Gary Densham

Force, Crampton and Enders-Stevens winners at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

NHRA Mello Yello Series results Sunday from Las Vegas

LAS VEGAS – John Force, the winningest driver in NHRA history, raced to the Funny Car victory Sunday in his Peak Antifreeze Chevy Camaro at the NHRA Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Richie Crampton (Top Fuel) and Erica Enders-Stevens (Pro Stock) also were winners at the fifth of 24 events of the 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing season.

Funny Car

Force, a 16-time Funny Car world champ, clocked a 4.148-second pass at 312.35 mph to defeat teammate Robert Hight in the final round. Hight trailed with a 4.154 at 306.05 in his Auto Club Chevy Camaro. This marks Force’s 142nd career win and fifth career win at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“Robert is my best team,” Force said. “He’s hot on that Christmas tree so I really got to get after him. The win was good but all that we’ve been through, with financial change, my sponsors promised to keep me competitive, win championships and I could build safety. We were lucky today and I’ll take lucky any day because it buys us some time to learn.”

En route to his first final round appearance and win of the season, Force sprinted past Chad Head, defending world champion Matt Hagan and 2014 event winner Alexis DeJoria in earlier rounds. This is the first win by a Chevy Funny Car since Phoenix 2003. Force, who qualified eighth, is No. 6 in the NHRA Mello Yello Series points standing.

Hight, the 2009 Funny Car world champion and runner-up at this event one year ago, beat Ron Capps, Cruz Pedregon and Tommy Johnson Jr. on his way to the final round. The president of John Force racing moved to third in the points standings with the runner-up finish.

Event top qualifier Matt Hagan moved back into the points lead despite losing in the quarterfinals.

Top Fuel

In Top Fuel, Crampton posted a performance of 3.902 at 301.33 in his Lucas Oil dragster to better Larry Dixon’s 4.466 at 201.73 in his C&J Energy dragster. This marks Crampton’s third career victory and first at The Strip.

“It’s huge,” Crampton said. “Obviously, we want to win right out of the gate but that hasn’t always been the case for Morgan Lucas Racing. To win at the fifth event and technically go to the final at the Four-Wide, we’re gathering some good momentum and it’s a huge boost for our entire team. We got a great hot track race car.”

Crampton, the 2014 Rookie of the Year, has never lost a final round and moves to fifth in the points standings. He qualified fifth and raced past Troy Buff, Steve Torrence and No. 1 qualifier, J.R. Todd, before beating Dixon in the final.

Dixon bounced back quickly from a spectacular crash a month ago in Gainesville, Fla. and worked his way up to the final as the No. 15 qualifier. The three-time winner at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway raced past defending world champ Tony Schumacher, Clay Millican and Spencer Massey to advance to his 109th final round appearance.

Despite a first round exit, Antron Brown held on to his series points lead.

Pro Stock

In Pro Stock, Enders-Stevens scored her 13th career victory and first of the season on a holeshot start in the final by posting a 6.674 at 207.24 in her Elite Motorsports Chevy Camaro against Vincent Nobile’s 6.674 at 207.91 in his Mountain View Tire Camaro.

“Just very proud for Elite Motorsports and Elite Performance,” Enders-Stevens said. “My guys work so hard and continue to give me a consistent race car which has been a struggle to start this year. I think we got our hot rod back and I guess we can start saying Vegas is our lucky track. Winning is so dang challenging and to be able to come here and do what we did yesterday and double up again today is certainly a high-pressure situation but my guys thrive on it and perform very well under it. I’m so proud of them and proud of our team.”

As the second qualifier, she outran Matt Hartford, Jimmy Alund and Greg Anderson before her win light against Nobile in the final.

Enders-Stevens had a well-rounded weekend, doubling up on victories by winning the event and the K&N Horsepower Challenge, a Pro Stock specialty race, on Saturday. She defeated Nobile in the final round of the K&N Horsepower Challenge, as well, and pocketed $50,000 for taking the specialty event and an extra $25,000 for doubling up. She is the first driver to sweep both events in consecutive seasons since Bob Glidden accomplished the feat in 1987 and 1988.

