Goodyear Racing Joliet Final Report

Route 66 Raceway

Goodyear Wins Five Times At NHRA Route 66 Event

Neither sun nor heat nor humid air could keep Goodyear tires from winning their appointed rounds.

Winning five times, to be exact.

Goodyear blimp
Goodyear blimp

Photo by: Bob Harmeyer

Drivers racing on Goodyear tires won five times in the O’Reilly Route 66 Nationals at Route 66 Raceway, the best total among tiremakers. Goodyear-shod cars also won four times in the special Jeg’s All-Stars event for divisional sportsman champions.

“It was a good weekend for our Goodyear Eagles,” said Bryce Jones, Goodyear’s sales account manager for drag racing. “The track surface temperatures were exceptionally hot during the day on all four days, but the Eagles performed well.”

The NHRA’s track temperature indicator reached 137 degrees on Saturday and 129 on Sunday. The final rounds were conducted with the track surface registered at 128 degrees.

Goodyear’s winners included Del Worsham (in Top Fuel), Mike Neff (Funny Car), Greg Anderson (Pro Stock), Bill Reichert (Top Alcohol Dragster) and Scott Rienschield (Super Street). Worsham, Neff and Anderson won in the Full Throttle Drag Racing Series for professional teams while Reichert and Rienschield won in the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series for sportsmen.

Worsham’s win was his fifth of the season. He beat David Grubnic in the final round. Worsham joined Gary Scelzi as the only winners in both nitro categories at Route 66. Worsham leads the Top Fuel points by a 1,003-872 margin over second-place Spencer Massey.

Neff knocked off Jeff Arend in the Funny Car final and that set off an impressive number of statistical references. Neff’s win was his second in as many races, it was the 200th Funny Car win for Ford and it was the 19th victory in 36 races for that specific chassis. And Neff holds a 1,005-833 advantage over runner up Jack Beckman in the Funny Car standings.

Anderson’s victory in the final round denied Erica Enders the opportunity to become the first woman to win in Pro Stock. Pro Stock remains the only NHRA professional category in which a woman has not won a race. Anderson’s reaction time at the starting line, a brilliant .011 of a second, was the difference. Enders’ reaction was an excellent .031 and her car recorded a quicker time and faster speed. Anderson, a four-time Pro Stock champ and 67-time Pro Stock race winner, had never won at Route 66 before.

Jason Line, Anderson’s teammate leads Anderson 858-804 in the Pro Stock title chase.

By: Goodyear Racing

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Del Worsham , Gary Scelzi , Greg Anderson , David Grubnic , Jack Beckman , Jason Line , Bill Reichert , Jeff Arend , Mike Neff , Spencer Massey
Tags chicago, goodyear tires, joliet, nhra, route 66 raceway