Brainerd: Post-race notes

Post Race Notes: 23rd Annual Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals Aug. 12-15, 2004, Brainerd International Raceway, Brainerd, Minn. TOP FUEL * Tony Schumacher, from Long Grove, Ill., collected the 17th victory of his career and his sixth of the season by...

Post Race Notes:
23rd Annual Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals
Aug. 12-15, 2004, Brainerd International Raceway, Brainerd, Minn.


* Tony Schumacher, from Long Grove, Ill., collected the 17th victory of his career and his sixth of the season by defeating David Grubnic in the final round. Schumacher raced to victory in his U.S. Army dragster, posting a 4.615-second time at 321.96 mph, topping Grubnic's quicker, but losing, 4.606 at 317.49 in the Red Line Oil dragster.

* Grubnic, winless in four final rounds this season, has yet to post his first NHRA victory. The Australian native, however, has steadily moved up the standings. He was in eighth place at the June race in Englishtown and now sits in fourth place.

* Doug Kalitta was the No. 1 qualifier for the event, the 19th of his career and third of the season. He drove his Mac Tools dragster to the top of the 16-car order with a run of 4.532 at 324.51.

* With the victory, Schumacher maintained his points lead. He has a 122-point lead over Kalitta and a 175-point edge over third place Brandon Bernstein. Schumacher has been the leader following 14 of 16 events.

* Bernstein set the track speed record with a blazing 327.35-run in his second round win over Scott Kalitta.

* Champion watch: Two-time defending champ Larry Dixon is in sixth place of the standings with one victory this season (Englishtown).


* Eric Medlen, from Indianapolis, defeated Gary Scelzi in the final round for his first career victory. The rookie powered his Castrol Syntec Ford Mustang to a run of 4.999 at 302.62 to earn the victory over Scelzi's Oakley Dodge Stratus, which clocked a performance of 5.286 at 247.66.

* Medlen replaced defending POWERade Funny Car champion Tony Pedregon in the seat of the Syntec Ford when Pedregon opted to join his brother, Cruz, in a two-car program for the 2004 season. T. Pedregon has yet to post a victory and sits in the No. 9 spot of the standings.

* Tim Wilkerson, from Springfield, Ill., was the No.1 qualifier - the eighth of his career and second of the season. Wilkerson motored his Levi, Ray & Shoup Chevy Monte Carlo to a 4.812 run at 319.67.

* Bazemore - the points leader following three events this season - lost in the first round for the sixth time this season and is in third place, 188 points behind leader John Force.

* Del Worsham - the points leader following seven events this season - also lost in the first round. Worsham's Checker Schuck's Kragen Chevy Monte Carlo broke at the starting line, giving Ron Capps the first-round win in a single-car race. Worsham is in fourth place, 204 points behind Force.

* Medlen became the ninth different Funny Car driver to earn a victory this season. The top eight drivers in the POWERade Top 10 have posted at least one win this season.


* David Connolly from Elyria, Ohio, paced the field on eliminations day, winning the Pro Stock title for the first time in his career. Connolly used a 6.799 pass at 203.31 in his Bullet Motorsports Chevy Cavalier, defeating points leader Greg Anderson in the Summit Racing Equipment Pontiac Grand Am, who spun the tires early but recovered for a 6.818 at 202.97 for his second runner-up finish this season.

* Connolly had been 0-for-4 in previous final round appearances this season, including the two races leading up to Brainerd: Seattle and Sonoma.

* Anderson still has a commanding lead in the Pro Stock category. The 2003 NHRA POWERade Pro Stock champion has 12 wins in 14 final round appearances and has a 592-point lead over teammate and second-place driver, Jason Line.

* Anderson was the No. 1 qualifier for the 12th time this season and 29th time of his career. He turned in a 6.742 at 204.79 - good enough to set the E.T. track record.

* Steve Johns set the track record for speed, posting a 205.38 in qualifying in a Chevy Cavalier.

* Bruce Allen earned a $1,000 bonus by winning the Motel 6 'Who Got the Light' award when he defeated Mike Edwards by 0.0016 of-a-second margin of victory in the first round of Pro Stock eliminations.

* Six-time NHRA POWERade Pro Stock champion Warren Johnson failed to qualify for the elimination rounds for the second consecutive race, the third time this season, and 10th of his career.


* Craig Treble, from Hensley, Ark., earned the eighth victory of his career and the first of the season by defeating Angelle Savoie in the final round of the two-wheel category. Treble posted a run of 7.199 at 183.00 on his Matco Tools Suzuki for the win. Savoie went 7.395 at 150.10 on her U.S. Army Suzuki.

* Antron Brown was the No. 1 qualifier of the event for the second time this season and eighth of his career. Brown ran a 7.091 at 187.52 on his U.S. Army Suzuki to set the E.T. track record.

* Hines - the current Pro Stock Bike points leader - posted a semifinal round loss against Treble but maintains a 192-point lead over second-place Shawn Gann.

* With the runner-up finish, Treble moved from fifth to fourth place in the standings. He has been as low as 12th this season.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Antron Brown , Larry Dixon , Warren Johnson , Tony Pedregon , Del Worsham , Ron Capps , John Force , Tony Schumacher , Gary Scelzi , Doug Kalitta , Greg Anderson , Shawn Gann , David Grubnic , Craig Treble , Scott Kalitta , Bruce Allen , Tim Wilkerson , Brandon Bernstein , Jason Line , David Connolly , Eric Medlen , Mike Edwards , Steve J