WC: Series Earlville final summary

NHRA Winners Crowned at Tri-State Raceway EARLVILLE, Iowa (September 13, 2009) -- The NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at Tri-State Raceway is in the books and the West Central division racing schedule has been completed. Drivers still...

NHRA Winners Crowned at Tri-State Raceway

EARLVILLE, Iowa (September 13, 2009) -- The NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at Tri-State Raceway is in the books and the West Central division racing schedule has been completed. Drivers still have the ability to race out-of-division events in order to pick up last minute points in search of divisional and national championships. Top Alcohol Dragster pilot Jim Whiteley, Grand Junction, Colo., and Top Alcohol Funny Car driver Andy Bohl, Racine, Wis., picked up the wins.

Whiteley, the No. 2 qualifier, defeated Chris Demke of Sunland, Calif., in the final to grab the win. He posted a 5.409 second, 263.46 mph lap to seize his third divisional victory of the year. The Pacific division racer is en route to picking up a divisional championship.

Top Alcohol Funny Car driver Andy Bohl grabbed his second divisional win of the season. The North Central division points leader made his way from the No. 2 slot and into the winner's circle by defeating No.1 qualifier Roger Bateman of Calgary, Manit., in the final. His lap of 5.746 seconds at 253.18 mph was enough to defeat the top qualifier and to pick up the hardware.

Other top winners included Comp Eliminator driver Tom Schmidt, Lindstrom, Minn.; Justin Jenkins, Beatrice, Neb., won in Super Stock; and Nick Folk of Durand, Ill., won in Stock. Super Comp honors went to Rick Bowman, Solon, Iowa; Trevor Larson, Starbuck, Minn., won in Super Gas with his '27 roadster; and Ted Ash, Topeka, Kan., powered his '61 Corvette to the victory in Super Street.

Other drivers who received the prestigious Wally trophy included Charley Whittenburg, Spencer, Iowa, in the division's Jerry Haas Race Cars Top Sportsman Series ; Clarence Mayo, Manly, Iowa was victorious in the West Central Division Top Dragster category; and Travis McMann of Marengo, Iowa, grabbed the win light in the Sportsman Motorcycle Series presented by Harley Davidson.

The following are Sunday's final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, West Central Division event at Tri-State Raceway:


Round 1
4) Chris Demke, Sunland, Calif., 5.426, 260.86 def. 5) Dave Hirata, Lowell, Ind., 5.424, 259.61;

6) Richard Putz, Earlville, Iowa, 5.473, 255.68 def. 3) Tim Bowgren, Valparaiso, Ind., foul;

1) Dan Kracht, Gretna, Neb., 5.485, 269.24 def. 8) Jared Dreher, Clinton, Ind., 5.618, 252.28;

2) Jim Whiteley, Grand Junction, Colo., 5.394, 263.15 def. 7) Edwin Schmeeckle, Gothenburg, Neb., 5.514, 257.04;

Demke, 5.433, 263.05 def. Kracht, 5.622, 255.68; Whiteley, 5.441, 262.59 def. Putz, 5.471, 256.16;

Whiteley, 5.409, 263.46 def. Demke, 5.451, 262.13.


Round 1
5) Ken Webster, Red Deer, Alb., '08 Monte Carlo, 5.795, 247.02 def. 4) Vern Moats, Des Moines, Iowa, '08 Mustang, 5.782, 252.33;

3) Mick Snyder, Demotte, Ind., '09 Mustang, 5.690, 251.11 def. 6) Lance Van Hauen, Reinbeck, Iowa, '05 Firebird, 5.994, 240.42;

2) Andy Bohl, Racine, Wis., '07 Mustang, 5.701, 252.76 def. 7) Kirk Williams, Glenwood, Iowa, '04 Camaro, 6.343, 171.79;

1) Roger Bateman, Calgary, Manit., '08 Mustang, 5.772, 245.23 def. 8) Scott McVey, Winnipeg, Manit., '06 Monte Carlo, 6.031, 243.94;

Bateman, 5.838, 242.76 def. Webster, 5.792, 250.92; Bohl, 5.712, 252.19 def. Snyder, 6.059, 179.04;

Bohl, 5.746, 253.18 def. Bateman, 7.092, 130.15.

Tom Schmidt, Lindstrom, Minn., '03 S-10, C/T, 8.281, 161.21 def. Matthew Harris, Nebraska City, Neb., '05 Grand Am, E/A, 7.730, 175.23.

Justin Jenkins, Beatrice, Neb., '09 Cobalt, GT/CA, 9.528, 140.42 def. Dennis Lund, Bettendorf, Iowa, '69 Camaro, GT/CA, 10.119, 121.96.

Nick Folk, Durand, Ill., '99 Camaro, B/SA, 10.468, 114.11 def. Tim Mosbek, Andover, Minn., '72 Demon, G/SA, 11.212, 114.43.

Rick Bowman, Solon, Iowa, '00 Corvette, 8.909, 167.41 def. Chuck Bray, Sioux City, Iowa, dragster, 8.874, 166.76.

Anthony Castillo, Grandview, Wash., '27 roadster, 9.904, 152.81 def. Jeff Cheney, Cambridge, Minn., '00 Camaro, 9.899, 148.31.

Ted Ash, Topeka, Kan., '61 Corvette, 10.864, 145.64 def. Jeff Landholm, Oakland, Neb., '68 Camaro, 10.832, 141.70.

Charley Whittenburg, Spencer, Iowa, '03 Cavalier, 6.977, 198.12 def. Dave Granger, Tinley Park, Ill., '51 Henry J, 7.416, 186.54.

Clarence Mayo, Manly, Iowa, dragster, 6.950, 188.99 def. John Lobner, DeSoto, Kan., dragster, 7.300, 183.54.

Travis McMann, Marengo, Iowa, '87 Kawasaki, 9.045, 143.52 def. Tom Gilligan, Fremont, Neb., '77 Kawasaki, 8.909, 147.02.

-credit: nhra

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Vern Moats , Jerry Haas , Mick Snyder
Teams Williams