WS: Douglas County: Post-race notes

NASCAR GRAND NATIONAL DIVISION, WEST SERIES POST-RACE NOTES -- ROSEBURG BI-MART FIRECRACKER 150 presented by NAPA, JUNE 30 * First time winner -- Brian Ickler (No. 16 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet) captured his first career victory in the...

BI-MART FIRECRACKER 150 presented by NAPA, JUNE 30

* First time winner -- Brian Ickler (No. 16 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet) captured his first career victory in the NASCAR Grand National Division, West Series with a win in the BI-MART Firecracker 150 presented by NAPA Auto Parts at Douglas County Speedway in Roseburg, Ore. The 21-year-old former off-road racer from San Diego scored the win in just his 19th series start. After encountering a variety of bad luck early in his sophomore year, Ickler has appeared to turn his season around. His win moved him from ninth to eighth in the championship standings.

* BMR domination at Roseburg -- Ickler's victory continued the winning performance of Bill McAnally Racing at Roseburg. He became the third different driver to pilot the No. 16 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet to victory at the fairgrounds track -- giving BMR wins in four of six races. In addition to Ickler, Austin Cameron gave BMR wins at Roseburg in 2002 and 2003 and Peyton Sellers delivered the NAPA team a win last year.

* Series veteran sets track record, gains Bud Pole -- Not known for qualifying up front, Mike David (No. 2 Bennett Lane Winery Ford) captured his second career Bud Pole Award and set a new track record in the process at Roseburg. He turned a lap 15.091 seconds in qualifying. Although he led 72 laps, David's hopes of a win vanished with mechanical trouble just 15 laps from the checkered flag. He limped to a 15th-place finish.

* Seventh different race winner in eight races -- Ickler became the seventh different driver to visit victory lane in series competition this season. Scott Lynch won the season opener in Texas, Joey Logano won at Texas and again in the Grand National combination race in Iowa, Mike David was victorious at Altamont, Sean Caisse was in victory lane at the combination race at Elko, Mike Duncan won in Colorado and David Gilliland was the winner at Infineon. Race winners in Grand National action this year earn a starting spot in the 2007 NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown. Grand National race winners and champions of the NASCAR Developmental Series will be locked in to the field. All others must race their way in.

* Top finishes for three rookies -- Three candidates for the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award came away from Roseburg with a career-best finish. Jason Bowles (No. 22 Sunrise Ford/Turbo Torq Ford) finished third. He had previously finished fifth three times this year. Alex Haase (No. 88 Motorway Auto Group of El Paso/Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet) finished fourth. His previous best finish was seventh. Moses Smith (No. 18 Hasa Pool Products/White Flyer Chevrolet) finished seventh, three spots better than his best previous finish.

* Aero Exhaust Lap Leader -- In addition to winning the Bud Pole Award, Mike David led 72 laps to win the Aero Exhaust Lap Leader Award at Roseburg. The award goes to the eligible driver who leads the most laps in an event.

* POWERade Power Move -- Johnny Borneman (No. 8 Twisted X Boots/Red Line Oil Ford) moved up from 15th on the grid to finish second at Roseburg, registering his second POWERade Power Move of the Race Award this season. At each Grand National Division event, POWERade presents the award to the driver who advances the most positions.

* Featherlite Most Improved -- Alex Haase won the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award at Roseburg. His fourth-place finish at Roseburg followed a 35th-place finish at Infineon. Featherlite presents the award at each event to the driver who improves the most finishing positions from the previous event.

* Leader in HDNet Performance Award -- Although he did not lead any laps at Roseburg, Mike Duncan continues to have a commanding lead in the standings for the HDNet Performance Award. He has led 239 laps of competition. The HDNet Performance Award will provide $30,000 in prize money for the top drivers in the two NASCAR Grand National Divisions, the West Series and the Busch East Series. For both the East and West Series, the eligible driver who leads the most cumulative laps in the races HDNet broadcasts will receive a bonus award of $10,000.

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Moses Smith , Scott Lynch , Mike David , David Gilliland , Austin Cameron , Peyton Sellers , Jason Bowles , Joey Logano , Sean Caisse , Brian Ickler , Kyle Busch
Teams Kyle Busch Motorsports