SWS: Irwindale Speedway event preview

<pre> WHAT: FOODS 4 LESS 150 Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 3 WHERE: Irwindale Speedway, Irwindale, Calif. 1/2-Mile Paved WHEN: Saturday, April 21, 2001...

<pre> WHAT: FOODS 4 LESS 150 Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 3

WHERE: Irwindale Speedway, Irwindale, Calif. 1/2-Mile Paved

WHEN: Saturday, April 21, 2001 -- 8:30 p.m. PST

DISTANCE: 150 Laps/75Miles


FIELD: </pre> 30 cars possible. The fastest 26 cars through time trials with two provisional starting positions (27th & 28th) available to the top 30 drivers based on the final 2000 Featherlite Southwest Series drivers point standings, who have not qualified for one of the original 26 starting positions, provided eligible drivers attempt to qualify. The 29th & 30th starting positions will be filled by the top two (2) highest finishing drivers from the Qualifying Race, electing to transfer. <pre> SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Irwindale Speedway, LLC


Saturday, April 21 1:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m. - Practice 5:00 p.m. Time Trials (2 Laps). All positions 7:00 p.m. Trophy Dash 7:30 p.m. Qualifying Race

THE RACE TRACK: Irwindale Speedway is a 1/2-mile paved oval track.

RECORDS:                Driver              Date        Speed           Time
QUALIFYING:             Bryan Germone       5/15/99     103.669 mph     17.363 sec.
RACE: 100-Laps          Frank Maronski Jr.  7/31/99     81.569 mph      36 min 26 sec.
RACE: 150-Laps          Rocky Nash          7/29/00     86.042 mph      52 min 18 sec.


The Coors Light 125 scheduled for Saturday, April 7 at Mesa Marin Raceway in Bakersfield, CA was postponed due to inclement weather. The event has been rescheduled for Saturday, June 2.

M.K. Kanke could surpass the $300,000 mark in career earnings this season and become the first Featherlite Southwest Series driver in history to achieve that milestone. Kanke needs just $5,168. Ron Hornaday Jr. is second with career earnings of $285,920.

Bob Lyon, Aqua Dulce, Calif., is the iron man of the series with 220 appearances.

Doug McCoun has the longest active streak of consecutive seasons finishing in the top 10 in the final standings. McCoun has managed top 10 finishes eight straight years.

The record for most different Bud Pole Award winners in a season is 13, set in 1997 and tied in 1998.

Matt Crafton, 2000 Featherlite Southwest Series champion, will not be back in 2001 to defend his title. Crafton has moved up to the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series to run for Rookie-of-the-Year driving the #88 Sealmaster Chevrolet.

More than 10 Rookie -of-the-Year candidates have officially declared their intentions including Brandon Miller of Rancho Santa Fe, Burney Lamar, Troy Adams, and Eddie McKean, a two-time NASCAR Weekly Series Regional champion, is out of Jerome, Idaho. <pre> Current 2001 Point Standings 2000 FSWS Irwindale Speedway Top 10 1. M.K. Kanke 1. Rocky Nash 2. Auggie Vidovich Jr. 2. Zach Niessner 3. Doug McCoun 3. Sean Woodside 4. M.K. Kanke 4. Matt Crafton 5. Greg Pursley 5. Keith Spangler 6. Sean Woodside 6. Frank Maronski Jr. 7. Rocky Nash 7. Auggie Vidovich Jr. 8. Darrell LaMoure 8. Darrell LaMoure 9. Frank Maronski Jr. 9. Mark Reed 10. Bob Lyon 10. Greg Pursley

2000 RACE REVIEW: </pre> Rocky Nash grabbed the Bud Pole Award with a time of 17.658 and started first. Matt Crafton got the early jump on Nash at the green flag and led the first 7 laps. Frank Maronski Jr. led next 20 laps until Crafton was able to make a move on the inside and retake the lead on lap 29. Crafton led the next 50 laps until Nash made his move back to the front and overtook Crafton on lap 81 and was able to out run a hard-charging Zach Niessner over the last 69 laps to record his first series win. <pre> 2000 RACE STATS Bud Pole: Rocky Nash Time of Race: 52 min 18 sec Average Speed: 86.042 mph Margin of Victory: 4.4 seconds Caution Flags: Two for 10 Laps Lap Leaders: Matt Crafton 1-7, Frank Maronski Jr. 8-28, Crafton 29-80, Rocky Nash 81-150. Three lead changes among four drivers.

Previous FSWS Winners at Irwindale Speedway 2000- Rocky Nash 2000- Matt Crafton 1999- Greg Pursley 1999- Frank Maronski Jr. 1999- Kurt Busch


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Kurt Busch , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Matt Crafton , Mark Reed , Eddie McKean , Brandon Miller , Greg Pursley , Bryan Germone , Burney Lamar , Darrell LaMoure , Doug McCoun , Auggie Vidovich