Enders, Crampton, Worsham and Savoie race to victory at The Texas NHRA FallNationals

Erica Enders powered her Chevy Camaro to earn her eighth victory of the year, breaking a NHRA record.

Ennis, Texas – Erica Enders became the winningest female in a single season in NHRA history with her victory in Pro Stock Sunday at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals.

Richie Crampton (Top Fuel), Del Worsham (Funny Car) and Jerry Savoie (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were also victorious at the 22nd of 24 events of the 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season and the fourth of six races in the NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship.

Pro Stock

Enders powered her Elite Motorsports Chevy Camaro to a 6.467-second run at 214.48 mph to defeat Jonathan Gray and earn her eighth victory of the year, breaking Pro Stock Motorcycle’s Angelle Sampey’s record of seven wins in 2001. The Houston native also claimed her 20th career victory and first victory at Texas Motorplex just outside of Dallas.

“I have been talking about a cowboy hat for months – wanting to come here and win a cowboy hat – so I’m excited to be able to get that done in front of all of our friends and family,” said Enders, who extends her points lead to 154 over Greg Anderson heading to Las Vegas. “It’s just a huge blessing. You know I didn’t drive my best in the final round and my guys stepped up to the plate and picked up my slack, so I’m so appreciative to them. We just have such great team chemistry and great horsepower so I’m a happy girl.”

Gray was appearing in his second final of the season in his Gray Manufacturing Chevy Camaro. He defeated Alex Laughlin, rookie Bo Butner and Allen Johnson to reach the final.

Top Fuel

In Top Fuel, Crampton pushed his Lucas Oil dragster to a 3.972 at 283.07 win over Texas native Steve Torrence. Crampton, the 2014 Auto Club of California Road to the Future Award winner, earned his seventh career victory, fifth of the year and first at Dallas. The naturalized U.S. citizen and native of Australia moves to third in points with two races remaining.

“We started out pretty strong in qualifying,” said Crampton. “You figure you might have an easy first-round if you qualify in the top-half, but we pulled Doug Kalitta, and that team is tough. We were really lucky to throw that 3.70 down and get around him. Our race car fought us all day long from that point on. I was helping the guys change clutch controls between rounds twice today, and that’s a pretty big process. At the end of the day, I’m just beat.”

Local favorite Torrence pushed his Capco Contractors dragster to his third final of the season and first at Dallas, beating Larry Dixon, Shawn Langdon and Clay Millican.

Points leader Antron Brown and Don Schumacher Racing teammate Tony Schumacher held on to first and second place, respectively, in points. Brown holds a 132 point advantage over Schumacher, who fell in the first round to Millican. Brown reached the semifinals, falling to Crampton.

Funny Car

Worsham came up big in Funny Car with a 4.041 at 272.17 win in his DHL Toyota Camry over Jack Beckman’s 4.077 at 286.25 in his Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger R/T during the final round. Worsham, the current points leader, earned his 37th career victory (29 in FC) and has won three of the first four Countdown to the Championship races.

“It was a great weekend,” said Worsham, who now owns a 38 point lead over Beckman. “The car ran well all weekend other than the final round where it got a little squirrely. It was challenging today. We didn’t have the fastest car all day. Being in the right lane one round didn’t seem to matter, and we got ourselves in a final round. We kind of showed the depth we have right now at Kalitta Motorsports to come back from that explosion [in the St. Louis final] and win all these rounds.”

Beckman, who was coming off a victory at the most recent event in Reading, powered past Tony Pedregon, 16-time world champion John Force and teammate Tommy Johnson Jr. en route to his ninth final round appearance in 2015.

Pro Stock Motorcycle

Savoie rode his Savoie’s Alligator Farm Suzuki to his third Pro Stock Motorcycle victory of 2015 with a 6.744 at 198.44 win over Eddie Krawiec. The result was the fourth career win for Savoie, the event’s No. 1 qualifier, and his first at Dallas. The win moves the alligator farmer to third in points.

“When you're making the power like we had this weekend, and I can't thank Vance & Hines enough for that, you don't want to throw it away on a red-light,” said Savoie, who moved to third in points. “We tried to set up the clutch and myself for .050 reaction times, and we ended up a bit slower than that. But we managed to get away with a couple of close ones, so all is good.”