Enders-Stevens moved into second place in the points standings, and now trails series leader Jason Line, who lost in the second round via a red-light start.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues April 24-26 with the O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA SpringNationals near Houston.

Final finish order (1-16) at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Top Fuel: 1. Richie Crampton; 2. Larry Dixon; 3. J.R. Todd; 4. Spencer Massey; 5. Steve Torrence; 6. Shawn Langdon; 7. Clay Millican; 8. Dom Lagana; 9. Doug Kalitta; 10. Tony Schumacher; 11. Brittany Force; 12. Antron Brown; 13. Steve Faria; 14. Dave Connolly; 15. Terry McMillen; 16. Troy Buff.

Funny Car: 1. John Force; 2. Robert Hight; 3. Tommy Johnson Jr.; 4. Alexis DeJoria; 5. Matt Hagan; 6. Del Worsham; 7. Cruz Pedregon; 8. Tim Wilkerson; 9. Jack Beckman; 10. Ron Capps; 11. Courtney Force; 12. Tony Pedregon; 13. Gary Densham; 14. Jeff Arend; 15. John Hale; 16. Chad Head.

Pro Stock: 1. Erica Enders-Stevens; 2. Vincent Nobile; 3. Greg Anderson; 4. Allen Johnson; 5. Jason Line; 6. Chris McGaha; 7. Jimmy Alund; 8. V. Gaines; 9. Rodger Brogdon; 10. Drew Skillman; 11. Shane Gray; 12. Deric Kramer; 13. Joey Grose; 14. Larry Morgan; 15. Jonathan Gray; 16. Matt Hartford

Point standings (top 10)

Top Fuel:  1. Antron Brown, 385; 2. Tony Schumacher, 375; 3. Shawn Langdon, 370; 4. Spencer Massey, 358; 5. Richie Crampton, 349; 6. Steve Torrence, 273; 7. Doug Kalitta, 272; 8. Larry Dixon, 263; 9. J.R. Todd, 261; 10. Clay Millican, 241.

Funny Car:  1. Matt Hagan, 369; 2. Del Worsham, 360; 3. Robert Hight, 323; 4. Tommy Johnson Jr., 316; 5. Ron Capps, 313; 6. John Force, 287; 7. Alexis DeJoria, 271; 8. Cruz Pedregon, 257; 9. John Hale, 256; 10. Jack Beckman, 249.

Pro Stock:  1. Jason Line, 426; 2. Erica Enders-Stevens, 391; 3. Greg Anderson, 379; 4. Rodger Brogdon, 352; 5. Chris McGaha, 338; 6. Drew Skillman, 300; 7. Vincent Nobile, 285; 8. Larry Morgan, 268; 9. Allen Johnson, 249; 10. Shane Gray, 233.



Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Clay Millican , Antron Brown , Larry Dixon , Tony Pedregon , Del Worsham , Ron Capps , John Force , Tony Schumacher , Doug Kalitta , Greg Anderson , Larry Morgan , Gary Densham , Bob Glidden , Cruz Pedregon , Tim Wilkerson , Jack Beckman , Allen Johnson , Morgan Lucas , Jason Line , Rodger Brogdon , Jeff Arend , Jimmy Alund , Robert Hight , Erica Enders , J.R. Todd , Matt Hagan , Troy Buff , Steve Torrence , Dave Connolly , Matt Hartford , John Hale , Shane Gray , Shawn Langdon , Vincent Nobile , Steve Faria , Spencer Massey , Dom Lagana , Terry McMillen , Joey Gase , Courtney Force , Deric Kramer , Brittany Force , Chad Head , Richie Crampton , Chris McGaha , Tommy Johnson Jr. , Jonathan Gray
Article type Race report
Tags las vegas motor speedway, the strip