as 16 seconds over Curt LeDuc, who would finish second in the race. In Round 5, Douglas battled with Jason Baldwin early, and with John Greaves during the second half of the race. Although it appeared that Greaves was getting closer to Douglas during the final laps, he could not gain enough ground to catch the RANCHO Ford.

Greaves' weekend did include a win in Round 4, where he held off Curt LeDuc and Rookie Josh Baldwin. Greaves and his Forest County Potawatomi Toyota picked up his first win of the season and the fourth of his Pro-4 career. After five rounds in the Pro-4 division, Greaves remains in first place with 77 points, followed by Curt LeDuc with 70.

In the Pro-2 division, defending champion Scott Taylor and his Mobil 1 Ford returned to the winner's circle for the first time in 2002 with two victories in Rounds 3 and 5. In both rounds, Taylor had to pass Evan Evans, who was able to beat his competitors at the start from the furious two-by-two line-up. In Round 4, Evan Evans won his 15th career Pro-2 win by once again blistering to the front of the field, becoming the fourth different driver in as many rounds. Kevin Probst's Quick `n Brite Chevrolet had two second-place finishes and a third-place finish to remain four points behind Taylor, 82 to 78. In all-time Championship Off Road Racing victories, Taylor and Greaves are tied with 26 wins each.

In the Pro-Lite division, eleven points separate the first four positions after five rounds. In Round 3, Jeff Kincaid took an early lead, followed by Jimmie Crowder and Art Schmitt. When Kincaid received a penalty for rough driving, Crowder took over the lead, seeking his first career CORR victory. Schmitt's Nissan Frontier took the lead from Crowder with three laps remaining, and went on to win for the first time since Round 3 in Antigo last year. Schmitt now has 7 career CORR victories.

In Round 4, the 2001 Kumho Tire Pro Rookie of the Year Steven Federico started on the front row, next to Lee O'Donnell. In clean air, Federico remained in front at the halfway point, with Chad Hord's BOSS Snowplow Toyota edging closer to Federico's Ingles Market Toyota. Hord's chase to the front ended when his shifter broke during the race, and Schmitt took over second. Federico's wire-to-wire win was his second in the Pro-Lite division.

In Round 5, defending champion Jeff Kincaid and his Forest County Potawatomi Toyota claimed his first win of the 2002 season, and the 19th of his Pro-Lite career. Hord finished second and Schmitt placed third. In overall points, Schmitt moved ahead of Rick Huseman by two points, 76 to 74, while Kincaid is third with 73 points.

For the CORR Sportsman drivers, the Mole Lake Regency Casino Off Road Championships counted toward a fourth of the CORR Lucas Oil Sportsman Series season. Tommy Bradley, the 2000 Sportsman 2 champion, added to his all time Sportsman 2 wins with wins in the first two rounds. Bradley has won his last six CORR Sportsman 2 starts.

Dan Baudoux was able to break Bradley's streak in Round 3, when he took the win, and Bradley placed second. Bradley has a fourteen-point lead over Baudoux, 56 to 42.

In the Stock division, 2001 champion Mark Kleiman began his quest for a second-straight championship by winning the first two rounds, holding off Keith Steele both times. In Round 3, Steele took the victory, finishing ahead of Ross Hoek and Jerry Edgerton. Steele and Kleiman are tied for first at 52 points each. Hoek is in third place with 37 points.

Three different winners crossed the finish line in the Super Buggy division during the first three rounds. Defending champion Scott Schwalbe took a win in Round 2, and Aaron Hawley won in Round 1. Hawley, in his second year of Super Buggy competition, finished second in Rounds 2 and 3. After two tough starts, Corry Heynen placed first in Round 3. Hawley is two points ahead of Schwalbe, 52 to 50.

Once again, Mark Stenhardt and Michael Seefeldt are battling for first in the Single Buggy division. Both drivers had a win, a second and a third place finish. Steinhardt won his 17th career Single Buggy race in Round 3, and Seefeldt won in Round 1. Steve Socha picked up his third career win in Round 2, when he beat both Steinhart and Seefeldt to the line. Steinhardt and Seefeldt are tied at 50 points apiece after the three rounds.

In the Light Buggy division, Ben O'Connell's win (Round 3) and two second-place finishes has given him a 52 to 38 lead over Josh Hintz. Matt Gerald (Round 1) is in third-place with 34 points, and the Greg Stingle/John Huven team won in Round 2, and is tied for fourth place.

The Crandon International Off Road Raceway will host the Forest County Potawatomi Brush Run on June 22-23, the next CORR Lucas Oil Series Event.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Curt LeDuc , Evan Evans , Scott Taylor , Jimmie Crowder , Rick Huseman , Art Schmitt , Kevin Probst , Jason Baldwin , Jeff Kincaid , Chad Hord