WS: Colorado: Post race notes

NASCAR GRAND NATIONAL DIVISION, WEST SERIES POST-RACE NOTES -- COLORADO NAPA 150, JUNE 2 * Duncan goes 2-for-2 in Colorado -- Mike Duncan (No. 9 Lucas Oil/Ron's Rear Ends Chevrolet) has made two trips to Colorado National Speedway and has...


* Duncan goes 2-for-2 in Colorado -- Mike Duncan (No. 9 Lucas Oil/Ron's Rear Ends Chevrolet) has made two trips to Colorado National Speedway and has two wins to show for it. He scored his eighth career series victory with a win in the NAPA 150 at CNS on Saturday, June 2. His previous win there came when the NASCAR Grand National Division, West Series last visited the 3/8-mile oval in 2004.

* Duncan secures spot in NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown -- With his win at Colorado, Mike Duncan added his name to the list of race winners to lock in a spot in the 2007 NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown. Only Grand National Division race winners and the champions of the NASCAR Developmental Series will earn starting spots in this year's prestigious event. All others must race their way in under the new format. Other West Series drivers to secure a spot with a win this year are Scott Lynch (No. 29 Japser Engines Dodge) and Mike David (No. 2 Bennett Lane Winery Ford). Busch East Series drivers who have locked up a spot are Joey Logano, Sean Caisse and Matt Kobyluck.

* Another podium finish for David -- Mike David continued his consistent finishes this season. His runner-up finish at Colorado marked his fifth podium finish in six races.

* Ickler grabs second career Bud Pole -- Brian Ickler (No. 16 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet) set a track record in winning his second career Bud Pole Award. His lap of 80.963 mph eclipsed the previous record at CNS of 80.406 mph set by Scott Lynch in 2004. Ickler's first West Series Bud Pole Award was in the NASCAR Grand National Division combination race at Elko (Minn.) Speedway last month, where he qualified second overall.

* Strong showing by Sunoco rookies -- Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award contenders dominated the outcome at Colorado, with members of the freshman class accounting for seven of the top-10 finishing positions. Ryan Foster (No. 21 Golden Gate Petroleum/RCR Chevrolet) topped the Sunoco rookies with a career-best third-place finish. Eric Richardson (No. 20 NAPA Belts & Hose Chevrolet) also had a career-best showing in fourth. Jason Bowles (No. 22 Sunrise Ford/Turbo Torq Ford) registered his third fifth-place finish in six races this season. Other rookies with a career-best top-10 finish included Alex Haase (No. 88 Motorway of El Paso/Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet) in seventh, Mike Gallegos (No. 77 King Taco Ford) in eighth, Moses Smith (No. 18 HASA Pool Products/White Flyer Chevrolet) in ninth and Rick Wall (No. 42 Ford) in 10th.

* Local representation -- Several local drivers at CNS made their series debut. Third-generation driver Darren Robertson (No. 11 Furniture Row Racing Chevrolet) of Arvada had a possible top-10 finish slip away in a late-race incident. Local drivers also included the father-son team of Ed Vecchiarelli Sr. (No. 90 Diesel Service & Supply Chevrolet) and Ed Vecchiarelli Jr. (No. 09 Diesel Service & Supply Chevrolet), both of Brighton.

* POWERade Power Move -- In addition to scoring his first career top 10, Mike Gallegos won the POWERade Power Move of the Race Award at his home track by charging from 19th on the starting grid to finish eighth. At each Grand National Division event, POWERade presents the award to the driver who advances the most positions.

* Featherlite Most Improved -- Alex Haase also topped off his career-best finish with a special award, winning the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award. His seventh-place finish at Colorado followed a 27th-place finish at Iowa. Featherlite presents the award at each event to the driver who improves the most finishing positions from the previous event.

* Aero Exhaust Lap Leader -- Brian Ickler dominated the first half of the Colorado race, leading 84 laps and winning the Aero Exhaust Lap Leader Award for leading the most laps. The award goes to the eligible driver who leads the most laps in an event.

* Leader in HDNet Performance Award -- Mike Duncan extended his lead in the standings for the HDNet Performance Award. He has led 238 laps of competition in six races. The HDNet Performance Award will provide $30,000 in prize money for the top drivers in the two NASCAR Grand National Divisions, the West Series and the Busch East Series. For both the East and West Series, the eligible driver who leads the most cumulative laps in the races HDNet broadcasts will receive a bonus award of $10,000.

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Moses Smith , Matt Kobyluck , Scott Lynch , Mike David , Jason Bowles , Ryan Foster , Joey Logano , Brian Ickler , Kyle Busch
Teams Kyle Busch Motorsports