Jeg's Allstars Joliet preview

Stellar field assembled for JEG'S Allstars event JOLIET, Ill. (June 5) --On Saturday, June 10, a field of 62 of the best NHRA sportsman drag racers in North America will converge on Route 66 Raceway in Joliet to do battle for a share of a...

Stellar field assembled for JEG'S Allstars event

JOLIET, Ill. (June 5) --On Saturday, June 10, a field of 62 of the best NHRA sportsman drag racers in North America will converge on Route 66 Raceway in Joliet to do battle for a share of a $100,000 payout during the 22nd annual JEG'S Allstars competition. The JEG'S Allstars features racing in eight NHRA sportsman eliminators -- Top Alcohol Dragster, Top Alcohol Funny Car, Competition, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street. Competitors earn their way into this prestigious event by accumulating points during Lucas Oil Series events held within their home divisions. The seven divisional points leaders in each eliminator are joined by the defending event champs, who are invited to return as blockers.

Racers are competing for both individual and team honors during the event. The Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car champions will each receive $7,000. The Comp and Super Stock winners will earn $6,000 each and the champions in Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street will take home $4,500 apiece. The team that accumulates the most round wins during the competition will share in a $20,000 bonus. In addition, any racer who wins the JEG'S Allstars title on Saturday and returns on Sunday to win his or her respective category during final eliminations for the CARQUEST Auto Parts Nationals will receive double prize money directly from JEG'S.

Last year, the team from the North West Division claimed a narrow 1,200 to 1,000 point victory over the host team from the North Central Division. The championship was just the second for the North West Division, whose racers last won the title in 1988.

Last year's individual category winners were Gene Snow (Top Alcohol Dragster), Frank Manzo (Top Alcohol Funny Car), Dave Barcelon (Comp), Kevin Smith (Super Stock), Rod Johnson (Stock), Shawn Langdon (Super Comp), Steve Cohen (Super Gas), and Eric Reiff (Super Street). Manzo, a six-time JEG'S Allstars champ, who represents the North East Division, also won the CARQUEST Auto Parts Nationals title, earning a $14,000 payday.

The JEG'S Allstars competition will get underway at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, June 10 with the semifinal round scheduled for 2:30 p.m., and the final rounds for 4 p.m. Following the final rounds, JEG'S will host an awards dinner for all of the competitors and their crews.

<pre> 2006 JEG'S Allstars Rosters

Top Alcohol Dragster Division 1 Art Gallant Division 2 Artie Allen Division 3 Marty Thacker Division 4 Steve Torrence Division 5 Richard Putz Division 6 none Division 7 Mike Austin Blocker none

Top Alcohol Funny Car Division 1 Fran Manzo Division 2 Mark Billington Division 3 Mick Snyder Division 4 Brandon Lewis Division 5 Cy Chesterman Division 6 Bucky Austin Division 7 Doug Gordon Blocker Danny Townsend

Competition Division 1 Frank Aragona Division 2 Glen Treadwell Division 3 Jeff Taylor Division 4 Joey Tanksley Division 5 Michael Johnson Division 6 Michael Stone Division 7 Dean Carter Blocker Dave Barcelon

Super Stock Division 1 Joe Santangelo II Division 2 Hugh Meeks III Division 3 Jeff Dona Division 4 Joe Teuton III Division 5 Don Duke Division 6 Mike Lewis Division 7 Greg Luneack Blocker Kevin Smith

Stock Division 1 Don Pires Division 2 Mickey Whaley Division 3 Ben Wenzel Division 4 Jimmy Hidalgo Jr. Division 5 Gene Mosbek Division 6 Mike Lewis Division 7 Errol Farmer Blocker Joe Sorenson

Super Comp Division 1 Dick Dorr Division 2 Todd Ewing Division 3 Ron Erks Division 4 Doug Miller Division 5 Gary Stinnett Division 6 Ty Anderson Division 7 Greg Boutte Blocker Shawn Langdon

Super Gas Division 1 George Smith Division 2 David Tatum III Division 3 Rock Haas Division 4 Jimmy Lewis Division 5 Butch Kleewein Division 6 Wayne Linder Jr. Division 7 Rick Beckstrom Blocker Steve Cohen

Super Street Division 1 Lynn Hoosigian Division 2 Mike Ruff Division 3 Justin Rosenbohm Division 4 Jeremy Wilson Division 5 A.J. Percival Division 6 Ray Carlson Division 7 Gary Thompson Blocker Eric Reiff


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Frank Aragona , Frank Manzo , Mark Billington , George Smith , Bucky Austin , Marty Thacker , Dean Carter , Mick Snyder , Doug Gordon , Danny Townsend , Ron Erks , Rick Beckstrom , Steve Torrence , Gary Thompson , Shawn Langdon , Michael Johnson