Toyota Motorsports tidbits 2010-09-28

THREE TOYOTA TOP-10s: Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) teammates Joey Logano (third), Kyle Busch (sixth) and Denny Hamlin (ninth) earned top-10 results in Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) race at Delaware's Dover International Speedway. It marked...

THREE TOYOTA TOP-10s: Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) teammates Joey Logano (third), Kyle Busch (sixth) and Denny Hamlin (ninth) earned top-10 results in Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) race at Delaware's Dover International Speedway. It marked the second time in three races, and the third time this season, that all three JGR drivers finished in the top-10 together. His top-10 result enabled Hamlin to maintain his points lead, and he is currently 35 points ahead of second-place Jimmie Johnson in the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship playoff. Hamlin's 35-point advantage marks the largest lead a driver has had after the first two races since the title playoff began in 2004. Busch remains in third in the standings, 45 points behind Hamlin.

RECORD-BREAKING DAY: Busch set a new NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) single-season wins record with his 11th victory this season on Saturday at Dover. The 25-year-old Las Vegas native broke the NNS single-season record of 10 wins that he previously shared with Sam Ard, who accomplished the feat in 1983. Busch, who led a race-high 192 (of 200) laps and crossed the finish line 0.400 seconds ahead of JGR teammate Logano, also registered 10 wins in 2008. Reed Sorenson (fourth), Trevor Bayne (sixth) and Jason Leffler (eighth) also posted top-10 NNS finishes for Toyota at Dover.

COUNTDOWN TO KANSAS: The NSCS returns to Kansas Speedway this weekend for the third race in the Chase. Although Toyota drivers have recorded 31 wins at 18 of the 22 tracks on the current NSCS schedule, the 1.5-mile Kansas oval is one of only four tracks where a Camry NSCS driver has not recorded a win. Along with Kansas, the other tracks Toyota drivers have not crossed the finish line first include California's Auto Club Speedway, Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Phoenix International Raceway. Last year, Hamlin (fifth), David Reutimann (eighth), Busch (12th) and Marcos Ambrose (14th) recorded top-15 finishes at Kansas.

TIME FOR THREE: The Nationwide Series will also compete at Kansas Speedway this weekend where Camry drivers are looking for their third straight victory. Last year, Busch and Logano dominated the 200-lap race at the track. Busch led the field five times for a total of 173 laps before Logano passed him and led the final four laps en route to victory lane. In 2008, Hamlin led 99 (of 200) laps to earn the Camry's first win at the track and to clinch the 2008 NNS manufacturer's championship. Toyota currently holds a 40-point advantage over Chevrolet in this year's NNS manufacturer championship standings.

RACE REWIND: Four Tundra drivers earned top-10 finishes in Saturday night's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway -- series points-leader Todd Bodine (fourth), Aric Almirola (sixth), Brian Ickler (seventh) and Justin Lofton (eighth). Bodine increased his lead to 262 points over second-place Almirola in the NCWTS point standings with five races remaining. Peters (fifth), Skinner (eighth), Starr (ninth) and Lofton (10th) are also in the top-10 in points for Toyota. The NCWTS will have three weekends off before returning to action at Martinsville Speedway, October 23.

TRUEX TAKES SECOND TITLE: Ryan Truex clinched his second consecutive NASCAR K&N Pro Series East (NKNPSE) driver's championship when he took the green flag in Friday's season finale at Dover. Truex went on to finish third. In 2010, Truex had two wins and nine top-10 finishes in 10 races. The 18-year-old Mayetta, N.J.-native posted both of his victories at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and needed only to start Friday's race in the No. 00 NAPA Camry to secure the title. Michael Waltrip Racing (MWR) also won its second owner's championship in the series.

-source: toyota motorsports

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Todd Bodine , Jason Leffler , Trevor Bayne , Marcos Ambrose , Denny Hamlin , Reed Sorenson , Justin Lofton , Joey Logano , Brian Ickler , Ryan Truex , Kyle Busch
Teams Joe Gibbs Racing