Five drivers clinch Countdown to the Championship berths at Brainerd

BRAINERD, Minn. – Following the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Brainerd International Raceway, five more drivers clinched Full Throttle Countdown to the Championship playoff berths. There are now 23 drivers who will be competing for a title in their respective categories.

Doug Kalitta
Doug Kalitta

Photo by: Michael C. Johnson

Top Fuel racer Doug Kalitta and Funny Car drivers Johnny Gray and Mike Neff locked up their positions during qualifying.

Top Fuel racers Shawn Langdon and Morgan Lucas, along with Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Karen Stoffer, clinched their spots in the Countdown during Sunday’s eliminations.

The NHRA Full Throttle Series regular season concludes Labor Day weekend in Indianapolis at the Mac Tools U.S. Nationals presented by Auto-Plus. A six-race playoff series, the Full Throttle Countdown to the Championship, begins Sept. 14 at zMAX Dragway near Charlotte, N.C. leading up to the crowning of the 2012 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series world champions.


Top Fuel
1. Spencer Massey
2. Antron Brown
3. Tony Schumacher
4. Steve Torrence
5. Doug Kalitta
6. Morgan Lucas
7. Shawn Langdon

Funny Car
1. Robert Hight
2. Ron Capps
3. Jack Beckman
4. Mike Neff
5. Johnny Gray

Pro Stock
1. Greg Anderson
2. Jason Line
3. Allen Johnson
4. Mike Edwards
5. Vincent Nobile
6. Erica Enders

Pro Stock Motorcycle
1. Eddie Krawiec
2. Andrew Hines
3. Hector Arana Jr.
4. Hector Arana Sr.
5. Karen Stoffer

Source: NHRA

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Antron Brown , Ron Capps , Tony Schumacher , Doug Kalitta , Greg Anderson , Jack Beckman , Karen Stoffer , Allen Johnson , Johnny Gray , Morgan Lucas , Jason Line , Andrew Hines , Robert Hight , Steve Torrence , Hector Arana Jr. , Eddie Krawiec , Mike Edwards , Shawn Langdon , Vincent Nobile , Mike Neff , Spencer Massey , Hector Arana Sr.
Article type Breaking news
Tags funny car, gray, langdon, lucas, motorcycle, neff, nhra, pro stock, psm, stoffer, top fuel