Dallas Warren Johnson Review

WARREN DOMINATES DALLAS! Johnson Qualifies No. 1, Sets National E.T. and Speed Records, Scores Ninth Win of the Season Dallas; October 25, 1998 - One week after wrapping up his fourth NHRA Winston Pro ...


Johnson Qualifies No. 1, Sets National E.T. and Speed Records, Scores Ninth Win of the Season

Dallas; October 25, 1998 - One week after wrapping up his fourth NHRA Winston Pro Stock championship, Warren Johnson turned in another dominant performance in the Revell Nationals at the Texas Motorplex. W.J. did it all in Dallas: He qualified No. 1, set the national elapsed time and top speed records, and scored his ninth victory of the season.

Johnson put his GM Goodwrench Service Plus Pontiac in the winner's circle for the third straight race and the 72nd time in his career. Warren qualified his Firebird on the Pro Stock "pole" for the 12th time this season and rewrote the record book with the quickest and fastest Pro Stock run in NHRA history, qualifying No. 1 with a 6.867-second elapsed time at 201.34 mph. Johnson defeated Bruce Allen, Tom Martino, and Jeg Coughlin, Jr. to advance to his 114th career final round. The last race of the day featured a battle between the drivers who have won the last four championships when Warren faced his long-time rival Jim Yates. Johnson beat Yates in the final for the third time this season with a winning 6.950-second e.t. while Yates slowed to a 7.961 at 128 mph.

"I knew Yates would be hungry for a win," Warren reported. "We just went into the final with the same approach that had taken us there."

Johnson's Firebird was the class of the Pro Stock field in Dallas. W.J. ran eight straight 6-second runs in qualifying and eliminations. He topped 200 mph five times at the Motorplex, increasing his total of 200 mph runs to 22; no other driver has more than one. Warren ran the Low ET and Top Speed in every round of eliminations. He hit the "grand slam" (No. 1 qualifier, Low ET, Top Speed, and race win) for the sixth time this season and the 32nd time in his career.

Warren ran the table at the Motorplex, scoring 138 points, the maximum number possible. Since he has already clinched his fourth Pro Stock championship, the bonus points he earned for setting the national e.t. mark and winning the race were meaningless. He left Dallas with a 510-point margin over Coughlin.

"I'm running a points surplus this season," W.J. joked. "Maybe they'll let me carry some over to next year!"

Johnson was reluctant to reset the national record that he established in March in Gainesville, Fla. "We don't need the 20 bonus points this year because we've already wrapped up the championship," Warren noted. "This all-concrete track is unique, so we were trying to find something that would work well here - unfortunately, it resulted in setting the record! That will just make it more difficult to set the record next season when we might really need the points. Let's face it, we don't get a combination of weather and track conditions like this very often."

Mike Stryker was named the "Craftsman Crew Chief of the Race" for third race in a row and the seventh time this season for his role in taking Johnson's Firebird to the winner's circle. With his ninth win of the year, Johnson equaled his personal-best performance of nine victories in 1993 and 1995. Warren will race for this tenth victory at Houston Raceway Park on October 29-November 1 when the NHRA tour takes to the track for the fifth straight week.


WARREN JOHNSON RACE SUMMARY QUALIFYING: Warren Johnson qualified No. 1 at 6.867/201.34 mph ELIMINATIONS: Round 1: Warren Johnson (6.939/199.46) defeated Bruce Allen (6.987/196.93) Round 2: Warren Johnson (6.930/200.13) defeated Tom Martino (7.503/147.08) Semi-Final: Warren Johnson (6.934/199.55) defeated Jeg Coughlin, Jr. (7.022/197.97) Final Round: Warren Johnson (6.950/199.02) defeated Jim Yates (7.961/128.36)

LOW ET: Warren Johnson, 6.867 (national and track record) TOP SPEED: Warren Johnson, 201.34 mph (national and track record)

PRO STOCK STANDINGS (after 20 of 22 events): Driver Wins Points 1. Warren Johnson 9 1838 (clinched championship) 2. Jeg Coughlin 3 1328 -510 3. Kurt Johnson 2 1302 -536 4. Jim Yates 1 1261 -577 5. Mark Osborne 1 994 -844

NEXT EVENT: Oct. 29-Nov. 1, NHRA Matco Tools SuperNationals, Houston, Texas (TV: TNN, Nov. 1, 6:00-7:30 p.m. Eastern - check local listings)

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Jeg Coughlin , Kurt Johnson , Warren Johnson , Bruce Allen , Tom Martino