CORR: Antigo race notes

Scott Douglas (Pro-4), Scott Taylor (Pro-2) and Kyle LeDuc (Pro-Lite) open the 2004 CORR Lucas Oil Series with dominating performances Antigo, Wis. (June 13, 2004)--With nearly 25 percent of the 2004 CORR...

Scott Douglas (Pro-4), Scott Taylor (Pro-2) and Kyle LeDuc (Pro-Lite) open the 2004 CORR Lucas Oil Series with dominating performances

Antigo, Wis. (June 13, 2004)--With nearly 25 percent of the 2004 CORR Lucas Oil Series taking place at the Langlade County Fairgrounds in Antigo, Wisconsin, the drivers hoped for a strong start in the first three rounds of the season. For Scott Douglas (Pro-4), Scott Taylor (Pro-2) and Kyle LeDuc (Pro-Lite), that was exactly the case.

In the always competitive Pro-4 division, Scott Douglas followed up a 7th place finish in Round 1 with back to back victories in Rounds 2 and 3. Dating back to 2002, the Rancho Ford of Scott Douglas has collected 5 of 7 wins at the Langlade County Fairgrounds track.

Moving around the technical track with precision, Douglas was in a battle with Curt LeDuc and Carl Renezeder in Round 3 before taking the lead with three laps remaining. In Round 2, Douglas had a front row start, which helped him hold the lead from start to finish. Douglas opens the 2004 season with a 49 to 46 lead over Jason Baldwin. Carl Renezeder, the defending Pro-4 champion, won in Round 1, holding off Curt LeDuc. Renezeder is currently third, trailing Douglas by five with 44 points in the standings.

Once again, 5-time defending Pro-2 champion Scott Taylor has a target on the back of his Skyjacker Ford as the man to beat. The hopes for a slow start from his competitors quickly faded as he won Round 1 and finished second in Rounds 2 and 3.

In Round 1, Taylor passed Kevin Probst and Dan Vanden Heuvel on consecutive laps to pick up the victory near the end of the race. Taylor's win was his 35th in 94 career Pro-2 starts. Vanden Heuvel's Kumho Tire Chevrolet had an equally strong start, winning Round 2 following his second-place finish in Round 1. In Round 3, Carl Renezeder's Lucas Oil Chevrolet took advantage of a front row start to run from start to finish in first place. With a victory in Round 3, Renezeder is in third place with 40 points, trailing Taylor (47 points) and Vanden Heuvel (41 points).

Although it may not be a surprise that Kyle LeDuc won three consecutive races in his Skyjacker Ford Pro-Lite, but the fact that he has an 18-point lead over the rest of the field after three rounds is a great feat, considering the competition in the 18 truck field.

Art Schmitt's Nissan Frontier had a 2nd, 3rd and 4th place finish in the three rounds to solidify second-place in the standings after three rounds. Four-time defending Pro-Lite champion and three-time runner-up Rick Huseman had uncharacteristic starts to their first two rounds, but both recovered in Round 3 as Huseman finished 2nd and Kincaid 3rd. After three rounds, LeDuc leads Schmitt 60-42. Chad Hord is third with 37 points.

Dan Baudoux (Round 3), Mike Oberg (Round 1) and Ross Hoek (Round 2) all earned victories in the Sportsman 2 division in Antigo. Baudoux, the defending champion, has a slim 47 to 46 lead over Oberg. Hoek and Ben Wandahsega are tied for third with 36 points.

Three Stock drivers are tied on top of the division standings after three rounds. Rhonda Konitzer, Mark Kleiman and Keith Steele each have 43 points. After 64 career Stock starts, Rhonda Konitzer earned her first CORR victory in Round 2. Defending champion Mark Kleiman returned to his championship form with a win in Round 3, the 25th career Stock win for the three-time division champion. Keith Steele picked up a win in Round 2, which was his 16th career CORR win. Rookie Scott Beauchamp is currently in 4th, placing 2nd in Round 2 and 3rd in Round 3.

In the Super Buggy division, Corry Heynen (Round 1), Steve Krieman (Round 2) and Ryan Mulder (Round 3) all won to start the season. Heynen also finished 4th in Round 2 and 3rd in Round 3. Heynen has an early 46 to 35 lead over Krieman.

In the Single Buggy division, Mark Steinhardt won Rounds 1 and 3, but trails defending champion Michael Seefeldt 46 to 41. Seefeldt had two second-place finishes and one third place finish during the weekend. John Fitzgerald won his first career CORR race in Round 2, and is currently third in the standings with 33 points.

With a victory in Round 2 and a second-place finish in Round 3, Greg Stingle has an early 45 to 42 lead over Ben O'Connell in the Light Buggy division. O'Connell won in Round 3. Matt Gerald took the checkers in Round 1, and is in third place with 38 points.

In the early 2004 Manufacturer's Championship Standings, Ford leads the Pro- 4 division with 56 points. Chevrolet has 44 points and Toyota 28. In Pro- 2, Chevrolet leads Ford 56-52, and Ford leads the Pro-Lite division with 60 points, followed by Nissan with 44 and Toyota with 37.

The 2004 CORR Lucas Oil Series will make their first visit to the Crandon International Off Road Raceway June 26-27 for the Forest County Potawatomi Brush Run. For more information, visit or


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Offroad
Drivers Scott Douglas , Curt LeDuc , Scott Taylor , Rick Huseman , Art Schmitt , Kevin Probst , Jason Baldwin , Mark Stein , Chad Hord