Dallas: Greg Anderson peview

Anderson: "Been there; done that" ENNIS, Texas (September 19, 2007) -- As far as championship battles go, Greg Anderson, driver of the KB Racing LLC-owned, Summit Racing Equipment -backed Pontiac GTO, can say, "Been...

Anderson: "Been there; done that"

ENNIS, Texas (September 19, 2007) -- As far as championship battles go, Greg Anderson, driver of the KB Racing LLC-owned, Summit Racing Equipment -backed Pontiac GTO, can say, "Been there; done that."

As the three-time NHRA POWERade Pro Stock Champion Anderson, from Mooresville, N.C, begins the third race -- the 22nd annual NHRA O'Reilly Fall Nationals, at the Texas Motorplex -- in the Countdown to 4 segment of the NHRA POWERade Pro Stock Countdown to the Championship, he is currently in second among the eight drivers that are still in contention for this year's championship.

"Yes, I can say, 'Been there; done that,'" said Anderson, "but that doesn't make it any easier, especially with the new Countdown this year. Every year is different and each comes with its own pressures.

"A lot of our pressures we create ourselves because we continue to try to out do the year before and stay ahead of the competition. This year there's additional pressures due to the caliber of the competition and especially from the new format. You have to be at the top of your game all throughout the year. This segment (of the Countdown) is especially nerve racking and I can only imagine what the final two races are going to be like. One slip now and you may wave goodbye to that POWERade trophy."

Entering the O'Reilly Fall Nationals, the Pro Stock point standings in the Countdown to 4 look like this: No. 1 -- Dave Connolly (2291), No. 2 -- Greg Anderson (2258), No. 3 -- Jeg Coughlin (2156), No. 4 -- Allen Johnson (2129), No. 5 -- Kurt Johnson (2127/-2 points behind No. 4), No. 6 -- Jason Line (2098/-31), No. 7 -- Larry Morgan (2085/-44), and Warren Johnson (2071/-58).

The top four drivers in points at the end of the four-race playoff, of the eight pro Stock drivers listed above, will advance to the third and final segment (Countdown to 1) and the opportunity to be the 2007 NHRA POWERade Pro Stock Champion. Similar exciting scenarios are also being played out in the three other professional categories -- Top Fuel Funny Car, and Pro Stock Motorcycles. Pro Stock Motorcycles actually have a three-race playoff, instead of four, that ends at Dallas.

At the last race, Anderson said prior to his final-round appearance against Dave Connolly at Memphis: "Dave's (Connolly's) a tough character and he's obviously on a roll. He's doing a heck of a job and actually that whole team does a heck of a job. But I'm pretty proud of my guys too. I need a win - I need to put this Summit Racing Pontiac in the winner's circle. It seems like it's been a while. He's smokin' hot and I need to stop him."

He finished runner-up at Memphis as the record shows, but Anderson added this for Dallas: "We are getting our consistency back and now need to stop Connolly's momentum. On our side of the fence, it's our intent to do just that at Dallas. Of course, Connolly's intent is to keep that momentum going. The intensity will be great through these last four races, but I believe that our Summit Pontiac and everybody on this KB Racing team will be up for the battle. "

While Anderson looks to eliminate the 33 point deficit between himself and Dave Connolly, the Summit Racing Pontiac driver has been on a roll of his own.

The third most prolific winner in Pro Stock history, Anderson will be going after his 51st career win at the 22nd annual NHRA O'Reilly Fall Nationals. Thus far in 2007, through 19 races, he has seven wins in ten final rounds and has advanced to the final round in four of the last five races, notching his 350th round win in the semifinal round at Memphis.

At the Texas Motorplex, the all-concrete quarter-mile in Ennis, Texas, near Dallas, he has won twice -- in 2003 (over Jeg Coughlin) and 2005 (over teammate Jason Line).

-credit: kbr

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Jeg Coughlin , Kurt Johnson , Greg Anderson , Larry Morgan , Jason Line , Dave Connolly