Brittany Force scores second win of the season

Brittany Force beat Steve Torrence to clinch her second Top Fuel of 2017 at the 33rd Dodge NHRA Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway, as Ron Capps (Funny Car), Bo Butner (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won.

Brittany Force scores second win of the season


Force took down Steve Torrence in the final round of Top Fuel action with a 3.756 pass at 326.24 in her Monster Energy dragster to secure her second victory of the season and first since the event in Epping, N.H. in June. Force has now reached the final round at Maple Grove Raceway three times in her career, including in 2016.

“I’m so glad to have this entire Monster Energy team and this car ran pretty consistent through qualifying and on race day, so it’s because of my team that we got this win,” Force said. “I’ve been to the final round here three times and got taken down in the first two, so this one was a big one for us.”

Force entered Sunday as the No. 4 qualifier before defeating Wayne Newby, Tony Schumacher and reigning world champion Antron Brown on her way to the third final round of the year. Torrence qualified third and was victorious against Terry Haddock, Leah Pritchett and Dom Lagana as he reached his tenth final round this season. Torrence retook the points lead with the runner-up finish. 


Capps secured his category-best seventh victory of the season and 57th of his career with a 3.968-second pass at 326.48 mph in his NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger R/T to take down Courtney Force’s 3.993 at 311.70 in her Advance Auto Parts Chevy Camaro in the final round. Capps retook the points lead in the Countdown to the Championship with the victory.

“We got lucky a little bit in the first round, but we feel like our hard work makes our own luck for us and we were fortunate to win it with consistency,” Capps said. “We know this Funny Car class is as tough as it’s ever been, so we know this won’t be easy through the last four races of the year.”

Capps earned the third qualifying position and took down Jim Campbell, 2016 winner of the events Tommy Johnson Jr. and teammate Matt Hagan on the way to his tenth final round this season. C. Force qualified eighth and defeated Bob Tasca III, teammate Robert Hight and Jack Beckman as she reached her fourth final round of the season. She is still without a win in 2017. 


Bo Butner drove to victory with a 6.613 at 209.95 in his Jim Butner’s Auto Chevrolet Camaro to defeat Greg Anderson’s 6.660 at 206.95 in his Summit Racing Equipment Camaro in the final round. He locked down his fourth career victory in Pro Stock, all four of which have come this season, as he reclaimed the lead in the Countdown to the Championship standings.

 “I’m really excited about where we’re at, but we know there are still four more races left so we just have to keep doing our jobs,” Butner said. “We had eight good runs this weekend so things kind of worked in our favor this time around, and it shows how strong our team is.”

Butner was the No. 1 qualifier and continued his strong weekend with victories over Val Smeland, Erica Enders and Allen Johnson before reaching his ninth final round of 2017.


Eddoe Krawiec rode to the Pro Stock Motorcycle victory with a 6.852 at 196.70 on his Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson to better LE Tonglet on his Nitro Fish Racing Suzuki in the finals. He earned his fifth victory of the season and third consecutive to extend his points lead.

“Things are definitely on the upswing since we switched back to last year’s chassis,” said Krawiec. “It’s been huge for me and my team at the exact right time. We didn’t start out as strong as we had hoped in qualifying, but we put it all together today and we’re pretty pleased with these results.”

Krawiec qualified fourth before taking down Kelly Clontz, teammate Andrew Hines and No. 1 qualifier Scott Pollacheck en route to the finals.


Final finish order at 33rd annual Dodge NHRA Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway

TOP FUEL: 1. Brittany Force; 2. Steve Torrence; 3. Dom Lagana; 4. Antron Brown; 5. Leah Pritchett; 6. Tony Schumacher; 7. Clay Millican; 8. Doug Kalitta; 9. Terry McMillen; 10. Audrey Worm; 11. Shawn Langdon; 12. Terry Haddock; 13. Richie Crampton; 14. Wayne Newby; 15. Scott Palmer. 
Final: Brittany Force, 3.756 seconds, 326.24 mph def. Steve Torrence, 3.857 seconds, 258.76 mph. 

