Englishtown: SuperNationals post-race notes

Post Race Notes: 35th Annual K&N Filters NHRA SuperNationals June 17-20, 2004, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park, Englishtown, N.J. TOP FUEL * Larry Dixon, from Indianapolis, collected the 34th victory of his career and his first at Englishtown...

Post Race Notes:
35th Annual K&N Filters NHRA SuperNationals
June 17-20, 2004, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park, Englishtown, N.J.


* Larry Dixon, from Indianapolis, collected the 34th victory of his career and his first at Englishtown since 1995 by defeating Cory McClenathan in the final round. Dixon raced to victory in the Miller Lite dragster, posting a 4.657-second time at 318.92 mph, topping McClenathan's 4.703 at 304.39 in the Carrier Boyz/Berryman dragster.

* Dixon, the two-time defending Top Fuel champion, earned the event win for the first time since the 2003 race at Sonoma, Calif. - an 18 race span.

* Brandon Bernstein was the No. 1 qualifier for the event, the fifth of his career. He drove his Budweiser dragster to the top of the 16-car order with a run of 4.565 at 325.85.

* Tony Schumacher, the current POWERade points leader, qualified No. 3 and posted a first-round loss to Rit Pustari. It was Schumacher's second opening round loss of the season.

* Larry Dixon earned a $1,000 bonus by earning the Motel 6 'Who Got the Light' award when he defeated Darrell Russell by 0.0025 of-a-second margin of victory in the semifinal of Top Fuel eliminations.

* With the win, Dixon moved up from eighth to sixth place in the standings. Bernstein holds the No. 2 spot followed by Doug Kalitta in third place.


* Gary Densham, from Bellflower, Calif., defeated John Force in the final round for his seventh career victory and first at the SuperNationals. Densham powered his Auto Club Ford Mustang to a run of 5.004 at 311.70 to earn the victory over Force's Castrol GTX Start Up Ford Mustang, which clocked a performance of 5.902 at 175.57, after losing traction near halftrack.

* Eric Medlen, from Indianapolis, was the No.1 qualifier -- the first of his career. Medlen motored the Castrol Syntec Ford Mustang to a performance of 4.830 at 317.72.

* Force Racing teammates Force, Densham and Medlen are currently third, fourth and fifth, respectively, in the Funny Car point standings.

* Del Worsham took back the points lead following the event. Whit Bazemore had the lead going into the SuperNationals. Worsham and Bazemore faced each other in the first round after qualifying eighth and ninth, respectively. Worsham went 5.028 at 288.39 to beat Bazemore's 5.207 at 269.94. Worsham lost to Densham in the semifinals, but has the points lead again. Worsham has been the leader following seven events this season.


* Jason Line from Terrell, N.C., paced the field on eliminations day, winning the Pro Stock title for the second time in his career. Line used a 6.761 at 203.58 in his KB Framers Pontiac Grand Am, defeating Kurt Johnson in the ACDelco Chevy Cavalier, who managed a 6.771 at 203.58 for his third runner-up finish this season.

* Greg Anderson was the No. 1 qualifier for the eighth time this season and 25th time of his career. He turned in a 6.766 at 203.89 in his Vegas General Construction Pontiac Grand Am

* Anderson, however, lost in the first round for the first time this season and first time since the April 2003 race in Bristol, Tenn.

* Six-time Pro Stock champion Warren Johnson did not qualify for the event. It was his first DNQ of the season and eighth of his career.

* Anderson leads K. Johnson by 322 points in the NHRA POWERade Pro Stock standings. Line is 358 points behind Anderson.


* Andrew Hines, from Indianapolis, earned the third victory of his career and the third of the season by defeating Craig Treble in the final round of the two-wheel category. Hines posted a national record-setting E.T. run of 7.016 at 192.28 on his Vance & Hines Screamin' Eagle Harley-Davidson for the win. Treble went 7.138 at 186.59 on his Matco Tools Suzuki in his first final round of the season.

* Hines was the No. 1 qualifier of the event for the fifth time this season. Hines ran a 7.078 at 188.75 to pace the field in qualifying. The only race Hines has not held the top honors going into eliminations was Atlanta, where he qualified in fifth place.

* With the win, top qualifying award and the national record, Hines earned the maximum amount of points available - 138 - during the weekend.

* Hines set and reset the national E.T. record during the weekend. Angelle Savoie had the record prior to the race - a 7.049 set at Englishtown in 2003. Hines ran a 7.020 in the first round before re-setting the record in the finals.

* Hines is the points leader in the category. He leads second-place rider Shawn Gann by 185 points following the sixth of 15 PSB events.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Larry Dixon , Kurt Johnson , Warren Johnson , Del Worsham , Whit Bazemore , John Force , Tony Schumacher , Doug Kalitta , Greg Anderson , Shawn Gann , Gary Densham , Craig Treble , Cory McClenathan , Brandon Bernstein , Jason Line , Andrew Hines , Eric Medlen