Bristol: Post-race notes

TOP FUEL * Tony Schumacher, from Long Grove, Ill., won his fourth event of the 2004 season by defeating Clay Millican in the final round. Schumacher powered his U.S. Army dragster to the finish line in 5.802 -seconds at 283.73 mph to outrun ...

* Tony Schumacher, from Long Grove, Ill., won his fourth event of the 2004 season by defeating Clay Millican in the final round. Schumacher powered his U.S. Army dragster to the finish line in 5.802 -seconds at 283.73 mph to outrun Millican’s 104+ Octane Plus dragster, which smoked the tires early and recorded a performance of 10.446 at 73.75. It was the 15th career win for Schumacher and his first at Bristol Dragway.
* With the victory, Schumacher remained No. 1 in the Top Fuel standings, 81 points ahead of second-place Brandon Bernstein, who was eliminated by Schumacher in the semifinals.
* For the first time this season Schumacher earned the No. 1 qualifying position. His track record time of 4.523 at 327.66 paced the 16-car field. It is the 10th top qualifying position of his career.
* Larry Dixon, the defending POWERade Top Fuel champion, lost to Doug Herbert in the first round and is fifth in the POWERade standings. It was his second first-round loss in the first six races of 2004. In 2003, Dixon was eliminated once in the opening round (Las Vegas 2) the entire season.
* Doug Kalitta was defeated by David Baca in the first round - his first opening round loss of the season behind the wheel of the Mac Tools dragster. After earning two runner-up finishes in the first two races of 2004, Kalitta has not advanced past the second round. The Bristol loss dropped the Mac Tools team more than 100 points behind second-place Bernstein in the POWERade standings.

* John Force, from Yorba Linda, Calif., earned his first win of the year and his first national event victory at Bristol Dragway in his Castrol GTX High-Mileage Ford Mustang. Force’s 110th career victory came with his pass of 4.781 at 322.88, beating Whit Bazemore’s tire-smoking run of 13.224 at 93.50 in the Matco Tools Dodge Stratus.
* With the victory, Force has earned at least one victory at each of the 20 facilities on the current 23-race NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series schedule.
* Del Worsham lost in the second round to rookie Eric Medlen but maintained his lead in the POWERade standings. He has a 42-point advantage over Force, who moved from fourth to second with the victory.
* Bazemore earned his first No. 1 qualifying position this season and the 25th of his career. Bazemore crossed the finish line in 4.770 at 321.27 to take the top spot.
* Tony Pedregon, the defending NHRA POWERade Funny Car champion, lost in the first round to Medlen and is 10th in the POWERade standings.
* Gary Scelzi earned a $1,000 bonus by earning the Motel 6 ‘Who Got the Light’ award when he defeated Tommy Johnson Jr. by 0.0027 of-a-second in the first round of Funny Car eliminations.

* Greg Anderson, from Charlotte, N.C., scored his fifth win of the season and 21st of his career. Anderson beat teammate Jason Line in the final round for the second consecutive race. Anderson went 6.754 at 203.12 in his Vegas General Construction Pontiac Grand Am to outrun Line’s KB Framers Grand Am which recorded a pass of 6.790 at 202.94.
* Anderson earned the No. 1 qualifying position for the sixth time this season and for the 23rd time of his career. He established both ends of the track record for the fifth time this season with a run of 6.790 at 202.52 for the No. 1 spot.
* Anderson has been the No. 1 qualifier at all six POWERade events so far this season. He has earned 11 consecutive top qualifying positions dating back to the Chicago 2 event in September of 2003. The record for most consecutive top qualifiers is 23, held by 10-time Pro Stock champion Bob Glidden (1986-’88).
* The only track record that Anderson did not set this season was the speed record at Gainesville, Fla., which was set by Kurt Johnson.
* Anderson increased his lead in the POWERade standings with the victory. He leads Johnson by 198 points, and he has a 295-point lead over Line, who sits in the No. 3 spot.
* Line has been as low as 11th in the Pro Stock standings this season. His back-to-back runner-up finishes have catapulted him into third place. Line is racing his first full season of Pro Stock and is a candidate for the Auto Club Road to the Future Award given annually to the top rookie performer.
* Notable DNQ’s: Barry Grant, Mike Edwards, V Gaines and Rickie Smith.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Doug Herbert , Clay Millican , Larry Dixon , Kurt Johnson , Tony Pedregon , Del Worsham , Whit Bazemore , John Force , Tony Schumacher , Gary Scelzi , Doug Kalitta , Greg Anderson , David Baca , Bob Glidden , Brandon Bernstein , Barry Grant , Jason Line , Rickie Smith , Eric Medlen , Mike Edwards , Tommy Johnson Jr.