FUNNY CAR: 1. Ron Capps; 2. Courtney Force; 3. Jack Beckman; 4. Matt Hagan; 5. Tim Wilkerson; 6. Tommy Johnson Jr.; 7. Robert Hight; 8. Jonnie Lindberg; 9. J.R. Todd; 10. Bob Tasca III; 11. Cruz Pedregon; 12. Jim Campbell; 13. Mike Smith; 14. Alexis DeJoria; 15. John Force; 16. Jeff Diehl. 
Final: Ron Capps, Dodge Charger, 3.968, 326.48 def. Courtney Force, Chevy Camaro, 3.993, 311.70. 

PRO STOCK: 1. Bo Butner; 2. Greg Anderson; 3. Allen Johnson; 4. Jason Line; 5. Matt Hartford; 6. Erica Enders; 7. Tanner Gray; 8. Drew Skillman; 9. Jeg Coughlin; 10. Chris McGaha; 11. Alan Prusiensky; 12. Larry Morgan; 13. Kenny Delco; 14. Val Smeland; 15. Alex Laughlin; 16. Brian Self.
Final: Bo Butner, Chevy Camaro, 6.613, 209.95 def. Greg Anderson, Camaro, 6.660, 206.95. 

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1. Eddie Krawiec; 2. LE Tonglet; 3. Scotty Pollacheck; 4. Hector Arana Jr; 5. Andrew Hines; 6.

Matt Smith; 7. Karen Stoffer; 8. Jerry Savoie; 9. Steve Johnson; 10. Joey Gladstone; 11. Ron Tornow; 12. Angie Smith; 13. Kelly Clontz; 14. Charles Sullivan; 15. Andie Rawlings; 16. Lance Bonham. 
Final: Pro Stock Motorcycle -- Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson, 6.852, 196.70 def. LE Tonglet, Suzuki, 17.593, 31.71. 

Point standings after 20 of 24 events in NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series,
Race 2 in the Countdown to the Championship

TOP FUEL: 1. Steve Torrence, 2,259; 2. Doug Kalitta, 2,237; 3. Brittany Force, 2,236; 4. Antron Brown, 2,208; 5. Tony Schumacher, 2,174; 6. Clay Millican, 2,171; 7. Leah Pritchett, 2,162; 8. Terry McMillen, 2,083; 9. Scott Palmer, 2,074; 10. Shawn Langdon, 2,068.

FUNNY CAR: 1. Ron Capps, 2,273; 2. Robert Hight, 2,265; 3. Courtney Force, 2,234; 4. Matt Hagan, 2,183; 5. Jack Beckman, 2,173; 6. Tommy Johnson Jr., 2,159; 7. J.R. Todd, 2,135; 8. John Force, 2,116; 9. Tim Wilkerson, 2,098; 10. Cruz Pedregon, 2,065.

PRO STOCK: 1. Bo Butner, 2,307; 2. Greg Anderson, 2,266; 3. Tanner Gray, 2,265; 4. Jason Line, 2,217; 5. Drew Skillman, 2,169; 6. Erica Enders, 2,144; 7. Allen Johnson, 2,119; 8. Jeg Coughlin, 2,116; 9. Chris McGaha, 2,067; 10. Vincent Nobile, 2,052.

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1. Eddie Krawiec, 2,319; 2. LE Tonglet, 2,248; 3. Hector Arana Jr, 2,230; 4. Jerry Savoie, 2,203; 5. Andrew Hines, 2,199; 6. Scotty Pollacheck, 2,171; 7. Matt Smith, 2,160; 8. Karen Stoffer, 2,096; 9. Joey Gladstone, 2,085; 10. Angie Smith, 2,065.

Hight, Millican, Butner and Pollacheck lock down No. 1 qualifiers at Maple Grove Raceway

Previous article

Hight, Millican, Butner and Pollacheck lock down No. 1 qualifiers at Maple Grove Raceway

Next article

NHRA fight as open as ever heading to Gateway

NHRA fight as open as ever heading to Gateway
Load comments