WS: Mesa Marin II: Post-race notes

WS: Mesa Marin II: Post-race notes
Oct 17, 2005, 3:35 PM

NASCAR GRAND NATIONAL DIVISION, WEST SERIES POST-RACE NOTES - BAKERSFIELD FORD MOTORCRAFT PARTS 150 Presented by 3M * Second career win for David . Mike David (No. 2 Bennett Lane Winery Ford) closed out the season with a victory by winning ...


* Second career win for David . Mike David (No. 2 Bennett Lane Winery Ford) closed out the season with a victory by winning the Ford Motorcraft Parts 150 presented by 3M at Mesa Marin Raceway on Saturday, Oct. 15. It marked his first win of 2005 and the second of his career. The winner's trophy featured a beautifully crafted miniature Ford engine mounted on a base.

* Another championship . Mike Duncan (No. 9 Lucas Oil/Ron's Rear Ends Chevrolet) charged to a runner-up finish to capture his second consecutive series championship. Duncan, who entered the event trailing by 41 points, won the title by 27 points.

* Sedgwick knows how to repeat . Along with Duncan's back-to-back titles - his chief wrench, Bill Sedgwick, has won two straight championship crew chief awards. Sedgwick won two consecutive championships as a driver in the series in 1991 and 1992. He was inducted into the West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame in 2003.

* Bud Pole domination . A lap of 94.201 mph in qualifying gave Duncan a record fifth consecutive Bud Pole Award at his hometown track. He was not just dominant at the high-banked half-mile Bakersfield track, however. For the second straight season, Duncan set the fast time in at least half of the series races. He closed out this year with the Bud Pole Award in six of 12 races. Duncan moved into a four-way tie for seventh on the list of Career Bud Pole Winners in the modern era of the series. He is tied with Sedgwick, along with Butch Gilliland and Jim Bown.

* Tale of two Andrews . Andrew Lewis (No. 18 BMR Chevrolet) edged Andrew Myers (No. 44 Toyota of Escondido Chevrolet) by one point for this year's Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award - 85 to 84. Sarah Fisher (No. 20 NAPA Filters/Domino's Pizza/Office Depot Chevrolet) was third in the standings with 78, followed by Tim Smith (No. 3 Smith-Mottini Financial Advisors Chevrolet) with 68.

* Strong finish . Thirty-six entries attempted to qualify for one of the 28 starting spots at Mesa Marin Raceway. It was the largest field of entries since the 2000 season finale at Irwindale (Calif.) Speedway, when 37 drivers filled the entry list. The 2005 season kicked off, meanwhile, with 34 entries at Phoenix International Raceway.

* Record on lead lap . Seventeen drivers finished on the lead lap in the Ford Motorcraft Parts 150, equaling the series record set in 1999 at Pike Peak International Raceway.

* Newcomers to series . Six drivers made their series debut at Mesa Marin Raceway.

* Modesto drivers open and close Mesa Marin . With Mike David's win at Mesa Marin Raceway, it put someone from Modesto, Calif., at both ends of the track's record book - with a Modesto driver winning the first series race and a Modesto driver winning the final one. Jim Reich led wire-to-wire in taking the win over Chuck Wahl in a 100-lap race there on May 28, 1977 in what was then known as the NASCAR Winston West Grand National Series.

* Career marks . Two drivers had career marks at Bakersfield. Andrew Myers finished third, for his second consecutive top-five finish and topping his fourth-place finish in Texas. Rick Ruzbarsky (No. 51 Alfred Matthews/Crystal Pools Chevrolet) finished eighth, equaling his finish at the half-mile track earlier this season.

* POWERade Power Move . Ruzbarsky moved from 24th on the grid to finish eighth, winning the POWERade Power Move of the Race Award. At each Grand National Division event, POWERade presents the award to the driver who advances the most positions.

* Featherlite Most Improved . Mike Duncan won the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award. After finishing 16th in the previous race in Texas, Duncan was second at Mesa Marin. Featherlite presents the award at each event to the driver who improves the most finishing positions from the previous event.

* Thanks for the memories . It was an emotional night as the final event at Mesa Marin Raceway came to an end. It was announced earlier this year that the track would close with the conclusion of the "28th and Final October Classic."

* Notes about the series and Mesa Marin Raceway . Mesa Marin Raceway hosted 45 NASCAR Grand National Division, West Series events . It was a regular stop on the series schedule nearly every year since it opened in 1977 . Two-hundred ninety-five different drivers competed in the 45 races . Twenty-eight different drivers visited victory lane in series competition there, including 10 different drivers in the final 10 events . Series competition totaled 1,964 laps or 982 miles.

* Prestigious post-season event . The top 15 drivers in the West Series and the top 15 in the Busch North Series will be invited to compete in the third annual NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown at Irwindale (Calif.) Speedway on Nov. 10-12. The event awards nearly $500,000 to competitors and will be televised live on NASCAR TV on SPEED Channel.


Next NASCAR article
SWS: Mesa Marin III: Ron Esau preview

Previous article

SWS: Mesa Marin III: Ron Esau preview

Next article

Bristol: Toyota race summary

Bristol: Toyota race summary
Load comments

About this article

Drivers Sarah Fisher , Andrew Lewis , Mike David , Rick Ruzbarsky , Andrew Myers
Article type News