DeJoria, Brown gives Toyota a Nitro sweep at Phoenix

Alexis DeJoria is now the only woman ever to win races in both Nitro Funny Car and Top Alcohol Funny Car

TORRANCE, Cal. (Feb. 23, 2014) – Toyota drivers Alexis DeJoria (Funny Car) and Antron Brown (Top Fuel) gave Toyota a Nitro sweep in winning the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park in Phoenix, the second round of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.

Just a race after becoming the first woman ever to run a sub-four second pass in Funny Car competition, DeJoria earned her first career Nitro Funny Car victory. Making the feat even more impressive was DeJoria defeating three drivers in the top five in points. After beating Jeff Arend in the first round, she knocked off teammate Del Worsham in the second round. She then topped John Force in the semi-finals before registering the low E.T. of the day with a 4.043-second pass in winning over Robert Hight in the final.

Alexis DeJoria
Alexis DeJoria

Photo by: NHRA

“When we won, I couldn’t believe it,” said DeJoria. “I know we can do it, but it’s such a shock at the same time. It’s surreal. It’s really amazing. I don’t think I’m going to be able to sleep. What a great feeling. I’m just so proud of the whole Patrόn XO Café Toyota team.”

For Brown, the victory was his third in the last six years at Phoenix and gave him a victory in each of the last seven seasons, the longest active streak in Top Fuel racing today.

The 2012 world champion defeated Richie Crampton, Shawn Langdon, Doug Kalitta and Brittany Force on the way to his 26th Top Fuel victory.

"Phoenix holds a special place in my heart for what we’ve been through and what we’ve accomplished here,” said Brown. “None of these teams come out here to play games. It’s not recess no more. School is in, and you better be ready."

Two more Toyota Top Fuel drivers earned round wins today. Langdon knocked off Clay Millican before falling to Brown. Khalid alBalooshi, the winner of the season-opening Winternationals, defeated Leah Pritchard in round one and then lost to Kalitta in the second round.

In Funny Cars, Del Worsham won his opening round before being eliminated by Kalitta Motorsports teammate DeJoria in round two. Chad Head, Cruz Pedregon and Tony Pedregon all lost in their opening runs.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will be off the next two weekends before heading to Gainesville, Fla., for the 45th Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals, March 14-16.

Toyota Racing

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Clay Millican , Antron Brown , Tony Pedregon , Del Worsham , John Force , Doug Kalitta , Cruz Pedregon , Jeff Arend , Robert Hight , Shawn Langdon , Brittany Force , Chad Head , Richie Crampton
Teams Toyota Racing
Article type Race report
Tags alexis dejoria, antron brown, nhra, phoenix, toyota racing