Englishtown: GM Racing preview

GM Racing Competitors Head East for NHRA SuperNationals Pontiac's Jason Line Looks for Fourth Straight Win at Englishtown ENGLISHTOWN, N.J., June 18, 2007 - The NHRA POWERade series heads east for the 37th annual ProCare Rx NHRA SuperNationals...

GM Racing Competitors Head East for NHRA SuperNationals Pontiac's Jason Line Looks for Fourth Straight Win at Englishtown

ENGLISHTOWN, N.J., June 18, 2007 - The NHRA POWERade series heads east for the 37th annual ProCare Rx NHRA SuperNationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park on June 21 - 24, the first of six national events held on consecutive weekends. GM Racing competitors are gearing up for what promises to be a long hot summer and the extended series of events will go a long way in determining the final eight spots for the three professional categories in the Countdown to the Championship.

Pontiac's Jason Line has never lost a Pro Stock race at Englishtown. The defending POWERade champion has won the last three contests at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park and is the only Pro Stock driver to ever win three straight contests at this event.

Pontiac teammates Greg Anderson and Jason Line will be signing autographs and discussing the 2007 season when they stop by Green Brook Pontiac-Buick-GMC-Hummer from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 21. Their two Summit Racing Pontiac GTOs and transporters will also be on display for race fans. Present your NHRA membership card and Green Brook Pontiac-Buick-GMC-Hummer will pay your first five payments when you purchase or lease any new vehicle in stock up to $500 a month maximum (offer expires June 30). Green Brook Pontiac-Buick-GMC-Hummer is located at 101 Route 22 East, Green Brook, N.J. Telephone: 732.752.3000.

The Army Special Forces Association, Randall Shughart Chapter 64, based in Carlisle, Pa., will be raffling an autographed racing helmet signed by 44 NHRA drivers including current and former champions. The proceeds will be used to purchase telephone cards, clothing items and duffle bags for use by wounded/injured personnel at Landstuhl Regional Medical Center, Germany. Fans can register at the Pontiac-GMC display on the NHRA Manufacturer's Midway (where the helmet will be displayed in a custom-made case) on Friday, Saturday and Sunday of the ProCare RX SuperNationals. Fans attending the Greg Anderson/Jason Line autograph session on Thursday, June 21, from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. at Green Brook Pontiac-Buick-GMC in Green Brook, N.J., will also have an opportunity to enter the helmet giveaway.

Jeg Coughlin's win on June 10 at the Torco Racing Fuels NHRA Nationals in Chicago was the 137th all time for Chevrolet in the Pro Stock category.

Of Chevrolet's 137 Pro Stock victories, Kurt Johnson is tied with the legendary Lee Shepherd for the most wins behind the wheel of a Chevrolet at 26.

Chevrolet also leads the race for the 2007 NHRA Manufacturer's Cup with 2040 points and is 1360 points ahead if its nearest competitor. Chevrolet has won 15 NHRA Manufacturer's Cup championships (1966-69, 1973-81, 1983, 2002), the most by any manufacturer in the history of the sport.

GM Performance Parts Pontiac driver Warren Johnson is tied with Bob Glidden for the most Pro Stock victories at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park with four. The Hall of Fame racer won the first of 96 career national events at Englishtown in 1982 and followed up with wins in 1986, 1992-93. Pontiac's Jason Line has three victories, his teammate, Summit Racing Pontiac driver Greg Anderson has two wins (2002-03), and Team Chevy's Jeg Coughlin won races in 1998 and 2000.

Mike Edwards' engine builder, Frank Iaconio, won national events at Englishtown in 1979, 1981 and 1983. Bill Jenkins, engine builder for Pontiac's Jim Yates, won Pro Stock races in 1972-73, and Tom Hammonds' crew chief Jerry Eckman won at Englishtown in 1987.

Jim Yates holds the Pro Stock track record at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park set at 208.17 mph last year in a Pontiac GTO.

Greg Anderson has been the No. 1 qualifier at the last four races going back to the Summit Racing Nationals in Atlanta, and he's also qualified at 102 consecutive events, the longest active streak in the NHRA Pro Stock category. Anderson has been No. 1 qualifier at Englishtown twice (2003-04).

When Greg Anderson lost to Tom Hammonds at Chicago, it was the first time he'd been beaten in an opening round contest since last September's O'Reilly NHRA Fall Nationals in Dallas. Jeg Coughlin hasn't lost a first-round matchup since February's CSK Nastionals in Phoenix, and that is currently the longest streak in Pro Stock.

Greg Anderson's 48th career win at Heartland Park Topeka (Kan.) on June 3 was Pontiac's 177th all time in the NHRA Pro Stock category.

Team Chevy's Tom Hammonds will be making his 90th career start this weekend at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park. Hammonds has qualified in six of the seven races he's entered this season.

Among active Pro Stock drivers, Warren Johnson has earned the most No. 1 qualifying awards at Englishtown with five (1991-93, 1995, 1999), Team Chevy's Kurt Johnson has been No. 1 qualifier three times (1994, 1998, 2005), Pontiac's Jim Yates has been No. 1 qualifier twice (1997, 2002), Greg Anderson has been no. 1 qualifier twice (2003-04) and Jeg Coughlin was No. 1 qualifier in 2000.

With five wins this season in five final-round appearances, Pontiac's Greg Anderson leads the POWERade Pro Stock standings with 836 points. With his recent win in Chicago, Team Chevy's Jeg Coughlin moves up to second place with 657 points, Chevrolet's Dave Connolly is in third place with 607 points and Pontiac's Jason Line is in fourth place with 593 points. ACDelco Chevy Cobalt driver Kurt Johnson is in sixth place with 452 points, Pontiac's Warren Johnson is eighth with 413 points and Pontiac's Mike Edwards is ninth with 390 points. Only eight races remain until the Countdown to Eight which will be determined following the Reading (Pa.) national event on Aug. 19.

Chevrolet Funny Car team owner Don Prudhomme has the most Funny Car victories at Englishtown with six. Prudhomme captured wins at Old Bridge Township Raceway in 1976-77, 1980-82 and 1988. Snake Racing Top Fuel driver Larry Dixon is a three-time winner at Old Bridge capturing titles in 1995, 2004-05 and was runner-up last year.

Other current Chevrolet drivers with previous wins at Englishtown include Del Worsham (1991, 2005), Gary Densham (2002, 04), Cruz Pedregon (1995, 2000) and Tony Pedregon (2001).

Chevrolet's Tony Bartone was No. 1 qualifier in Funny Car for last year's contest.

-credit: gm racing

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Jeg Coughlin , Larry Dixon , Kurt Johnson , Warren Johnson , Tony Pedregon , Tony Bartone , Del Worsham , Greg Anderson , Gary Densham , Cruz Pedregon , Don Prudhomme , Tom Hammonds , Jason Line , Dave Connolly , Mike Edwards