Krawiec, who is second in points, raced past Angie Smith, Hector Arana Jr. and Chip Ellis in the earlier rounds.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series next travels to Las Vegas for the NHRA Toyota Nationals, Oct. 29-Nov. 1, for the fifth of six Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship events.

Final finish order

Top Fuel: 1. Richie Crampton; 2. Steve Torrence; 3. Clay Millican; 4. Antron Brown; 5. Brittany Force; 6. Shawn Langdon; 7. Billy Torrence; 8. Dave Connolly; 9. Larry Dixon; 10. Doug Kalitta; 11. J.R. Todd; 12. Jenna Haddock; 13. Tony Schumacher; 14. Kebin Kinsley; 15. Terry McMillen; 16. Troy Buff.

Funny Car: 1. Del Worsham; 2. Jack Beckman; 3. Ron Capps; 4. Tommy Johnson Jr.; 5. Robert Hight; 6. Matt Hagan; 7. Alexis DeJoria; 8. John Force; 9. Cruz Pedregon; 10. Cory Lee; 11. Tim Wilkerson; 12. Courtney Force; 13. John Hale; 14. Blake Alexander; 15. Tony Pedregon; 16. Chad Head.

Pro Stock: 1. Erica Enders; 2. Jonathan Gray; 3. Drew Skillman; 4. Allen Johnson; 5. Jason Line; 6. Larry Morgan; 7. Chris McGaha; 8. Bo Butner; 9. Greg Anderson; 10. Shane Gray; 11. V. Gaines; 12. Alex Laughlin; 13. Deric Kramer; 14. Alan Prusiensky; 15. Vincent Nobile; 16. John Gaydosh Jr.

Pro Stock Motorcycle: 1. Jerry Savoie; 2. Eddie Krawiec; 3. Karen Stoffer; 4. Chip Ellis; 5. Matt Smith; 6. Steve Johnson; 7. Hector Arana; 8. Hector Arana Jr; 9. Scotty Pollacheck; 10. Michael Ray; 11. Jim Underdahl; 12. LE Tonglet; 13. Shawn Gann; 14. Angie Smith; 15. Andrew Hines; 16. Mike Berry.

Point standings (top 10) following the 30th annual NHRA FallNationals

Top Fuel

1. Antron Brown, 2,505; 2. Tony Schumacher, 2,373; 3. Richie Crampton, 2,302; 4. Brittany Force, 2,298; 5. Larry Dixon, 2,268; 6. Steve Torrence, 2,254; 7. Shawn Langdon, 2,236; 8. Dave Connolly, 2,219; 9. J.R. Todd, 2,213; 10. Doug Kalitta, 2,205.

Funny Car

1. Del Worsham, 2,488; 2. Jack Beckman, 2,450; 3. Tommy Johnson Jr., 2,341; 4. Ron Capps, 2,330; 5. Matt Hagan, 2,329; 6. John Force, 2,264; 7. Alexis DeJoria, 2,206; 8. Cruz Pedregon, 2,201; 9. Robert Hight, 2,196; 10. Tim Wilkerson, 2,195.

Pro Stock

1. Erica Enders, 2,501; 2. Greg Anderson, 2,347; 3. Chris McGaha, 2,335; 4. Allen Johnson, 2,299; 5. Drew Skillman, 2,298; 6. Larry Morgan, 2,292; 7. Jason Line, 2,240; 8. (tie) Jonathan Gray, 2,220; Vincent Nobile, 2,220; 10. Shane Gray, 2,183.

Pro Stock Motorcycle

1. Andrew Hines, 2,412; 2. Eddie Krawiec, 2,391; 3. Jerry Savoie, 2,381; 4. Hector Arana Jr, 2,331; 5. Chip Ellis, 2,305; 6. Matt Smith, 2,297; 7. Karen Stoffer, 2,280; 8. Hector Arana, 2,219; 9. Jim Underdahl, 2,158; 10. Scotty Pollacheck, 2,107.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Antron Brown , Del Worsham , Tony Schumacher , Greg Anderson , Jack Beckman , Andrew Hines , Erica Enders , Eddie Krawiec , Jerry Savoie , Richie Crampton , Chris McGaha , Tommy Johnson Jr.
Article type Race report