Torrence scores first win of season at Four-Wide Nationals

Steve Torrence raced his way to Top Fuel victory in the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at Zmax Dragway, while Ron Capps, Chris McGaha and LE Tonglet conquered FC, PS and PSM categories respectively.

Torrence scores first win of season at Four-Wide Nationals
Ron Capps, Chris McGaha, LE Tonglet, Steve Torrence
Ron Capps
Top Fuel winner Steve Torrence
Funny Car winner Ron Capps
Pro Stock Motorcycle winner LE Tonglet
LE Tonglet
Pro Stock Chris McGaha
Chris McGaha
Clay Millican
Jerry Savoie
Courtney Force
Troy Coughlin
Listen to this article


Torrence piloted his Capco Contractors dragster to a 3.783-second pass at 323.89 mph in the final round for the ninth victory of his career and first of the season ahead of current points leader, Leah Pritchett, eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher and Terry McMillen.

“This is the same as winning a race that you had to pedal it every round or you had to win it on holeshots,” Torrence stated. “This is a driver’s race. We race 24 races a year and one of them we race four-wide. It’s completely different when you come in here; you’re mentally challenged.”


Reigning FC champion Ron Capps set a 3.933 at 322.65 in his NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger for his first ever NHRA Four-Wide Nationals win, second consecutive victory this season and 52nd of his Funny Car career. Teammate, Jack Beckman took second place, ahead of J.R. Todd and Matt Hagan.

“This is a fun race,” Capps said. “I’ve got a great racecar. To be in a car and to have it throw you back with that much G-force and realize the temperature that track is and still feeling that 6Gs and thinking, ‘How on God’s earth are these two Goodyear’s (tires) sticking to that ground?’ It’s an amazing feeling.”

With the victory, Capps takes a 43-point lead over his teammate Hagan. 


In Pro Stock, McGaha picked up his fifth career victory and first at zMax Dragway when he ran a 6.591 at 210.44 in his Harlow Sammons Chevy Camaro. He bested Greg Anderson, Shane Gray and Drew Skillman in the final round.

“Now it looks like we’ve got some momentum and it’s kind of hard to swallow,” McGaha said. “To me, I’ve always said you’ve got to have power to win in this game. You’ve got to have enough smoke to win. This one showed us we have a lot of power and that’s why we came here.”


Tonglet rode his Nitro Fish Racing Suzuki to a 6.864 at 195.00 pass to earn his 10th career victory and first of the season. He defeated three-time world champion, Eddie Krawiec and, Andrew Hines on his way to his first four-wides win.

“It’s just unbelievable what we’ve come through this weekend alone,” Tonglet stated. “With the four-wides you just have to be prepared for anything. You just have to concentrate because if you lose your train of thought it’s going to be bad.”

This win also marks the first victory for Tonglet since joining the White Alligator Racing headed by Pro Stock Motorcycle world champion Jerry Savoie.

Final finish order at the eighth annual NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at zMax Dragway

TOP FUEL: 1. Steve Torrence; 2.  Tony Schumacher; 3.  Leah Pritchett; 4.  Terry McMillen; 5.  Dom Lagana; 6. Doug Kalitta; 7.  Clay Millican; 8.  Antron Brown; 9.  Scott Palmer; 10.  Terry Haddock; 11.  Ike Maier; 12.  Shawn Langdon; 13.  Troy Coughlin Jr.; 14.  Pat Dakin; 15.  Chris Karamesines.
Final: Steve Torrence, 3.783 seconds, 323.89 mph def. Tony Schumacher, 3.874 seconds, 309.13 mph and Leah Pritchett, 3.796 seconds, 318.84 mph and Terry McMillen, 4.650 seconds, 171.23 mph.

