SE: Gainesville Sunday final summary

Lawson & Payne Crowned at Gainesville Raceway GAINESVILLE, Fla. (February 22, 2009) -- Racing is complete and the winners have been crowned at the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event hosted at Gainesville Raceway. This wraps up the...

Lawson & Payne Crowned at Gainesville Raceway

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (February 22, 2009) -- Racing is complete and the winners have been crowned at the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event hosted at Gainesville Raceway. This wraps up the second of six events in Southeast division competition. Winners walking away with the coveted Wally trophy included Top Alcohol Dragster pilot Shayne Lawson, Broken Arrow, Okla., and Jay Payne from Claremont, Calif., in Top Alcohol Funny Car.

Lawson was in the groove this weekend making his way out of the No.2 qualifying position and into the winner's circle. On his way to the Final, the event champ took out local Gainesville, Fla., resident Cherissa Griffis in Round 1 and Bill Evans of Miramar, Fla., in the Semis. Lawson posted a 5.403 second, 250.51 mph run defeating Artie Allen from Jacksonville, Fla., to take home the hardware.

Top Alcohol Funny Car was dominated once again by Payne, who has won the last four Lucas Oil Gainesville events. The weekend's No.1 qualifier had a fairly easy road to the winner's circle as he was unopposed in the first two rounds. The 2008 Southeast division Top Alcohol Funny Car champ pieced together a 5.703 second, 258.12 mph pass to defeat Mark Billington of Norcross, Ga., in the Final.

Other event winners included Van Puckett of Monroe, Ga., in Comp Eliminator; Anthony Bertozzi, Ashland, Va., with back to back Gainesville wins in Super Stock; and Jeremy Preston of West Palm Beach, Fla., in Stock. The Super Comp trophy went to Brandon Christie of Apopka, Fla.; John Taylor, Naples, Fla., collected the Super Gas hardware; and Leland Poppel out of Odum, Ga., came out on top in Super Street.

Running in conjunction with the Lucas Oil Series, Ryan Ondrejko from Roslindale, Mass., won the Davis Golf Carts Top Sportsman trophy and the Hickory Enclosed Trailer Sales Top Dragster hardware was awarded to Jeffrey Burnett of Orlando, Fla.

The division's next Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event is slated for March 7-9 at Orlando (Fla.) Speed World Dragway. That race will mark the half-way point in the season.


Round 1
8) Artie Allen, Jacksonville, Fla., 5.305, 258.76 def. 1) Duane Shields, Boulder City, Nev., 5.392, 268.71;

2) Shayne Lawson, Broken Arrow, Okla., 5.368, 274.39 def. 7) Cherissa Griffis, Gainesville, Fla., 5.593, 248.84;

3) Bill Evans, Miramar, Fla., 5.434, 262.74 def. 6) John Finke, Selkirk, N.Y., 5.536, 266.85;

4) Robin Samsel, Marion, Ind., 5.463, 265.06 def. 5) Arthur Gallant, Boxboro, Mass., foul;

Lawson, 5.319, 264.65 def. Evans, 5.747, 251.11;
Allen, 5.377, 257.38 def. Samsel, 7.492, 120.11;

Lawson, 5.403, 250.51 def. Allen, 5.611, 246.75.


Round 1 4) Mickey Ferro, Stamford, Conn., '08 Monte Carlo, 5.745, 256.21 def. 5) Alexis De Joria, Venice, Calif., '09 Mustang, 10.840, 77.72;

7) Jeremy Haskett, Gray, Tenn., '02 Firebird, 5.969, 238.64 def. 2) Frank Schuster, Chesterfield, N.J., '02 Firebird, foul;

6) Mark Billington, Norcross, Ga., '01 Avenger, 5.893, 245.81 def. 3) John Sullivan, Pike Road City, Ala., '04 Firebird, 6.201, 194.13;

1) Jay Payne, Claremont, Calif., '08 Mustang, 5.630, 256.80 was unopposed;

Billington, 5.801, 251.63 def. Haskett, broke;
Payne, 5.754, 255.34 def. Ferro, broke;

Payne, 5.703, 258.12 def. Billington, 5.718, 252.28.

Van Puckett, Monroe, Ga., '05 Cavalier, G/AA, 8.334, 161.11 def. Glen Treadwell, Sorrento, Fla., '23 roadster, F/EA, 7.963, 163.77.

Anthony Bertozzi, Ashland, Va., '98 Grand Am, SS/AS, 9.277, 139.30 def. Joe Teuton Jr., Schriever, La., '68 Barracuda, SS/AH, 8.989, 145.41.

Jeremy Preston, W. Palm Beach, Fla., '03 Corvette, D/SA, 10.994, 116.76 def. Bud Rowe, Bridgeton, N.C., '94 Camaro, C/SA, 10.407, 126.51.

Brandon Christie, Apopka, Fla., dragster, 8.950, 179.30 def. Jim Perry, Niota, Tenn., dragster, 8.896, 168.39.

John Taylor, Naples, Fla., '99 Dakota, 9.889, 159.72 def. Brian Forrester, Parrish, Fla., '63 Corvette, 9.879, 167.68.

Leland Poppel, Odum, Ga., '96 Acheiva, 10.863, 142.91 def. Travis Giddens, MacClenny, Fla., '73 Duster, 10.784, 121.70.

Ryan Ondrejko, Roslindale, Mass., '08 GTO, 6.886, 198.06 def. Tommy Turner, Naples, Fla., '06 GTO, 6.850, 204.39.

Jeffrey Burnett, Orlando, Fla., '23 roadster, 6.816, 199.61 def. Steve Furr, Harrisburg, N.C., dragster, 7.044, 181.13.

-credit: nhra

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers John Taylor , Mark Billington , Duane Shields , Jay Payne , Ryan Ondrejko