Brown drives DSR dragster into Phoenix winner's circle

Antron Brown gives DSR its 220th NHRA Mello Yello Series event title.

CHANDLER, Ariz. - Antron Brown and his Matco Tools Top Fuel team gave Don Schumacher Racing its first NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event title of the year when he won for the 42nd time in his career and third time in six years near Phoenix.

Allen Johnson, Alexis DeJoria and Antron Brown
Allen Johnson, Alexis DeJoria and Antron Brown

Photo by: NHRA

Antron defeated Brittany Force, who advanced to the final round for the first time ever with a time of 3.755 seconds at 324.20 mph to her 3.793 at 322.40 at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park.

In Funny Car, Tommy Johnson Jr. and the Make-A-Wish Dodge Charger R/T team advanced the furthest for Don Schumacher Racing's Funny Car teams when he went to the semifinals. Johnson also was the No. 2 qualifier for the Terry Chandler-sponsored DSR team that promotes awareness for Make-A-Wish America.

Brown with crew chiefs Brian Corradi and Mark Oswald along with assistant Brad Mason provided DSR with its 220th NHRA event title.

The next Mello Yello event and third in the 24-race series is the March 14-16 Gatornationals at Gainesville, Fla.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Antron Brown , Allen Johnson , Don Schumacher , Brittany Force , Tommy Johnson Jr.
Article type Race report
Tags antron brown, nhra, phoenix