Kalitta, Hight, Gray, Krawiec kickoff Countdown in perfect style

Doug Kalitta powered to his first victory at zMAX Dragway Sunday at the 10th annual NHRA Carolina Nationals as Robert Hight (Funny Car), Tanner Gray (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also clocked victories.


Kalitta took down teammate Richie Crampton in the final round with a 3.775-second pass at 318.39 mph in his Mac Tools dragster to earn his first victory of the season. Kalitta now has 43 career victories and there are now only two tracks on the NHRA circuit at which he hasn’t won at least once. 

“Getting this win gives us great momentum with only five races to go, and with the team I have, I’m full of confidence,” Kalitta said. “It’s huge for me to get my first win at this great facility, because we have been coming here for a lot of years and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out.”

Kalitta earned the top slot in qualifying and defeated Chris Karamesines, Tony Schumacher and Clay Millican before reaching his third final round of the season. Crampton qualified seventh and reached the final round in only his second event of the season, taking down Scott Palmer, Steve Torrence and Brittany Force on the day. 


Hight earned his third victory of the season and first since Seattle with a 3.943 pass at 328.86 in his Auto Club of Southern California Chevrolet Camaro to defeat teammate Courtney Force in her Advance Auto Parts Chevy Camaro in the finals. Hight now has 40 career victories and has taken the lead in the Funny Car points standings.

“We’ve had a great racecar over the past 15 races in either hot or cold weather, getting low E.T. in several events throughout the year,” Hight said. “It’s almost impossible to have six great races in a row during the Countdown, but we had everything figured out today which we needed with the tough competition we faced.”

Hight qualified sixth and took down Matt Hagan, Tommy Johnson Jr. and J.R. Todd on his way to his sixth final round of 2017. Force was the top qualifier and defeated Bob Gilbertson, John Force and Alexis Dejoria on the way to her fourth final round of the season.


Gray continued his impressive rookie campaign with a 6.614 at 208.07 in his Gray Motorsports Valvoline Chevrolet Camaro during the final round to earn his fifth victory of his season. He took down four-time world champion Greg Anderson to emerge victorious at his local track and take command of the Pro Stock points lead.

“If you would have told me I would be the points leader when I left the first race of the Countdown I would have said you were crazy,” Gray said. “I have a great team who has helped me throughout the season and we are really happy with where we are at.”

Gray qualified first and got past Val Smeland, Erica Enders and Jason Line before making it to his sixth final round of the year.


Krawiec took home the Pro Stock Motorcycle victory with a 6.850 at 196.87 on his Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson to take down his teammate Andrew Hines in the final round. Krawiec took over the points lead as he locked down his 40th career victory and fourth of this season, including his second in a row.

“This is a huge race for me because I love this drag strip and this facility, and to come out of the first Countdown race with a win is huge for me and my team,” Krawiec said. “Getting a win here is awesome, because it increases your chances to win a championship quite a bit so I’m really excited about this.”

Krawiec qualified second and beat Charlie Sullivan, Chip Ellis and Hector Arana Jr. en route to the finals. Hines earned the No. 1 qualifier and knocked off Charlie Sullivan, Chip Ellis and Hector Arana Jr. as he earned his third runner-up finish on the year in three final round appearances.

Final finish order at the 10th annual NHRA Carolina Nationals at zMax Dragway

TOP FUEL: 1. Doug Kalitta; 2. Richie Crampton; 3. Clay Millican; 4. Brittany Force; 5. Antron Brown; 6. Steve Torrence; 7. Tony Schumacher; 8. Wayne Newby; 9. Terry McMillen; 10. Scott Palmer; 11. Dom Lagana; 12. Pat Dakin; 13. Shawn Langdon; 14. Terry Haddock; 15. Leah Pritchett; 16. Chris Karamesines.
Final: Doug Kalitta, 3.775 seconds, 318.39 mph def. Richie Crampton, 3.876 seconds, 306.40 mph. 

FUNNY CAR: 1. Robert Hight; 2. Courtney Force; 3. Alexis DeJoria; 4. J.R. Todd; 5. Ron Capps; 6. John Force; 7. Tommy Johnson Jr.; 8. Jim Campbell; 9. Matt Hagan; 10. Jack Beckman; 11. Jeff Diehl; 12. Bob Gilbertson; 13. Jonnie Lindberg; 14. Cruz Pedregon; 15. Dave Richards; 16. Tim Wilkerson. 
Final: Robert Hight, Chevy Camaro, 3.943, 328.86 def. Courtney Force, Camaro, 3.980, 315.19. 

PRO STOCK: 1. Tanner Gray; 2. Greg Anderson; 3. Bo Butner; 4. Jason Line; 5. Jeg Coughlin; 6. Drew Skillman; 7. Kenny Delco; 8. Erica Enders; 9. Allen Johnson; 10. Chris McGaha; 11. Vincent Nobile; 12. Shane Tucker; 13. Alan Prusiensky; 14. Larry Morgan; 15. Val Smeland; 16. Alex Laughlin. 
Final: Tanner Gray, Chevy Camaro, 6.614, 208.07 def. Greg Anderson, Camaro, 6.638, 207.82. 

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1. Eddie Krawiec; 2. Andrew Hines; 3. Jerry Savoie; 4. Hector Arana Jr; 5. Matt Smith; 6. LE Tonglet; 7. Chip Ellis; 8. Scotty Pollacheck; 9. Angie Smith; 10. Steve Johnson; 11. Karen Stoffer; 12. Joey Gladstone; 13. Mark Paquette; 14. Melissa Surber; 15. Kelly Clontz; 16. Charles Sullivan. 
Final: Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson, 6.850, 196.87 def. Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson, 6.911, 195.11. 

Point standings after 19 of 24 events in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series

TOP FUEL: 1. Doug Kalitta, 2,173; 2. Steve Torrence, 2,159; 3. Antron Brown, 2,135; 4. Brittany Force, 2,117; 5. Tony Schumacher, 2,115; 6. Clay Millican, 2,110; 7. Leah Pritchett, 2,108; 8. Terry McMillen, 2,051; 9. Scott Palmer, 2,042; 10. Shawn Langdon, 2,036.

FUNNY CAR: 1. Robert Hight, 2,197; 2. Ron Capps, 2,153; 3. Courtney Force, 2,141; 4. Tommy Johnson Jr., 2,107; 5. (tie) Matt Hagan, 2,102; J.R. Todd, 2,102; 7. Jack Beckman, 2,095; 8. John Force, 2,085; 9. Tim Wilkerson, 2,046; 10. Cruz Pedregon, 2,033.

PRO STOCK: 1. Tanner Gray, 2,206; 2. Bo Butner, 2,181; 3. Greg Anderson, 2,171; 4. Jason Line, 2,132; 5. Drew Skillman, 2,113; 6. Erica Enders, 2,092; 7. Jeg Coughlin, 2,084; 8. Vincent Nobile, 2,052; 9. Allen Johnson, 2,042; 10. Chris McGaha, 2,034.

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1. Eddie Krawiec, 2,202; 2. LE Tonglet, 2,154; 3. Hector Arana Jr, 2,150; 4. Andrew Hines, 2,144; 5. Jerry Savoie, 2,141; 6. Matt Smith, 2,105; 7. Scotty Pollacheck, 2,085; 8. Joey Gladstone, 2,052; 9. Karen Stoffer, 2,042; 10. Angie Smith, 2,033.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Event Charlotte II
Track Charlotte Motor Speedway
Article type Race report