FUNNY CAR: 1. Ron Capps; 2.  Jack Beckman; 3.  J.R. Todd; 4.  Matt Hagan; 5.  Robert Hight; 6.  Jonnie Lindberg; 7.  John Force; 8.  Tim Wilkerson; 9.  Tommy Johnson Jr.; 10.  Chad Head; 11.  Bob Bode; 12.  Bob Tasca III; 13.  Del Worsham; 14.  Jim Campbell; 15.  Cruz Pedregon; 16.  Courtney Force.
Final: Ron Capps, Dodge Charger, 3.933, 322.65 def. Jack Beckman, Charger, 3.959, 320.05 and J.R. Todd, Toyota Camry, 4.103, 307.72 and Matt Hagan, Charger, 8.820, 93.67.

PRO STOCK: 1. Chris McGaha; 2.  Greg Anderson; 3.  Shane Gray; 4.  Drew Skillman; 5.  Vincent Nobile; 6. Alex Laughlin; 7.  Jason Line; 8.  Tanner Gray; 9.  Jeg Coughlin; 10.  Allen Johnson; 11.  Bo Butner; 12.  Shane Tucker; 13.  Deric Kramer; 14.  Alan Prusiensky; 15.  Erica Enders; 16.  John Gaydosh Jr.
Final: Chris McGaha, Chevy Camaro, 6.591, 210.44 def. Greg Anderson, Camaro, 6.614, 209.56 and Shane Gray, Camaro, 6.648, 209.33 and Drew Skillman, Camaro, foul.

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1. LE Tonglet; 2.  Eddie Krawiec; 3.  Andrew Hines; 4.  Scotty Pollacheck; 5.  Joey Gladstone; 6. Angelle Sampey; 7.  Matt Smith; 8.  Karen Stoffer; 9.  Jerry Savoie; 10.  Angie Smith; 11.  Shawn Gann; 12.  Hector Arana; 13.  Chip Ellis; 14.  Steve Johnson; 15.  Hector Arana Jr; 16.  Cory Reed.
Final: LE Tonglet, Suzuki, 6.864, 195.00 def. Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson, 6.821, 195.31 and Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson, 6.902, 194.16 and Scotty Pollacheck, Suzuki, broke

Point standings after six of 24 events in the 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series

TOP FUEL: 1. Leah Pritchett, 569; 2.  Tony Schumacher, 535; 3.  Antron Brown, 501; 4.  Steve Torrence, 470; 5.  Doug Kalitta, 417; 6.  Clay Millican, 330; 7.  Brittany Force, 316; 8.  Terry McMillen, 267; 9.Troy Coughlin Jr., 264; 10.  Scott Palmer, 212.

FUNNY CAR: 1. Ron Capps, 518; 2.  Matt Hagan, 475; 3.  John Force, 433; 4.  Tommy Johnson Jr., 390; 5.  Jack Beckman, 375; 6.  Robert Hight, 365; 7.  Courtney Force, 343; 8.  J.R. Todd, 295; 9.  Jonnie Lindberg, 286; 10.  Jim Campbell, 242.

PRO STOCK: 1. Greg Anderson, 554; 2.  Bo Butner, 464; 3.  Jason Line, 457; 4.  Tanner Gray, 423; 5.  Jeg Coughlin, 419; 6.  Chris McGaha, 365; 7.  Shane Gray, 350; 8.  Drew Skillman, 300; 9.  Erica Enders, 295; 10.  Vincent Nobile, 288.

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1. Eddie Krawiec, 225; 2.  Andrew Hines, 177; 3.  LE Tonglet, 172; 4.  Joey Gladstone, 135; 5.Scotty Pollacheck, 124; 6.  Jerry Savoie, 108; 7.  Steve Johnson, 105; 8.  Matt Smith, 104; 9.Karen Stoffer, 83; 10.  Angelle Sampey, 82.


Millican, C. Force and Coughlin Jr. are No. 1 qualifiers at the Four-Wide Nationals
Previous article

Millican, C. Force and Coughlin Jr. are No. 1 qualifiers at the Four-Wide Nationals

Next article

Force and Millican aim to peak at the right time

Force and Millican aim to peak at the right time