Formula 1
31 Jul
Event finished
24 Jul
Event finished
Formula E
Berlin ePrix II
06 Aug
FP1 in
16 Hours
07 Minutes
27 Seconds
02 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Race 1 in
3 days
17 Jul
Event finished
21 Aug
Next event in
15 days
19 Nov
Next event in
105 days
12 Jul
Event finished
08 Aug
Practice 1 in
2 days

Coupal wins penultimate race at Mont-Tremblant

Coupal wins penultimate race at Mont-Tremblant
Sep 24, 2016, 7:50 PM

Xavier Coupal won the penultimate race of the Nissan Micra Cup Saturday at the picturesque Mont-Tremblant circuit in the Quebec Laurentians.

Xavier Coupal
Valérie Limoges
Stefan Rzadzinski
Olivier Bédard, Jean-Michael Isabelle, Normand Boyer, Chris Sahakian

Coupal and his teammate Olivier Bédard shared the front row at the start of the 15-lap race, as Bédard won the pole with a time of 2:02.850.

Albertan Stefan Rzadzinski – who’s still in the hunt for the title – started in third place ahead of Valérie Limoges.

The 19-car field got the green and Bédard immediately powered in front of Coupal. Rzadzinski ran in third place in front of Kevin King and Limoges.

On lap 4, the two leaders had built a three-second advantage over their pursuers. One lap later, Rzadzinski and King traded places. Behind them, Limoges, Bertrand Godin, Jean-Michel Isabelle and Chris Sahakian followed, in that order.

On lap 8, a crash in the midfield caused a full-course yellow. The cars circulated at slow speed during four laps.

The race restarted on lap 12, with three to go. King ran with the leaders, Bédard and Coupal, and then started to lose ground. With two laps to go, Coupal overtook Bédard for the lead.

The chequered confirmed Coupal’s win. Bédard finished second in front of King, Rzadzinski and former Formula 1600 and Atlantic competitor, Bruno St-Jacques.

Moments after the chequered, Godin’s Micra spun at high speed and hit the concrete wall. “Someone hit me from behind after the chequered. I never saw something like that in my entire career,” Godin told

The final and decisive race will be held tomorrow afternoon and will crown the 2016 Nissan Micra Cup champion.

Coupal and Rzadzinski share victories in Ontario

Previous article

Coupal and Rzadzinski share victories in Ontario

Next article

Xavier Coupal wins 2016 Nissan Micra Cup title

Xavier Coupal wins 2016 Nissan Micra Cup title
Load comments