SWS: Irwindale fact sheet

<pre> WHAT: FOOD 4 LESS "150" Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 7 WHERE: Irwindale Speedway, Irwindale, Calif. 1/2-Mile Paved WHEN: Saturday, June 9, 2001 -- 8:30 p.m. PST DISTANCE: 150 ...

<pre> WHAT: FOOD 4 LESS "150" Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 7

WHERE: Irwindale Speedway, Irwindale, Calif. 1/2-Mile Paved

WHEN: Saturday, June 9, 2001 -- 8:30 p.m. PST

DISTANCE: 150 Laps/75Miles


FIELD: 30 cars possible. The fastest 24 cars through time trials with two provisional starting positions (25th & 26th) available to the top 30 drivers based on the current 2001 Featherlite Southwest Series drivers point standings, who have not qualified for one of the original 24 starting positions, provided eligible drivers attempt to qualify. Provisional positions 27th & 28th will be available to the highest 30 car owners in the current 2001 Featherlite Southwest Series point standings who have not qualified for the event. The 29th & 30th starting positions will be filled by the top two (2) highest finishing drivers from the Qualifying Race, electing to transfer.

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Irwindale Speedway, LLC

SCHEDULE: Saturday, June 9 10:00 a.m. Registration & Inspections 12:00 noon Mandatory Rookie Driver's Meeting 12:30 p.m. Drawing to determine Qualifying order 1:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m. -- Practice 3:45 p.m. Mandatory driver's meeting 5:00 p.m. Time Trials (2 Laps). All positions 7:00 p.m. Trophy Dash 7:30 p.m. Qualifying Race

THE RACE TRACK: Irwindale Speedway is a 1/2-mile paved oval track.

RECORDS: Driver Date Speed Time QUALIFYING: Bryan Germone 5/15/99 103.669 mph 17.363 sec. RACE: 100-Laps Frank Maronski Jr. 7/31/99 81.569 mph 36 min 26 sec. RACE: 150-Laps M.K. Kanke 4/21/01 91.185 mph 49 min 21 sec.

FEATHERLITE SOUTHWEST SERIES NOTES: * M.K. Kanke is leading the 2001 Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring point standings on the strength of three wins in six events. He has won over $325,000 in his career.

* Craig Raudman of Bakersfield, Calif. has set a new series record for consecutive Bud Pole Awards at five. Following the opening race at Phoenix he has won the Bud Pole at each 2001 FSWS event.

* Bob Lyon, Aqua Dulce, Calif., is the iron man of the series with 225 appearances.

* Doug McCoun has the longest active streak of consecutive seasons finishing in the top 10 in the final standings. McCoun has managed top 10 finishes eight straight years.

* The record for most different Bud Pole Award winners in a season is 13, set in 1997 and tied in 1998.

* Rookie-of-the-Year candidate, Burney Lamar, of W. Sacramento, Calif. has closed the gap in the ROTY standings to one point with two straight top ten finishes. He also sits 12th in the point standings.

Current 2001 Point Standings 04/21/01 FSWS Irwindale Speedway Top 10 1. M.K. Kanke 995 1. M.K. Kanke 2. Craig Raudman 843 2. Craig Raudman 3. Bob Lyon 782 3. Scott Lynch 4. Auggie Vidovich Jr. 780 4. Darrell LaMoure 5. Greg Pursley 779 5. Mark Reed 6. Jim Pettit II 777 6. Marc Groskreutz 7. Frank Maronski Jr. 731 7. Frank Maronski Jr. 8. Nick Joanides 726 8. Eddy McKean 9. Doug McCoun 715 9. Doug McCoun 10. Darrell LaMoure 714 10. Joe Herold

04/21/01 RACE REVIEW: Craig Raudman grabbed the Bud Pole Award with a time of 17.692 and started first. Raudman led the first 101 laps until M.K. Kanke pressured his way by on lap 101. The two would stage a spirited battle over the next 8 laps, swapping the lead fives times before Kanke assumed the lead for good on lap 108. Kanke held off a determined Raudman to record his second win of the season.

04/21/01 RACE STATS Bud Pole: Craig Raudman Time of Race: 49 min 21 sec Average Speed: 91.185 mph Margin of Victory: .363 seconds Caution Flags: One for 5 Laps Lap Leaders: Craig Raudman 1-101, M.K. Kanke 102, Raudman 103, Kanke 104-105, Raudman 106-107, and Kanke 108-150. Six lead changes between two drivers.

Previous FSWS Winners at Irwindale Speedway 2001- M.K. Kanke 2000- Rocky Nash 2000- Matt Crafton 1999- Greg Pursley 1999- Frank Maronski Jr. 1999- Kurt Busch


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Kurt Busch , Matt Crafton , Mark Reed , Scott Lynch , Greg Pursley , Bryan Germone , Joe Herold , Burney Lamar , Darrell LaMoure , Doug McCoun , Jim Pettit II , Craig Raudman , Auggie Vidovich , Nick Joanides